Loading, please wait...

Sky on Fire - (Monument 14) by Emmy Laybourne (Paperback)

About this item


Number of Pages: 217

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Science Fiction

Series Title: Monument 14

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Square Fish

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: General

Author: Emmy Laybourne

Language: English

TCIN: 16073567
UPC: 9781250044327
Item Number (DPCI): 247-18-2018


Trapped in a superstore by a series of escalating disasters, including a monster hailstorm and terrifying chemical weapons spill, brothers Dean and Alex learned how to survive and worked together with twelve other kids to build a refuge from the chaos. But then strangers appeared, destroying their fragile peace, and bringing both fresh disaster and a glimmer of hope.

Knowing that the chemical weapons saturating the air outside will turn him into a bloodthirsty rage monster, Dean decides to stay in the safety of the store with Astrid and some of the younger kids. But their sanctuary has already been breached once. . . .

Meanwhile, Alex, determined to find their parents, heads out into the darkness and devastation with Niko and some others in a recently repaired school bus. If they can get to Denver International Airport, they might be evacuated to safety. But the outside world is even worse than they expected. . . .

Monument 14: Sky on Fire is the second installment Emmy Laybourne's thrilling series.

Praise for Monument 14: Sky on Fire:

"A nifty plot that provides unexpected moments of chaos." --The Horn Book

"Pretty darn breathless." --Booklist

"The well-paced plot leads to an ending that provides just enough closure to satisfy and a clear opening for a third book. Libraries that own the original need the sequel. Those without it should consider purchasing both titles." --School Library Journal

"Since reading Monument 14--in one edge-of-my-seat, non-stop read--I've been unable to go into a department store without planning my survival strategy. Paranoia, Aisle 23!" --Eric Walters, author of The Rule of Three

By Emmy Laybourne:

The Monument 14 Trilogy
Monument 14 (Book 1)
Monument 14: Sky on Fire (Book 2)
Monument 14: Savage Drift (Book 3)


The Berserker series
Berserker (Book 1)
Ransacker (Book 2)

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.

*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.