EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Commander Toad in Space - by Jane Yolen (Paperback)

Commander Toad in Space - by  Jane Yolen (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Commander Toad in Space - by  Jane Yolen (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$5.99 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



Brave Commander Toad and the crew of the spaceship Star Warts have a mission: to go where no spaceship has gone before and to bring a little bit of Earth back to the alien stars. But Deep Wader is not pleased at being disturbed and it looks as though the crew of the Star Warts might become the monster's lunch. A Reading Rainbow review title.



Book Synopsis



"A funny space adventure that spoofs Star Wars while providing an easy-to-read story." --Booklist

Brave Commander Toad and the crew of the spaceship Star Warts have a mission: they must go where no spaceship has gone before and bring a little bit of earth out to the alien stars. But when they try to land their sky skimmer on the planet made of water, a terrible sound rises from the waves. Deep Wader is not pleased at being disturbed. "This planet belongs to me," he roars. It looks as though the crew of the Star Warts might become the monster's lunch.

Fans of DK Readers: LEGO Star Wars, Tom Angleberger's Origami Yoda, and silliness will toad-ally love Commander Toad!



Review Quotes




★"Any beginning-to-read book with brave space explorers, a ship named 'Star Warts, ' and a monster who calls himself Deep Wader would be popular almost by any definition." --Booklist, starred review



About the Author



Jane Yolen is an author of children's books, fantasy, and science fiction, including Owl Moon, The Devil's Arithmetic, and How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? She is also a poet, a teacher of writing and literature, and a reviewer of children's literature. She has been called the Hans Christian Andersen of America and the Aesop of the twentieth century.

Jane Yolen's books and stories have won the Caldecott Medal, two Nebula Awards, two Christopher Medals, the World Fantasy Award, three Mythopoeic Fantasy Awards, the Golden Kite Award, the Jewish Book Award, the World Fantasy Association's Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Association of Jewish Libraries Award among many others.

Dimensions (Overall): 8.44 Inches (H) x 5.8 Inches (W) x .19 Inches (D)
Weight: .3 Pounds
Suggested Age: 4-8 Years
Number of Pages: 64
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic
Series Title: Commander Toad
Publisher: Puffin Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Jane Yolen
Language: English
Street Date: September 1, 1987
TCIN: 11560446
UPC: 9780698113558
Item Number (DPCI): 248-08-8087
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.19 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.44 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.3 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads