Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Dawn Original Scent Ultra Dishwashing Liquid Dish Soap

Dawn Original Scent Ultra Dishwashing Liquid Dish Soap - image 1 of 4
Dawn Original Scent Ultra Dishwashing Liquid Dish Soap - image 2 of 4
Dawn Original Scent Ultra Dishwashing Liquid Dish Soap - image 3 of 4
Dawn Original Scent Ultra Dishwashing Liquid Dish Soap - image 4 of 4
Dawn Original Scent Ultra Dishwashing Liquid Dish Soap - image 1 of 4
$4.49 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • 50% Less* Scrubbing (*vs. Dawn Non-Concentrated)
  • The only brand trusted by rescue workers to save wildlife
  • Dawn dishwashing liquid can be used to clean items beyond the kitchen sink.
  • Use to pre-treat laundry stains, to clean greasy tools and car wheels, and to remove grease and grime around the house.
  • Dawn Ultra's powerful formula helps you get through more dishes with less* dishwashing liquid (*vs. Dawn Non-Concentrated)
  • Made with biodegradable surfactants
  • #1 Dishwashing liquid brand* in North America (*Based on Sales).

Description

Think all dish soaps are the same? Think again. No matter what you've got cooking in the kitchen, Dawn Ultra Original dish soap will leave your dishes squeaky clean every time. Get your ultimate clean and be the kitchen hero with the grease cleaning power of Dawn dishwashing liquid. With 50% less scrubbing* (*vs. Dawn Non-Concentrated), Dawn works harder so you can get back to spending quality time with your family. Dawn Ultra's powerful formula helps you get through more dishes with less* dishwashing liquid (*vs. Dawn Non-Concentrated). Dawn helps save wildlife. For more than 40 years, Dawn has helped save wildlife both at the sink, with products designed to get dishes cleaner faster, using less water*, and at the shore, where we work with wildlife rescue experts to protect and care for aquatic wildlife (*vs. running the tap with Dawn Non-Concentrated). Dawn is the only brand of dish soap trusted by rescue workers to clean wildlife impacted by oil spills. Dawn dishwashing liquid can be used to clean items beyond the kitchen sink. Use Dawn dishwashing liquid to pre-treat greasy laundry stains, to clean greasy tools and car wheels, and to remove grease and grime from around the house. Dawn is tough on grease, yet gentle. Made with biodegradable surfactants. #1 Brand* in North America (*Based on Sales).
Scent: Original
Health Facts: Phosphate-Free
Product Warning: Keep out of eyes, flush immediately if product enters eyes, drink water if product is swallowed, keep out of reach of children
Product Form: Liquid
Sustainability Claims: Biodegradable
Recommended Surface Application: Multi-Surface
Product Results: Removes Grease, Cleaner, Used for Cleaning, Removes Dirt
Recommended Product Application: Dishes
Net weight: 28 fl oz (US)
TCIN: 53055274
UPC: 037000970569
Item Number (DPCI): 003-06-0319
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
General Disclaimer:
Content on this site is for reference purposes only. Target does not represent or warrant that the nutrition, ingredient, allergen and other product information on our Web or Mobile sites are accurate or complete, since this information comes from the product manufacturers. On occasion, manufacturers may improve or change their product formulas and update their labels. We recommend that you do not rely solely on the information presented on our Web or Mobile sites and that you review the product's label or contact the manufacturer directly if you have specific product concerns or questions. If you have specific healthcare concerns or questions about the products displayed, please contact your licensed healthcare professional for advice or answers.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Ingredients:

alcohol denat., c10-16 alkyldimethylamine oxide, c9-11 pareth-8, colorants, deceth-8, fragrances, methylisothiazolinone, pe1-14 peg-24/ppg-16 copolymer, phenoxyethanol, ppg-26, sodium chloride, sodium lauryl sulfate, water

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 10.2 inches length x 4.2 inches width x 2.6 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 2 pounds
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Northern Mariana Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.4 out of 5 stars with 13705 reviews
72% would recommend
674 recommendations
value: 4.29 out of 5
cleans effectively: 4.61 out of 5
quality: 4.34 out of 5

love it!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Alison - 4 days ago, Verified purchaser
Honestly, I LOVE the new scent & noticed it right away (I didn’t notice the packaging) I also didn’t experience the problem with the smell sticking to any dishes or kids things.
value: 5 out of 5
cleans effectively: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Bummer they changed a classic household staple! It says original but it's NOT. I do not like smelling this new laundry detergent scent when I'm eating & drinking. Works fine, bring back old one

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Shy - 5 days ago, Verified purchaser
Smells like laundry detergent
1 reply from Dawn team - 3 days ago
We thank you for sharing your feedback on our recent change to Dawn Ultra Original. We know this is the first change in over 10 years, and that scent preference can be very personal. We're sorry to hear you are not a fan of the new scent. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly, and we will relay it to our Research and Development team. We'd recommend giving our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free a try, as it has all of the cleaning power of Dawn with no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience and help you locate this version of Dawn. Please give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Gross new scent

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Forcedtomakescreenname - 5 days ago, Verified purchaser
The new scent is awful and leaves a taste on the dishes.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible "New Fresh Scent"

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Maythe4thMom - 5 days ago, Verified purchaser
The “New Fresh Scent” is horrible! It smells like an airplane bathroom, but much more potent! The smell is super fake like scented garbage bags, but overwhelmingly strong (instant headache strong!)! Neither my mom nor I wanted to dip our hands in the foul smelling dishwater and threw away the wet dishcloth. It took a lot of rinsing to get the smell off the dishes. I ended up stockpiling bottles of the previous scent from other stores. Hopefully they change the scent back before I run out!
1 reply from Dawn team - 3 days ago
We thank you for sharing your feedback on our recent change to Dawn Ultra Original. We know this is the first change in over 10 years, and that scent preference can be very personal. We're sorry to hear you are not a fan of the new scent. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly, and we will relay it to our Research and Development team. We'd recommend giving our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free a try, as it has all of the cleaning power of Dawn with no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience and help you locate this version of Dawn. Please give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
quality: 1 out of 5
cleans effectively: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Why did you change the scent?! It is terrible!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
jb123 - 5 days ago
The new scent is terrible. I have used original dawn my entire life and unless Dawn goes back to their original scent, I will no longer be purchasing any of their products.
quality: 1 out of 5
cleans effectively: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

HORRIBLE NEW SCENT

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Kika - 6 days ago, Verified purchaser
The new scent is horrible and makes me nauseous. It smells like deodorizer for public bathrooms.
value: 5 out of 5
cleans effectively: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love Dawn, but Target sent the wrong scent!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
JS - 6 days ago, Verified purchaser
Bought this online recently and it arrived with a big sticker on the top: "NEW Clean Scent". I specifically ordered this item listing which states that it is the ORIGINALl scent. I have been using Dawn for years and there is no need to mess with a good thing. The new scent smells too purfumy and wierd. Will be returning this and hopefully be able to find one with the original scent.
1 reply from Dawn team - 4 days ago
We thank you for sharing your feedback on our recent change to Dawn Ultra Original. We know this is the first change in over 10 years, and that scent preference can be very personal. We're sorry to hear you are not a fan of the new scent. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly, and we will relay it to our Research and Development team. We'd recommend giving our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free a try, as it has all of the cleaning power of Dawn with no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience and help you locate this version of Dawn. Please give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
cleans effectively: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

New scent makes product unusable!

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Consumer - 6 days ago, Verified purchaser
The new scent is overpowering and lingers on dishes and pans despite multiple rinses. I now need to find a replacement for my once favorite liquid soap because this new scent is causing me to have headaches. Why did this company think it was a good idea to mess with a good thing?
1 reply from Dawn team - 4 days ago
We thank you for sharing your feedback on our recent change to Dawn Ultra Original. We know this is the first change in over 10 years, and that scent preference can be very personal. We're sorry to hear you are not a fan of the new scent. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly, and we will relay it to our Research and Development team. We'd recommend giving our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free a try, as it has all of the cleaning power of Dawn with no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience and help you locate this version of Dawn. Please give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Smells like old man breath

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Hi - 7 days ago, Verified purchaser
The new fragrance Smells like old man breath. Literally
1 reply from Dawn team - 7 days ago
We thank you for sharing your feedback on our recent change to Dawn Ultra Original. We know this is the first change in over 10 years, and that scent preference can be very personal. We're sorry to hear you are not a fan of the new scent. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly, and we will relay it to our Research and Development team. We'd recommend giving our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free a try, as it has all of the cleaning power of Dawn with no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience and help you locate this version of Dawn. Please give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
value: 1 out of 5
cleans effectively: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Over scented

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Tee - 8 days ago, Verified purchaser
The scent is so strong! And terrible at that. Going go give this away and stick to Seventh Generation
1 reply from Dawn team - 7 days ago
We're very sorry to learn that you're disappointed with the recently updated scent of Dawn Ultra Original. We thought a change was due, after over 10 years of the same scent, and we chose this scent after receiving positive feedback during extensive testing with consumers. Please be assured that we value your feedback greatly and your comments will be shared with the Team. Your thoughts are instrumental in guiding us as we continue to work on future innovations and consumer satisfaction. We truly value you as a consumer and hope you'll give Dawn another try. We have a variety of scents if the Original no longer meets your needs, including an unscented version which is called Dawn Free and Clear, Fragrance Free. It would be our pleasure to help you give it a try; call us at 1 (800) 725-3296, Mondays through Fridays, from 9 AM to 6 PM, EST.
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

New Scent is HORRIBLE, Food Tastes Like Perfume

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
alissamariet - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
I don't understand why Dawn decided to give their soap a new scent. It completely ruins an otherwise great product. While using it, the new smell makes me want to cough and sneeze. But that's not the worst part. No matter how much I rinse my dishes and tupperware, regardless of how hot the water is, the scent AND taste sticks! It's so nasty. Any food I've stored in a container that I've washed with this SMELLS and TASTES like this new super perfumy scent. It's especially noticable in rice. It's like eating Febreeze. I don't care how safe they claim it is because it's NASTY. All my dishes smell like perfume now and it gives any food that touches it the nastiest, most perfumey aftertaste. Begging Dawn to get rid of this, there's no way I can keep using it.
1 reply from Dawn team - 9 days ago
Alissa, we're so very sorry to hear that you're not a fan of this new scent, and that it's sticking to your dishes. Typically if this happens, it's because the dishes are porous. Porous dishes are typically your cast irons, plastics, or worn down dishes. With these dishes, we recommend you hand wash them quickly and avoid soaking them. We'd love to make a detailed report to our Quality Team, learn more about your experience, and tell you more about our unscented dish soap. We can be reached at (800) 725-3296.
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Dawn bring back the old scent

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
RS - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
I dislike the new scent, makes me nauseas. My family and I have been using Dawn dish soap for years (40+ years), but now I have to find a replacement that won't make me sick to my stomach. Please bring the old scent back soon.
1 reply from Dawn team - 9 days ago
Firstly, thank you so much for your 40 years of loyalty and support. We're very sorry to hear that you're not a fan of this new fresh scent. While scent preferences will always vary from person to person, it should never make anyone nauseous. We have quality and safety checks in place to ensure this, so please discontinue using it. You may be a bigger fan of our EZ-Squeeze Free & Clear Dish Soap as it has the cleaning power of Dawn you have come to know, love, and trust over the years, yet is unscented. We'd love to make a detailed report to our Quality and Safety Team, tell you more about this new dish soap, and help. We can be reached at (800) 725-3296.
10 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Soap

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Soap - 10 days ago, Verified purchaser
Great choice of soap and service
quality: 5 out of 5
cleans effectively: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

New scent is awful

1 out of 5 stars
Kgnz - 11 days ago
originally posted on dawn-dish.com
Long time Dawn user. HATE THE NEW SCENT!! Please change it back. Will be changing to new soap brand.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 9 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your loyalty to Dawn. We know this transition and its potential impact on your experience with our product. We acknowledge that this is the first scent change for Dawn Original in over ten years, and we apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this may have caused. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly and have already relayed it to our Research and Development team. Your input is vital in helping us improve our products and ensure we deliver the best possible experience to our customers. We hope you'll try our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free, which has all of Dawn's cleaning power and no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience so we can make a complete report to our team and help you further. Please hang on to the product and give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday, 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Why ruin a good thing?

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Dissappinted customer - 11 days ago
Not sure why Dawn would go and ruin a good thing. The new scent is not what I want to smell or taste when eating off the dishes I just washed. I guess I'll be looking for another dish soap brand.
1 reply from Dawn team - 9 days ago
Your happiness is important to us, and we're so sorry to learn you're not satisfied with the new scent of Dawn Ultra Original. Please know, this fragrance was chosen after collecting positive feedback during extensive testing with consumers. Be assured that we value your feedback greatly and it will be shared with the rest of the Dawn Team. Consumer feedback is vital in helping us improve our products and ensuring that we deliver the best possible experience to our consumers; it’s also instrumental in guiding the Dawn Team as we continue to work on future innovations. If you're looking for less scent, we suggest giving Dawn Free & Clear Fragrance Free a go. It delivers all the great cleaning of Dawn, but without the scent. Want help picking up a bottle? We've got you Mondays through Fridays, from 9 AM to 6 PM, EST. Our number is 1 (800) 725-3296.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
cleans effectively: 3 out of 5
11 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Hands down! Best soap dish!

5 out of 5 stars
lauramuaaa - 11 days ago
originally posted on influenster.com
Certain things have to be the name brand- you can't go cheap. Although it's actually still very affordable, you can buy cheaper, but it's def “cheap”er if you do and it's a waste of money either bc it doesn't work or you have to use so much more that it's a waste of money. Always go name brand on Dawn dish detergent! It lasts you so much because it cuts the grease way quicker!
Did you find this review helpful?

You Killed Dawn Original - Revive it!

1 out of 5 stars
MadMom - 11 days ago
originally posted on dawn-dish.com
STOP calling Dawn "Original" Dawn as it is NOT. You have made a very bad decision in changing what WAS the best!! The "New Clean Scent" and your new weakened, less effective formulation, literally AND figuratively STINK!! Buyer beware!! This is no longer the original faithful Dawn multi-generational users knew & loved. BRING BACK DAWN ORIGINAL!!!!!
1 reply from Customer Care team - 9 days ago
We're sorry you aren't happy with the recent change in Original Scent. We acknowledge that this is the first scent change for Dawn Original in over ten years, and we apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this may have caused. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly and have already relayed it to our Research and Development team. Your input is vital in helping us improve our products and ensure we deliver the best possible experience to our customers. We hope you'll try our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free, which has all of Dawn's cleaning power and no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience so we can make a complete report to our team and help you further. Please hang on to the product and give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday, 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

WHY did they change it??

1 out of 5 stars
KT11 - 11 days ago
originally posted on dawn-dish.com
Awful new scent We were searching the house for days because it smelled like an expired bottle of febreeze burst open but it turns out the culprit is the new bottle of Dawn Absolutely horrid smell, it's giving me headaches and I can't stand to even have the bottle in the house To the trash it went Not buying Dawn again, I'll have to figure out something else
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

New formula is awful: Don’t buy it!

1 out of 5 stars
Bobbers27 - 12 days ago
originally posted on dawn-dish.com
The new formula is trash. It lingers on your hands and dries out skin. The smell is atrocious and lingers on skin and dishes. It’s so awful I may just throw out the entire bottle. Why on earth did you destroy something that was so good? It’s now so bad I need to find a new dish soap. I’m never buying this again.
1 reply from Customer Care team - 9 days ago
We're so sorry you had this experience with the recent change in Dawn's Original Scent, Bobbers27. While all our ingredients and products are thoroughly evaluated to be safe and effective when used as directed, we recognize some people may have personal sensitivities and cannot tolerate a particular ingredient or formulation. If you haven't already, we recommend you discontinue using this product. We hope you'll try our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free, which has all of Dawn's cleaning power and no added scent. So we can complete a report for our Safety Team and help you further, please hang on to the product and call us at (800) 725-3296 Monday through Friday, 9 AM to 6 PM EST.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Terrible New Scent

1 out of 5 stars
StarsFan90 - 12 days ago
originally posted on dawn-dish.com
The new scent is TERRIBLE!!! I have purchased blue original Dawn for almost 15 years and am considering changing to another brand. Quit changing products that don’t need improving. Go back to the old scent…
1 reply from Customer Care team - 9 days ago
We're sorry you aren't happy with the recent change in Original Scent. We know this transition and its potential impact on your experience with our product. We acknowledge that this is the first scent change for Dawn Original in over ten years, and we apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this may have caused. Please rest assured that we value your feedback greatly and have already relayed it to our Research and Development team. Your input is vital in helping us improve our products and ensure we deliver the best possible experience to our customers. We hope you'll try our Dawn E-Z Squeeze Free & Clear Fragrance-Free, which has all of Dawn's cleaning power and no added scent. We'd love to hear more about your experience so we can make a complete report to our team and help you further. Please hang on to the product and give us a call at (800) 725-3296 Monday-Friday, 9 AM - 6 PM EST.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy