Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Woods Are Waiting - by Katherine Greene

The Woods Are Waiting - by Katherine Greene - image 1 of 1
The Woods Are Waiting - by Katherine Greene - image 1 of 1
$16.99 sale price when purchased online
$29.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • In the tradition of Lisa Jewell and Ruth Ware, Katherine Greene's debut thriller is a dark descent into the sinister traditions and customs of a small town in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains.
  • About the Author: Katherine Greene is the pen name of bestselling authors A. Meredith Walters and Claire C. Riley.
  • 288 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Thrillers

Description



Book Synopsis



In the tradition of Lisa Jewell and Ruth Ware, Katherine Greene's debut thriller is a dark descent into the sinister traditions and customs of a small town in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. No superstition will prepare childhood friends Cheyenne and Natalie for the macabre truth that awaits them.

Cheyenne Ashby knows the dark and disturbing history of her hometown of Blue Cliff, Virginia, all too well. It's why she left. Growing up deep within the woods with her eccentric mother, Constance, she was raised on the unusual customs and generational superstitions linked to the local legend of an evil entity that haunts the forest.

Five years ago, the bodies of three children were found in the woods. It was a man--not a mythical beast--named Jasper Clinton who was convicted of these heinous crimes. For five years the town breathed just a bit easier with a real-life monster behind bars.

But when another child goes missing, Cheyenne and Natalie are determined to discover the truth and uncover the town's dangerous secrets rooted in its terrifying past.

The two women must confront the reality of the superstitions they always believed in and their town's complicated connection with who--or what--lives in the woods.



Review Quotes




Praise for The Woods are Waiting
"The Woods Are Waiting is a mystery novel in which the most dangerous monsters are those that people create for themselves."
--Foreword Reviews

"A very solid page-turner and an impressive debut."
--Horror DNA

"Old friendships are tested and many secrets are uncovered."
--The Southern Bookseller Review

"A claustrophobic, page-turning mystery that kept me guessing. I loved every twist and turn."
--Natasha Preston, New York Times bestselling author

"Greene weaves together a creepy, atmospheric tale that dares to examine the underbelly of small-town life and expose its darkest secrets. Suspense readers will be glued to the page to discover how this eerie thriller ends."
--Karen Katchur, author of The Greedy Three

"In this enthralling debut, Katherine Greene delivers a richly layered rural gothic thriller about a small southern town paralyzed by unsolved murders and its own macabre myths. Like the wind blowing through the hickory trees, The Woods Are Waiting ripples with both tenderness and tension. A must-read for fans of Emily Carpenter and Cherie Priest."
--Amber Cowie, author of Last One Alive

"A fantastic read! Loved the creepy, folkloric sense of dread, the small town atmosphere, the mysterious woods and everything that lurks in them. Kept me guessing right to the end, so twisty!"
--Melanie Golding, author of The Hidden and The Sight

"The Woods Are Waiting is an atmospheric mystery that oozes small town creepiness and kept me guessing until the end! Packed with emotional conflicts, complicated relationships, and Appalachian folklore--this slow-burn thriller is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards and T. Kingfisher."
--Aggie Blum Thompson, author of I Don't Forgive You

"The Woods are Waiting is a powerful, intricately plotted mystery--full of characters to root for, a dark, compelling story and a transporting Gothic setting. A truly thrilling read."
--Kassandra Montag, author of Those Who Return



About the Author



Katherine Greene is the pen name of bestselling authors A. Meredith Walters and Claire C. Riley. They each cut their teeth on spine-tingling thrillers and true crime and their love of dark, twisted tales with a strong female voice led them to create stories that leave you guessing. Both currently live in the United Kingdom with their families.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inches (W) x 1.2 Inches (D)
Weight: .8 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Number of Pages: 288
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Theme: Suspense
Format: Hardcover
Author: Katherine Greene
Language: English
Street Date: July 11, 2023
TCIN: 87852657
UPC: 9781639103805
Item Number (DPCI): 247-23-1117
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.2 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.8 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy