EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

DAP 8oz Drydex Spackling - image 1 of 4
DAP 8oz Drydex Spackling - image 2 of 4
DAP 8oz Drydex Spackling - image 3 of 4
DAP 8oz Drydex Spackling - image 4 of 4
DAP 8oz Drydex Spackling - image 1 of 4
$4.69 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • America's #1 seller
  • Goes on pink and dries white elimating any guess work
  • No priming required
  • Won't sink or shrink

Description

DAP DryDex Spackling, America's #1 seller, contains a patented Dry Time Indicator causing the product to change color when optimum dry time is achieved. It goes on pink and turns white when dry! This unique feature is the indicator that the spackling is now ready to sand and paint. This ready to use formula is spreads easily for fast, professional repairs that will not crack, crumble or flake.
Net weight: .5 Pint
Warranty: No Applicable Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869
TCIN: 11669952
UPC: 070798123281
Item Number (DPCI): 085-04-0461
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm www.p65warnings.ca.gov www.p65warnings.ca.gov
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 3.25 inches length x 3.25 inches width x 3.15 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.05 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.5 out of 5 stars with 463 reviews
95% would recommend
21 recommendations
value: 4.64 out of 5
quality: 4.73 out of 5

24 hours later, still soggy

1 out of 5 stars
Matt - 4 months ago
originally posted on DAP.com
Asked my wife to grab some drywall compound to patch a small hole in a wall and she came home with this. Not sure what went wrong ( no, this is not my first time patching holes) but 24 hours later its white yet unsandable and still soggy. Im going back to the store to get real drywall compound. I have no idea what went wrong here but this is the worst drywall compound ive ever used lol
1 reply from Technical Department team - 1 month ago
Thank you for posting your feedback. We are sorry to see your low star review on DAP Drydex Spackling. Because you did not provide any details regarding your attempted application, such as the size of the repair (width/depth of fill) application conditions, surface preparation or application technique, it is difficult to provide you with a detailed reply or specific usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your project.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

The best!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
hate these pretzels - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Seriously. I was nervous. I can only buy this spackle now.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great for crown molding

5 out of 5 stars
- 1 year ago
originally posted on DAP.com
I used this product on crown molding. It is great for filling nail heads and requires very little sanding.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Works great but packaging could be better

3 out of 5 stars
- 1 year ago
originally posted on DAP.com
I love this product, it really does work but I'm not happy with the sealing ability of the container lid. Every time I purchase this, it somehow dries out even if I make sure to close it properly. They need to redesign the lid to make it absolutely air tight, otherwise it becomes a unusable after some time. I would even like to see this come in tube form with an elongated nozzle (for easy application) as the possibility of it drying out is far less.
1 reply from Technical Department team - 30 days ago
Thank you for posting your feedback on DAP DryDex Spackling. With respect to your commentary indicating: “Every time I purchase this, it somehow dries out even if I make sure to close it properly”. As indicated on the product package lid embossed on the lid): “TO CLOSE: Hammer down all around rim until lid snaps on.” The lid does not fit on well to keep it from drying out. Of note, this product is tested for a minimum shelf life of 12 months from the date of manufacture. Based on your commentary, it would appear to indicate that the package was not properly sealed following its last use. Even a small gap in the package lid/can seal will allow the liquid components to evaporate, causing the product to dry/thicken. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information regarding your experience.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Wall repair for cracks and wall holes

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Anon - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Very easy to use. Goes on well. Dries fairly quickly. Can be layered or used with Mesh and sands beautifully
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Does the job!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
smfw - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
Does the job and easy to add for pick up :)
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

I will never use this product ever again

1 out of 5 stars
- 2 years ago
originally posted on DAP.com
It has the consistency of bubble gum and is very difficult to use. Patching the chipped corner bead of my wall should have been an easy project but this has made it infuriating
1 reply from dappwr team - 2 years ago
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP DryDex Spackling. DAP DryDex is formulated to apply as a thick/heavy-bodied paste. Based on your description of the product's "consistency of bubble gum" texture, it would appear that you may have purchased material that was aged/beyond its normal shelf life (newly purchased may not necessarily be of recent manufacture). Excessively dry product will likely be more difficult to spread and exhibit lower adhesion properties. Providing that the product is still pliable, a small volume of acetone may be added to the product until a smooth/even texture/consistency is achieved. If that procedure is not effective, it typically indicates that the product is no longer viable/usable. At your convenience, please contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. When calling in please be sure to have the package available, as we will need the production code printed on the package in order to determine the date of manufacture.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great product

5 out of 5 stars
MV - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This stuff is awesome! A little goes a long way and I love how it turns white when it's dry. The color makes it easier to apply so you can make sure you don't miss a spot. I didn't need to sand after using it on drywall and even used it to fill in scratches on a windowsill from my cat. It's also very easy to clean up if you drop some or get it on fabric. It did shrink a hair, but I think it's because I did way too thin of a coat (like 1/32"). If you have something that literally takes paint off the wall like gorilla tape, this product fills in the holes very nicely. I did holes up to two inches across and down to the brown paper of drywall and it worked great. It also comes off your skin very easily with warm water and soap. This also stays good awhile after opening and closing the lid.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Small container, big value

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Avenell - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Product does what is says it will! Bought this multiple times for small patch jobs and it hasn’t disappointed me yet.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

This stuff is mint

5 out of 5 stars
- 3 years ago
originally posted on DAP.com
Bro I'm a Kyle and punch holes when I'm angry but this stuff plasters em up nice! Highly recommend!! Easy as the dickens and makes life easier. I need a punching bag though.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

This stuff is Great!!

5 out of 5 stars
- 3 years ago
originally posted on DAP.com
I agree with another review, Had to leave a positive after so many negative. I've used it for nail holes, larger empty anchor holes. small patch jobs, and general filler where the towel bar was forced out. Used in kitchen, bathroom, hallway bedroom and living room. Not a problem anywhere. It does get harder to get out as there is less product, that's to be expected. I used my plastic spackle tool to run over the outside of the tube to bring it to the top. Will use again and recommend highly for it's ease of use.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Spackle/Puddy

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ShersRoses - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
The application was so easy and dried quickly. Highly recommend
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

great

5 out of 5 stars
cccccc - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
good product for small repairs. dries quick.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Room temp

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Hemmyhere - 3 years ago
We used this to patch the holes on our walls from our curtain rods. It’s purple and turns white when dry which is nice. Store in room temp - I stored mine downstairs and the whole thing turned white. Think it was too cold.
value: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Michelle - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Easy to use! I like how it turns white when dry.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

works as advertised

5 out of 5 stars
alexandraru - 3 years ago
Works exactly as advertised! I typically use this for nail holes in my walls, and have used it for a few bigger holes (none bigger than a dime though). Goes on pink and dries clear, easy to sand! I recommended doing two applications if you want a super smooth finish though for bigger holes as it sometimes shrinks just a little. It would be nice if it came with a little spatula but it is easy to use.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Did a Great Job!

5 out of 5 stars
collegegirl007 - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
Worked great for filling a few small holes and evening out the wall before painting. It was very helpful that the spackling applied as a pink color and then turned white when it was ready to be painted over so I didn't have to do any guessing or keep a timer. Overall, does a great job and I would highly recommend!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

I will never buy this again.

1 out of 5 stars
- 3 years ago
originally posted on DAP.com
This stuff has the consistency of pudding and is not good for vertical surfaces. It shrank into the smallest joint and ran down the wall onto the floor. I used it for joints and screw holes and the next morning it was virtually gone. I will not be buying this product again. Very disappointed in this product. I have never had issues like this with any DAP products in the past.
1 reply from dappwr team - 2 years ago
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP DryDex Spackling. At your convenience, please contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you, when calling in, please have the product package available, as we will need to collect production information from it.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Good product

5 out of 5 stars
heidi - 3 years ago
It worked well! We also liked the tint so we could see it better when it was being applied and could be easily blended in.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Despite the ease of use, I've almost lost my confidence.

3 out of 5 stars
- 4 years ago
originally posted on DAP.com
I've always run into some inconsistent results with DryDex, some of the sparkled spots bulged after painted on, really cannot figure what caused the swelling. I was told that swelling means moisture in it, but I already have 2, to 3 coats and each coat was separated by almost a day. Wondering if anyone has experienced the swelling with painting on spot with DryDex?
1 reply from Technical Department team - 19 days ago
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP DryDex Spackling. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, such as your application conditions, application surfaces, surface preparation or application technique, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance in this format. Should wish to provide these details so that we can better addressed your concern, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads