Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Strike the Zither - (Kingdom of Three) by Joan He

Strike the Zither - (Kingdom of Three) by Joan He - image 1 of 1
Strike the Zither - (Kingdom of Three) by Joan He - image 1 of 1
$11.29 sale price when purchased online
$12.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • A dazzling new fantasy from New York Times and Indie bestselling author Joan He, Strike the Zither is a powerful, inventive, and sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Rebecca Ross and Chloe Gong.
  • 384 Pages
  • Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
  • Series Name: Kingdom of Three

Description



About the Book



A dazzling and riveting duology opener from New York Times and Indie bestselling author Joan He, Strike the Zither is a powerful, inventive, and sweeping fantasy that reimagines the Chinese classic tale of the Three Kingdoms.



Book Synopsis



A dazzling new fantasy from New York Times and Indie bestselling author Joan He, Strike the Zither is a powerful, inventive, and sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Rebecca Ross and Chloe Gong.

The year is 414 of the Xin Dynasty, and chaos abounds. A puppet empress is on the throne. The realm has fractured into three factions, and three warlordesses hope to claim the continent for themselves.

But Zephyr knows it's no contest.

Orphaned at a young age, Zephyr took control of her fate by becoming the best strategist of the land and serving under Xin Ren, a warlordess whose loyalty to the empress is double-edged--while Ren's honor draws Zephyr to her cause, it also jeopardizes their survival in a war where one must betray or be betrayed.

When Zephyr is forced to infiltrate an enemy camp to keep Ren's followers from being slaughtered, she encounters the enigmatic Crow, an opposing strategist who is finally her match. But there are more enemies than one--and not all of them are human.

Featuring gorgeous map art and black-and-white portraits, Strike the Zither is the first book in Joan He's riveting Kingdom of Three duology. Don't miss the epic conclusion in Sound the Gong!



Review Quotes




"A fierce reimagining of the Chinese classic... Full of twists and surprises that shock and delight, building up to the epic conclusion that left me gasping." - Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Book of Tea duology"

"A brilliant exploration of destiny and identity!" - Xiran Jay Zhao, New York Times-bestselling author of Iron Widow

"Rich with intrigue and epic in scale. Strike the Zither grows tall on the heroic classics it draws from, yet beats powerfully with a heart of its own." - Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the These Violet Delights Duet

"A riveting series opener." Kirkus, starred review

"Powerful, action-packed prose, quick pacing, anticipatory atmosphere, and immersive worldbuilding exemplify the origins of the source material while developing a distinct and evocative adventure." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"An intricate, expansive epic...this book is as ambitious as its scheming, ruthless cast--and just like its narrator, delivers above and beyond." - Margaret Owen, author of The Merciful Crow series and Little Thieves

"Filled with twists and turns... A meticulously plotted, supremely satisfying story that explores identity, legacy, and loyalty in unexpected ways." - Hannah Whitten, New York Times-bestselling author of For the Wolf

"A page-turner, full of unexpected twists, with an expansive, intricate world of sisterhood and subterfuge... A standout work from a remarkable author." - Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

"Richly layered and highly creative... A truly magnificent book." - June Hur, bestselling author of The Red Palace

"In this tautly plotted, vividly reimagined tale of a beloved Chinese classic, He orchestrates an epic page-turner... STRIKE THE ZITHER will keep you guessing--and gasping for more." - June CL Tan, internationally bestselling author of Jade Fire Gold

"This soaring, masterful retelling becomes an epic all of its own... Readers will get lost in this rich, gorgeous, and dangerous world." Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

"A twisty, body-snatching, gender-flipped retelling of The Romance of the Three Kingdoms. Prepare to be transported." Rebecca Lim, award-winning author of Tiger Daughter




About the Author



Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still, on occasion, loses her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories are her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and now writes from Chicago. She is the bestselling author of The Ones We're Meant to Find, and Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel. Strike the zither is the first book in her Kingdom of Three duology.
joanhewrites.com @joanhewrites

Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.1 Inches (W) x 1.1 Inches (D)
Weight: .7 Pounds
Suggested Age: 12-17 Years
Number of Pages: 384
Series Title: Kingdom of Three
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Square Fish
Theme: Epic
Format: Paperback
Author: Joan He
Language: English
Street Date: March 26, 2024
TCIN: 88019026
UPC: 9781250895523
Item Number (DPCI): 247-38-2543
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.1 inches length x 5.1 inches width x 7.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.7 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.3 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Magical, transporting epic fantasy

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
lurkykitty - 1 year ago
Strike the Zither is a magical, transporting and fast-paced epic fantasy inspired by the Chinese classic, the Three Kingdoms. In a fractured, war-torn land, three Lordesses fight for control. Zephyr is a brilliant strategist dedicated to protecting and advancing the Lordess Xin Ren. Zephyr is forced to make the risky choice to infiltrate the enemy's ranks to destroy them from within. The plot drives the story; however, every key character is complex and layered. Zephyr is a stunning main character, bold, confident, brilliant, loyal and unshakeable. The clever, moody Crow is a fantastic foil. I loved that so many of the powerful characters are women and that the themes of sisterhood and found family are explored. The writing is immersive, evocative and vivid. The story is nuanced and filled with military strategy, intrigue and shocking twists. I appreciated the beautiful character art, map, and notes offering insight into the original Three Kingdoms. Highly anticipating the sequel!
Did you find this review helpful?

mixed feelings about this YA fantasy

3 out of 5 stars
bostieslovebooks - 1 year ago
Set in Xin Dynasty year 414, Zephyr, a strategist of the warlordess Ren, infiltrates enemy camp to protect Ren and her followers. What happens when she encounters an opposing strategist? Does she know who her enemies really are? STRIKE THE ZITHER was an interesting fantasy read inspired by the Chinese literature ‘Three Kingdoms.’ I really liked the first half of the book with all of the war strategy. It kept me turning pages to see how the action was going to play out and what plans were going to be made next. Then around halfway through, a twist occurs that unfortunately changed my enjoyment of the book significantly and left me feeling like the later half was a slog to read. I lost all connection to the characters and didn’t feel the same excitement as when I first started reading. STRIKE THE ZITHER is the first book in Joan He’s Kingdom of Three duology. I will probably read the second book at some point out of curiosity to see what the conclusion is, though it’s not on the top of my list. While this wasn’t the best book for me overall, fans of YA fantasy may want to give this book a try as they may like the twist.
Did you find this review helpful?

Astounding Read

5 out of 5 stars
bookish_78bookieluvr - 2 years ago
I'm blown away. The scenes were just amazing and completely packed with surprising turns of events. I for one, adored each single line, so I'll be the first in line for book two. *gleefully squeals* Fantasy books are a HUGE part of my life. So when I discover another one that sets my heart on fire, you KNOW that I'll be speaking about it to everyone. Especially this one! I'm begging you, please read this book, it's frigging gold ☆!!! The cover is gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. There are illustrations inside the book, the illustrations being of the characters. Whatttttt?!?!?!!!! It is sooooo gorgeous and just so beautiful and just awesome. I've never seen a book have drawings and illustrations of their characters before which is amazing to see in this book because it has that. And the cover is just so beautiful. There's just so much, that you can just already assume. It's just amazing with how the illustrator did such a great job with the cover and I see that it matches the story very well. The illustrator did a great job with matching the art to how amazing the story is.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy