Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Manic - by Terri Cheney (Paperback)

Manic - by  Terri Cheney (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Manic - by  Terri Cheney (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$9.89 sale price when purchased online
$17.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • An attractive, highly successful Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer, Terri Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder for the better part of her life--and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescription drugs meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal.
  • Author(s): Terri Cheney
  • 272 Pages
  • Biography + Autobiography, Personal Memoirs

Description



About the Book



In the tradition of "Girl, Interrupted" and "An Unquiet Mind" comes this heartbreaking, beautifully written memoir of one woman's experience with bipolar disorder.



Book Synopsis



An attractive, highly successful Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer, Terri Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder for the better part of her life--and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescription drugs meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal." In explosive bursts of prose that mirror the devastating mania and extreme despair of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster existence with shocking honesty, giving brilliant voice to the previously unarticulated madness she endured. Brave, electrifying, poignant, and disturbing, Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder--it takes us into its grasp and does not let go.



Review Quotes




"Cheney's chilling account of her struggle with bipolar disorder brilliantly evokes the brutal nature of her disease...Edgy, dark and often cynical, MANIC is not an easy book to read, but it has heart and soul to spare." -- People

"Written in episodic chapters that mimic the ups and downs of bipolar depression--hypomania, mania, depression--Cheney's book is a gut-churning ride." -- Los Angeles Times

"[a] gritty, vibrant, memoir brings this chaotic frenzy to life...through disaster and despair to end in hope. " -- Peter C Whybrow MD author A Mood Apart

"This is a poignant and compelling memoir ...The writing is outstanding, the story is gripping." -- Dr. Lori Altshuler, Director of the UCLA Mood Disorders Research Program

"Cheney brilliantly brings us along on her haunting and riveting journey of bipolar disorder. ...MANIC is extremely powerful." -- Andy Behrman, author of Electroboy: A Memoir of Mania

"Filled with gorgeous writing...Echoes of William Styron abound." -- Demitri F. Papolos. M.D. and Janice Papolos, authors of The Bipolar Child

"[Manic is] more than a train-wreck tearjerker, the memoir draws strength from salient observations...startlingly lucid descriptions." -- Publishers Weekly

"Cheney...writes with passionate clarity about depression and the lure of suicide but with especially keen intensity about mania..." -- Boston Globe

"Superb...Cheney's remarkable chronicle of her painful odyssey is as eloquent as it is brave. It is also profoundly necessary, both for her and for us." -- Providence Journal

"Amazing and powerful...[MANIC] forces the reader into Cheney's bipolar world, into her deep and fearful depressions mixed with her giddy, high-flying manic moods." -- Orange County Register


Dimensions (Overall): 8.0 Inches (H) x 5.32 Inches (W) x .65 Inches (D)
Weight: .45 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Biography + Autobiography
Sub-Genre: Personal Memoirs
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Format: Paperback
Author: Terri Cheney
Language: English
Street Date: February 3, 2009
TCIN: 11321031
UPC: 9780061430275
Item Number (DPCI): 248-00-0140
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.65 inches length x 5.32 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.45 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy