Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Extra Yarn - by Mac Barnett (Hardcover)

Extra Yarn - by  Mac Barnett (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Extra Yarn - by  Mac Barnett (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$10.29 sale price when purchased online
$17.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book.
  • Caldecott Medal 2013 3rd Winner, Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards (Picture Book) 2012 1st Winner
  • 4-8 Years
  • 8.6" x 10.2" Hardcover
  • 40 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Social Themes

Description



About the Book



With a supply of yarn that never runs out, Annabelle knits for everyone and everything in town until an evil archduke decides he wants the yarn for himself. Full color.



Book Synopsis



From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.



From the Back Cover



Extra Yarn, winner of a Caldecott Honor and the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, as well as a New York Times bestseller, is the story of how a young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community.

This much-loved picture book is written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen, who also won the Caldecott Medal for This Is Not My Hat.



Review Quotes




"There's nothing to say but--perfect." -- Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book

"Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Klassen's deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett's quirky droll writing." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

"Klassen's pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett's clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy." -- Horn Book (starred review)

"Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child's ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her." -- Booklist (starred review)


Dimensions (Overall): 8.6 Inches (H) x 10.2 Inches (W) x .6 Inches (D)
Weight: .9 Pounds
Suggested Age: 4-8 Years
Number of Pages: 40
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Theme: Emotions & Feelings
Format: Hardcover
Author: Mac Barnett
Language: English
Street Date: January 17, 2012
TCIN: 13945426
UPC: 9780061953385
Item Number (DPCI): 247-07-1757
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.6 inches length x 10.2 inches width x 8.6 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, Hawaii, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Alaska

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
4.4 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

shows the art of giving

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
SRFAMCALI - 1 year ago
In a cold and dreary little town, a young girl finds a box of colorful yarn. Annabelle loved the colorful yarn so she went home and knit herself a sweater…. And then she knit a sweater for her dog Mars. With more yarn still available in the box she decides to knit a sweater for a friend and his dog. In class the teacher harshly tells Annabelle that her sweater is too distracting… so Annabelle decides to knit one for the entire class. Turns out, she still has more yarn in the box! With just one little box and a little girls kindness, a cold and dreary town turns bright and cozy! Such a positive message for the readers about sharing, kindness, and the art of giving.
Did you find this review helpful?

Funny, plus a surprise ending

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
MotherOfPearl - 1 year ago
This book captured the attention of my 4 and 7 year old daughters, and love it!!! It’s funny but also has a surprise ending. Highly recommend it!
Did you find this review helpful?

Love

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Mildaimee - 3 years ago
I love this book! It is adorable. I am a huge Jon Klassen fan and these illustrations do not disappoint. Mac Barnett is great too and this story is adorable. A great team!!
Did you find this review helpful?

A sweet, lovely book about making your own happiness

5 out of 5 stars
heyhey - 4 years ago
Of the Mac Barnett/Jon Klassen collaborations, this may just be my favorite. Our protagonist is a do-er, who spreads happiness (and sweaters.) In this book's few pages, she encounters a series of antagonists, culminating in a comically evil archduke. The illustrations complement the story perfectly: the muted color scheme and texture are fantastic, as are a few visual jokes (one of which will be particularly funny to fans of I Want My Hat Back.) We read all of the Barnett/Klassen books that we have regularly, but this one more so than the others.
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy