Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Half-Orphan's Handbook - by Joan F Smith (Paperback)

The Half-Orphan's Handbook - by  Joan F Smith (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Half-Orphan's Handbook - by  Joan F Smith (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$8.59 sale price when purchased online
$10.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • For fans of John Green and Emily X.R. Pan, The Half-Orphan's Handbook by Joan F. Smith is a coming-of-age story and an empathetic, authentic exploration of grief with a sharp sense of humor and a big heart.
  • 352 Pages
  • Young Adult Fiction, Social Themes

Description



About the Book



A YA coming-of-age story and an empathetic, authentic exploration of grief with a sharp sense of humor and a big heart.



Book Synopsis



For fans of John Green and Emily X.R. Pan, The Half-Orphan's Handbook by Joan F. Smith is a coming-of-age story and an empathetic, authentic exploration of grief with a sharp sense of humor and a big heart.

It's been three months since Lila lost her father to suicide. Since then, she's learned to protect herself from pain by following two unbreakable rules:

1. The only people who can truly hurt you are the ones you love. Therefore, love no one.

2. Stay away from liars. Liars are the worst.

But when Lila's mother sends her to a summer-long grief camp, it's suddenly harder for Lila to follow these rules. Potential new friends and an unexpected crush threaten to drag her back into life for the first time since her dad's death.

On top of everything, there's more about what happened that Lila doesn't know, and facing the truth about her family will be the hardest part of learning how a broken heart can love again.

An Imprint Book



Review Quotes




"A tender, honest exploration of finding a way through the impossible." --Kirkus Reviews

"A beautifully written, funny, heart brimming story about a young woman's tragic loss, the hard work and grace of healing and the irrepressible force of love." --Francisco X. Stork, award-winning author of The Memory of Light

"The Half-Orphan's Handbook is a masterclass in prose and character. Laugh and cry along with Lila and Noah as they navigate the complex space between tragedy and hope. Moving. Important. Beautiful." --Laura Taylor Namey, author of A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow




About the Author



Joan F. Smith lives with her family in Massachusetts, where she works as an associate dean, a creative writing professor, and a dance instructor. She received her MFA in creative writing from Emerson College, and has written articles for The Washington Post and Thought Catalog on destigmatizing discussions around mental health and suicide prevention. The Half-Orphan's Handbook is her debut novel.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.3 Inches (W) x 1.0 Inches (D)
Weight: .65 Pounds
Suggested Age: 14-18 Years
Number of Pages: 352
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Publisher: Square Fish
Theme: Death, Grief, Bereavement
Format: Paperback
Author: Joan F Smith
Language: English
Street Date: April 19, 2022
TCIN: 83980217
UPC: 9781250821164
Item Number (DPCI): 247-05-9993
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.3 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.65 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy