Loading, please wait...

5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior - by Mark Siegel & Alexis Siegel (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 256

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Series Title: 5 Worlds

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Book theme: General

Author: Mark Siegel & Alexis Siegel

Language: English

Street Date: May 2, 2017
TCIN: 51837910
UPC: 9781101935866
Item Number (DPCI): 248-35-5195
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"A story that explores new worlds packed with amazing adventures, ancient mysteries, the unlikely bond of a clumsy dancer, a boy from the poorest slums, and a superstar athlete--and their quest to save one small, distant galaxy from the forces of evil"--



Book Synopsis



R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of WONDER, hails this adventure series as "Mind-blowingly beautiful. . . . A must-read."

Think Star Wars meets Avatar: The Last Airbender!

The Five Worlds are on the brink of extinction unless five ancient and mysterious beacons are lit. When war erupts, three unlikely heroes will discover there's more to themselves--and more to their worlds--than meets the eye. . . .

- Oona Lee, the clumsiest student at the Sand Dancer Academy, is a fighter with a destiny bigger than she could ever imagine.

- An Tzu, a boy from the poorest slums, has a surprising gift and a knack for getting out of sticky situations.

- Jax Amboy is the star athlete who is beloved by an entire galaxy, but what good is that when he has no real friends?

When these three kids are forced to team up on an epic quest, it will take not one, not two, but 5 WORLDS to contain all the magic and adventure!

A magical journey, as fun as it is beautiful!" --Kazu Kibuishi, #1 New York Times bestselling creator of AMULET

Bang-zoom . . . a series that promises to be epic.--The New York Times

"This stellar team has created a gorgeous and entrancing world like no other!" --Noelle Stevenson, New York Times bestselling author of Nimona

"Epic action, adventure, and mystery will draw you in, but the heartfelt characters and their seemingly impossible journey will keep you turning the pages." --Lisa Yee, author of the DC Super Hero Girls(TM) series



Review Quotes




A Publishers Weekly Best Summer Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A New York Public Library's Top Ten Best Books for Kids 2017
Included in NPR's Guide to 2017's Great Reads
2017 Nerdy Book Club Award Winners for Best Graphic Novel
A Texas Library Association Maverick Graphic Novel Selection
A Black-Eyed Susan Book Award Nominee

With sensitive writing, gorgeous artwork, and riveting plot, this is a series to keep an eye on.
--Booklist
starred review

In a dazzling interplanetary fantasy from the Siegel Brothers, artists Bouma, Rockefeller, and Sun bring to life the cultures, customs, and creatures of a lively new world that will easily appeal to fans of Naruto or Avatar: The Last Airbender.
--Publishers Weekly
starred review

This sweeping graphic-novel saga features inventive world-building, with history, mythology, and traditions naturally integrated into the narrative. The installment ends triumphantly and tantalizingly; readers will eagerly await book two.
--The Horn Book Magazine



About the Author



MARK SIEGEL has written and illustrated several award-winning picture books and graphic novels, including the New York Times bestseller Sailor Twain, or the Mermaid in the Hudson. He is also the founder and editorial director of First Second Books. He lives with his family in New York. Follow Mark on Tumblr at @marksiegel and the 5 Worlds team on Twitter at @5WorldsTeam.

ALEXIS SIEGEL is a writer and translator based in London, England. He has translated a number of bestselling graphic novels, including Joann Sfar's The Rabbi's Cat, Pénélope Bagleu's Exquisite Corpse, and Gene Luen Yang's American Born Chinese (into French).

XANTHE BOUMA is an illustrator based in Southern California. When not working on picture books, fashion illustration, and comics, Xanthe enjoys soaking up the beachside sun. Follow Xanthe on Tumblr at @yumbles and on Twitter at @xoxobouma.

MATT ROCKEFELLER is an illustrator and comic book artist from Tucson, Arizona. His work has appeared in a variety of formats, including book covers, picture books, and animation. Matt lives in New York City. Follow him on Tumblr at @mrockefeller and on Twitter at @mcrockefeller.

BOYA SUN is an illustrator and co-author of the graphic novel Chasma Knights. Originally from China, Boya has traveled from Canada to the United States and now resides in the charming city of Baltimore. Follow Boya on Tumblr at @boyasun and on Twitter at @boyaboyasun.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.8 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.35 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.