Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Ones We're Meant to Find - by Joan He

The Ones We're Meant to Find - by Joan He - image 1 of 1
The Ones We're Meant to Find - by Joan He - image 1 of 1
$12.89 sale price when purchased online
$12.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Perfect for fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a sci-fi fantasy with mind-blowing twists, ready to burst onto the YA scene, from the critically-acclaimed Descendant of the Crane author, Joan He.
  • 400 Pages
  • Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction

Description



About the Book



In a near future when life is harsh outside of Earth's last unpolluted place, Cee tries to leave an abandoned island while her sister, STEM prodigy Kasey, seeks escape from the science and home she once trusted.



Book Synopsis



Perfect for fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a sci-fi fantasy with mind-blowing twists, ready to burst onto the YA scene, from the critically-acclaimed Descendant of the Crane author, Joan He.

Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With no idea of how she was marooned, she only has a rickety house, an old android, and a single memory: she has a sister, and Cee needs to find her.

STEM prodigy Kasey wants escape from the science and home she once trusted. The Metropolis--Earth's last unpolluted place--is meant to be a sanctuary for those committed to planetary protection, but it's populated by people willing to do anything for refuge, even lie. Now, she'll have to decide if she's ready to use science to help humanity, even though it failed the people who mattered most.



Review Quotes




"I fell in love with this haunting, futuristic world and the sisters searching for each other in it. Joan He's words will stay with you long after the final page." - Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

'In a climate-ravaged future, the love between two sisters is the only hope for humanity's future. This is sci-fi at its best: floating cities, kindness and desert islands!' Lauren James, author of The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker




About the Author



Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city waterfront. She is the author of Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.24 Inches (H) x 5.41 Inches (W) x 1.04 Inches (D)
Weight: .71 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13-17 Years
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Science Fiction
Publisher: Square Fish
Format: Paperback
Author: Joan He
Language: English
Street Date: May 16, 2023
TCIN: 87295650
UPC: 9781250833143
Item Number (DPCI): 247-05-3784
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.04 inches length x 5.41 inches width x 8.24 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.71 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
3.7 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews

Not My Favorite

2 out of 5 stars
Sheri H - 3 years ago
I really had high hopes for this book. I kept reading how many people were looking forward to it and how great it would be. well, I just did not like it. The narrative was very hard to follow. The science stuff would have been actually easier to follow had real words and phrases for things been used instead of made up ones. I did like the stuff on the island and that alone was compelling to read. However, at about the half way point when you can see where it is headed, it just got to be too much. And the ending, WHAT!?!?! Don't get me started. Very dissapointed.
Did you find this review helpful?

Recovering Forgotten Memories

4 out of 5 stars
Olivia Fink - 3 years ago
4.5 stars I have never heard of this author before this book but the moment I saw that Marie Lu loved it, on top of the wonderfully intriguing plot summary and cover, I had to read it. And after reading this story I can confidently say that if she continues to write books she will be an auto-read author. It's hard for me to believe that she's only written one story before because the writing in this book and the plot is so unbelievably entertaining that it's hard to believe she hasn't had multiple international bestsellers. And I can tell that this book is going to be one that every lover of young adult, dystopian, and science fiction will have to read. I really liked how even though this is a dystopian world the problems in it relate to what we see in today's world. The world that this story is set in is full of pollution and environmental problems. In order to escape the pollution, the government has built ecocities in the sky to try to escape the effects it has on the body. Then there is a nice science fiction element because the people can spend their days in an alternate reality through technology and they do this to try to eliminate driving and other things that would cause more pollution in the world This story is told from two sisters' POVs who are trying to find one another. I really liked Cee's chapters as it has a nice element of survival and adventure. She's abandoned on an island with a robot and trying to survive as well as make her way back to a sister she hardly remembers. Throughout the book, we're slowly learning more as she gets her memories back. We also get chapters from her sister which helps us to have a different outlook on the world and to understand how it functions better. We follow her as she does a little bit of detective work to figure out what led her sister to the point of disappearing and now everyone thinks she's dead. She also works with someone who knew her sister to figure out the truth and to come up with a solution for the world's problems. At times I felt like the actions of the characters was a little forced especially in some of the romantic relationships that happen. The romance doesn't make up the book but there is a little bit and for me, I wasn't into their relationship at all because it was very unnatural. But the other relationships in the book especially the ones between sisters were very engaging and had me caring for them and what happened to them. I also love that this book had a nice mystery element to it. So this book took two of my favorite genres, dystopian/science fiction, and thriller/mystery, and put them into one. I didn't think this book would be a mystery but it definitely had that psychological thriller element. I did not see the twists and turns coming and when it happened I was shocked. But once learning the truth I could understand things that I couldn't make sense of before. And after knowing the truth there were little details that I remember reading before and thinking that's kind of off, but now understanding the truth it all clicked. The author did wonderful adding little hints and details that if you look close enough you would figure out something, but I don't think you would be able to understand the whole truth until it is revealed to you. The ending also had me needing more. I know this is a standalone novel but it definitely ended in a way that could become another book. You can kind of guess what happens but I love this story so much that I hope that the author will decide to make another book. There is so much that could still be said. Overall a wonderful new story where what's inside is just as stunning as the cover.
Did you find this review helpful?

Haunting, lyrical, thought provoking science fiction

5 out of 5 stars
lurkykitty - 3 years ago
The Ones We're Meant to Find is a beautifully written story told from the perspective of two sisters living on a dystopian near future earth ravaged by natural disasters caused by climate change and pollution. Cee woke up naked and alone on an abandoned island three years ago, her only companion a bot called U-me. She is compelled to cross the sea to find her sister Kay, but suffers from amnesia. She has been struggling to survive and build a boat. Kasey lives in a sky city above the ocean which has been designed to minimize environmental impact and carbon output. Her sister Celia disappeared several months ago and is presumed dead. Kasey struggles to relate to other people (she perhaps has ASD) but is a scientific genius. She has been investigating the disappearance of her sister. The reader is kept in the dark initially and has the feeling that something isn't adding up. There is an enormous twist that explains everything. The Ones We're Meant to Find is an emotional, lyrical thought provoking book with enormous depth. It raises questions about the price future generations will pay for our irresponsibility and carelessness, about what makes life meaningful and worth living, about what should be rights and what should be freedoms. This haunting story will stay with you long after you close the cover.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy