Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueLGBTQIA+ ShopWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Lost Husband (Paperback) by Katherine Center

The Lost Husband (Paperback) by Katherine Center - image 1 of 1
The Lost Husband (Paperback) by Katherine Center - image 1 of 1
$14.49 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



Crazy Aunt Jean has offered Libby an escape from her hypercritical mother--a job and a place to live on her farm in the Texas Hill Country. Life on Aunt Jean's goat farm is both more wonderful and more mysterious than Libby could have imagined. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin.



Book Synopsis



A tender and heartwarming novel that explores the trials of losing what matters most--and how there's always more than we can imagine left to find--from the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away and Things You Save in a Fire

Now a major motion picture starring Leslie Bibb and Josh Duhamel - "A sweet tale about creating the family you need."--People

Dear Libby, It occurs to me that you and your two children have been living with your mother for--Dear Lord!--two whole years, and I'm writing to see if you'd like to be rescued.

The letter comes out of the blue, and just in time for Libby Moran, who--after the sudden death of her husband, Danny--went to stay with her hypercritical mother. Now her crazy Aunt Jean has offered Libby an escape: a job and a place to live on her farm in the Texas Hill Country. Before she can talk herself out of it, Libby is packing the minivan, grabbing the kids, and hitting the road.

Life on Aunt Jean's goat farm is both more wonderful and more mysterious than Libby could have imagined. Beyond the animals and the strenuous work, there is quiet--deep, country quiet. But there is also a shaggy, gruff (though purportedly handsome, under all that hair) farm manager with a tragic home life, a formerly famous feed-store clerk who claims she can contact Danny "on the other side," and the eccentric aunt Libby never really knew but who turns out to be exactly what she's been looking for. And despite everything she's lost, Libby soon realizes how much more she's found. She hasn't just traded one kind of crazy for another: She may actually have found the place to bring her little family--and herself--back to life.



Review Quotes



"A sweet tale about creating the family you need."--People

"A heartwarming novel that explores the trials of losing what matters most."--USA Today

"[Katherine] Center writes endearingly of love and family in her fourth novel, with lessons about loss, gain, standing up for oneself, and accepting that your best is good enough. Fans of well-crafted romantic women's fiction won't be disappointed."--Booklist

"A novel about family, love and forgiveness . . . heart-rending and heartwarming."--Kirkus Reviews



About The Author



Katherine Center is the New York Times bestselling author of What You Wish For, How to Walk Away, The Bright Side of Disaster, and five other bittersweet comic novels about love and family. She received an M.A. in fiction from the University of Houston. She lives in Houston with her husband and two children.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.1 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inches (W) x .7 Inches (D)
Weight: .45 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 292
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: General
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Katherine Center
Language: English
Street Date: July 28, 2016
TCIN: 14486939
UPC: 9780345507945
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-4490
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8 inches length x 5 inches width x 0.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.46 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy