Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueLGBTQIA+ ShopWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Baseball Great - by Tim Green (Paperback)

Baseball Great - by  Tim Green (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Baseball Great - by  Tim Green (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$8.99 sale price when purchased online
$9.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a baseball book pulsing with action.
  • 8-12 Years
  • 7.68" x 5.22" Paperback
  • 272 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Sports & Recreation
  • Series Name: Baseball Great

Description



About the Book



All Josh really wants to do is play ball, but as he gets in deeper with youth championship team the Titans, there are questions looming. Together with school reporter Jaden, Josh must investigate his suspicions of steroid use.



Book Synopsis



From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a baseball book pulsing with action. Baseball Great offers a baseball story attuned to today's headlines, a totally involving, character-driven, sports-centered thriller. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica. As a young reviewer on Brightly.com said: "Great book with many exciting, surprising events that make you want to keep reading."

When the school paper calls him "Grant Middle's best hope for its first-ever city-wide championship," Josh feels like he's starting to get noticed--in good and bad ways. Seeing Josh's talent, his father drags him out of the school baseball tryouts and gets him in the running for the Titans, the local youth championship team coached by Rocky Valentine.

All Josh really wants to do is play ball, but now Rocky wants him to gulp down protein shakes and other supplements. Suspicious, Josh and his new friend, Jaden, uncover a dangerous secret--and catch the attention of one man who will do anything to keep them from exposing it.



From the Back Cover



When the school paper calls him "Grant Middle's best hope for its first-ever city-wide championship," Josh feels like he's starting to get noticed--in good and bad ways. Seeing Josh's talent, his father drags him out of the school baseball tryouts and gets him in the running for the Titans, the local youth championship team coached by Rocky Valentine.

All Josh really wants to do is play ball, but now Rocky wants him to gulp down protein shakes and other supplements. Suspicious, Josh and his new friend, Jaden, uncover a dangerous secret--and catch the attention of one man who will do anything to keep them from exposing it.



Review Quotes




"The first book in a fantastic sports adventure series centered around 12-year-old Josh, the star of his school baseball team. Tim Green uses humor and relatable middle school dramas to hook readers." -- Brightly

"Green delivers a fast-paced story, told in short chapters that build to the exciting climax. Add this to other novels that feature the temptations of steroids for young athletes, including Carl Deuker's Gym Candy (2007) and John Coy's Crackback (2005)." -- Booklist


Dimensions (Overall): 7.68 Inches (H) x 5.22 Inches (W) x .6 Inches (D)
Weight: .39 Pounds
Suggested Age: 8-12 Years
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Sports & Recreation
Series Title: Baseball Great
Publisher: HarperCollins
Theme: Baseball & Softball
Format: Paperback
Author: Tim Green
Language: English
Street Date: February 23, 2010
TCIN: 11918333
UPC: 9780061626883
Item Number (DPCI): 248-27-3064
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.6 inches length x 5.22 inches width x 7.68 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.39 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy