Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Vanishing Year (Paperback) (Kate Moretti) - image 1 of 1
Vanishing Year (Paperback) (Kate Moretti) - image 1 of 1
$10.45 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"Zoe Whittaker is living a charmed life. She is the beautiful young wife to handsome, charming Wall Street tycoon Henry Whittaker. She is a member of Manhattan's social elite. She is on the board of one of the city's most prestigious philanthropic organizations. She has a perfect Tribeca penthouse in the city and a gorgeous lake house in the country. The finest wine, the most up-to-date fashion, and the most luxurious vacations are all at her fingertips. What no one knows is that five years ago, Zoe's life was in danger. Back then, Zoe wasn't Zoe at all. Now her secrets are coming back to haunt her"--



Book Synopsis



"The Vanishing Year is a stunner. A perfectly compulsive read that's impossible to put down." -Mary Kubica

"A chilling, powerful tale of nerve-shattering suspense." -Heather Gudenkauf

Nominated for Best Mystery & Thriller by Goodreads Choice Awards 2016

Zoe Whittaker is living a charmed life. She is the beautiful young wife to handsome, charming Wall Street tycoon Henry Whittaker. She is a member of Manhattan's social elite. She is on the board of one of the city's most prestigious philanthropic organizations. She has a perfect Tribeca penthouse in the city and a gorgeous lake house in the country. The finest wine, the most up-to-date fashion, and the most luxurious vacations are all at her fingertips.

What no one knows is that five years ago, Zoe's life was in danger. Back then, Zoe wasn't Zoe at all. Now her secrets are coming back to haunt her.

As the past and present collide, Zoe must decide who she can trust before she--whoever she is--vanishes completely.

A "dark, twisty, edge-of-your-seat suspense" (Karen Robards), The Vanishing Year combines the classic sophistication of Ruth Rendell and A.S.A. Harrison with the thoroughly modern flair of Jessica Knoll. Told from the point-of-view of a heroine who is as relatable as she is enigmatic, The Vanishing Year is an unforgettable new novel by a rising star of the genre.



Review Quotes



"The Vanishing Year is the perfect mix of pulse-pounding action and exquisite prose. The complex, unpredictable plot and Kate's layered, multidimensional characters kept me hooked until the very last satisfying page. This book is sure to be one of this year's most talked about thrillers!"--Nicole Baart, author of The Beautiful Daughters

"Some of the most suspenseful writing in the genre...adroitly written."-- "Crime Time Magazine"

"The Vanishing Year is dark, twisty, edge-of-your-seat suspense. I read it in a single sitting and enjoyed every word. I highly recommend it!"--Karen Robards, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Time I Saw Her

"The Vanishing Year is part psychological study, part thriller, part journey of a lost woman finding herself amidst the chaos and confusion of abuse. Expertly told with secrets, twists and whip-smart prose, Kate Moretti shows in her third book that she deserves her New York Times best seller status. The Vanishing Year will live in your mind long after you put the book down."--Ann Garvin, author of The Dog Year

"The Vanishing Year takes us from the heights of New York Society to the depths of the depraved mind. In this gut-grabbing novel Moretti creates a glittery world of dreams and nightmares. Moves and counter-moves. Clear your schedule and brew a pot of coffee. You're going to be up all night with this one."--T.E Woods, author of The Justice Series

"The Vanishing Year dazzles with New York's high society, one woman's dark and twisted past, and a marriage brimming with secrets and lies. Part psychological thriller, part edge-of-your-seat suspense, this gorgeously written novel will keep you guessing until the final reveal. Unputdownable."--Karen Katchur, author of The Secrets of Lake Road

"The Vanishing Year is intimate, conversational company, and its plot is strong, its closing twists superb."-- "New York Times Book Review"

"The Vanishing Year is more than an engaging tale of utter betrayal. It's an intricate dance of realities, full of twists and turns you won't see coming. Kate Moretti has outdone herself. You'll miss your bedtime, guaranteed." --J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of No One Knows

"Fans of S. J. Watson, Lisa Unger, and Sophie Hannah will enjoy this fast-paced psychological suspense novel."-- "Booklist"

"Great pacing and true surprises make this an exciting read. Fans of twisted thrillers featuring complex female characters will devour Moretti's latest."-- "Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"

"Kate Moretti's The Vanishing Year is a Rebecca for the modern age--a novel filled with doubts and deception, secrets and history. Society wife Zoe Whitaker must confront the age-old question of whether forgetting our past dooms us to endless repetition--and more heartache and danger than one woman can bear."--Jenny Milchman, author of As Night Falls

"Moretti maintains a fast pace...chillingly satisfying."-- "Publishers Weekly"

"Readers will wonder who is good, evil, or simply the victim of misguided thinking as they devour bestselling author Kate Moretti's latest book, full of expertly placed screens and revelations."-- "BookPage"

"The tantalizing plot twists layered atop the juxtaposition of the protagonist's troubled past and the opulence of her current life are not only intriguing, they'll keep you reading The Vanishing Year far into the night. Well done, Ms. Moretti, well done!"--Lesley Kagen, New York Times bestselling author of Whistling in the Dark and The Resurrection of Tess Blessing

"This psychological thriller evolves into sheer terror...the outcome will amaze readers."-- "RT Magazine"

A Woman's World Book Club Pick

Engaging, intriguing, heart-pounding. In The Vanishing Year, Kate Moretti brings us the story of a Zoe Whittaker who has whitewashed her past and taken on a new and pristine identity. Of course, nothing is exactly as it seems to Zoe, and nothing is as it seems to the reader either. The twists had me gasping, the details had me transfixed. I cared about Zoe right away, which along with everything else, made it impossible for me to stop reading this book.--Amy Sue Nathan, author of The Glass Wives

"The Vanishing Year is a chilling, powerful tale of nerve-shattering suspense. Kate Moretti pieces together a stunning, up-all-night thriller with a throat-gripping twist that will leave the reader reeling."--Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of Missing Pieces

"A woman's perilous past and her affluent present converge in Kate Moretti's latest jaw-dropping thriller. Replete with unsavory characters, buried secrets, and a bounty of unexpected twists and turns, The Vanishing Year is a stunner. A perfectly compulsive read that's impossible to put down."--Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Don't You Cry



About The Author



Kate Moretti is the New York Times bestselling author of Thought I Knew You, Binds That Tie, and While You Were Gone. She lives in eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and two kids. Find out more at KateMoretti.com or follow her on Twitter: @KateMoretti1 or Facebook: /KateMorettiWriter
Dimensions (Overall): 8.7 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .55 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 296
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Pocket Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Kate Moretti
Language: English
Street Date: September 27, 2016
TCIN: 51155748
UPC: 9781501118432
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-5907
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.5 inches length x 1 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy