Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Asking for a Friend - by Ronnie Riley (Hardcover)

Asking for a Friend - by  Ronnie Riley (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Asking for a Friend - by  Ronnie Riley (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$19.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Eden Jones has exactly three friends.
  • 8-12 Years
  • 8.51" x 5.84" Hardcover
  • 272 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, LGBT

Description



About the Book



"Eden Jones is a nonbinary kid who has Social Anxiety Disorder, and when their mother announces she is throwing a birthday party and inviting all their friends they are thrown into a panic--because while Eden's three 'friends' are all real kids at school they have almost never actually spoken to any of them"--



Book Synopsis



Eden Jones has exactly three friends. And they're all fake.

From a web of lies and anxiety to true friendship and queer joy; this is the wonderful second book from the author of the Indies Introduce and Indie Next List pick, Jude Saves the World.

Why go through the stress of making friends when you can just pretend? It works for Eden and their social anxiety . . . until their mom announces she's throwing them a birthday party and all their friends are invited.

Eden's "friends," Duke, Ramona, and Tabitha, are all real kids from school . . . but Eden's never actually spoken to them before. Now Eden will do whatever it takes to convince them to be their friends -- at least until the party is over.

When things start to go better than Eden expects and the group starts to bond, Eden finds themself trapped in a lie that gets worse the longer they keep it up. What happens if their now sort-of-real friends discover that Eden hasn't been honest with them from the very beginning?

Author Ronnie Riley creates a world full of queer joy and all the ups and downs of true friendship. This book is perfect for fans of Guts or Forget Me Not.



Review Quotes




Praise for Asking for a Friend:

"Riley's fictional world is one in which queer joy always triumphs... A breath of fresh air." --Kirkus Reviews

Praise forJude Saves the World:

Indie Next List Pick

Indies Introduce Pick

"Full of fierce warmth and humor, Jude Saves the World is a life-changer. A tender, radiant debut." --Ashley Herring Blake, author of the Stonewall Honor book Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

"A heartwarming exploration of identity, unconditional friendship, found family, and harnessing the force of love to right the world's wrongs." --Jules Machias, author of Both Can Be True

"Jude's story is full of heart, queer celebration, and an intelligent tenderness so needed in today's homes and classrooms." --Ash Van Otterloo, author of Cattywampus

"Accessible and ultimately hopeful. Jude Saves the World feels like wrapping yourself up in a warm blanket, like a hug to every single reader who might need one. Not only is Jude a courageous kid who just wants to make their world a better, more accepting place, they are a role model for readers hoping to do the same." --A. J. Sass, author of Ana on the Edge and Ellen Outside the Lines

"Filled with courage and positivity, Jude is middle grade's next Pride icon." --Kaliisha Cole, Whitelam Books, Reading, MA

"This is a beautiful book with amazing, brave characters who fiercely guard friendship as a safe space filled with unconditional love - and set about to make the world that way. Jude Saves the World cracked my heart open and poured joy right in." --Justin Colussy-Estes, Little Shop of Stories, Decatur, GA

"Jude is the brave and loyal friend all young queer kids need." --Gabriella Crivilare, Prairie Fox Books, Ottawa, IL




About the Author



Ronnie Riley (they/them) is many things: queer, trans, nonbinary, lesbian, neurodivergent, disabled, Canadian. The author of Jude Saves the World, which was an Indies Introduce and an Indies Kids' Next List pick. They live with their partner in Toronto, Ontario, and collect books, friends, and cats. They love ice cream any day of the year, birds with long legs, and messy reality TV. Asking for a Friend is their sophomore book.

Find them on social media @mxronnieriley or online at mxronnieriley.com.

Dimensions (Overall): 8.51 Inches (H) x 5.84 Inches (W) x .94 Inches (D)
Weight: .81 Pounds
Suggested Age: 8-12 Years
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: LGBT
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover
Author: Ronnie Riley
Language: English
Street Date: June 4, 2024
TCIN: 91572185
UPC: 9781339027647
Item Number (DPCI): 247-33-2113
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.94 inches length x 5.84 inches width x 8.51 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.81 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy