EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Becoming Naomi León (Scholastic Gold) - by Pam Muñoz Ryan (Paperback)

Becoming Naomi León (Scholastic Gold) - by  Pam Muñoz Ryan (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Becoming Naomi León (Scholastic Gold) - by  Pam Muñoz Ryan (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$6.69 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



From the award-winning author of "Esperanza Rising" comes a riveting novel about family and identity, drawn from the warmth, wisdom, and love of Ryan's own Mexican and Oklahoman heritages.



Book Synopsis



From Newbery Honoree and New York Times bestseller Pam Muñoz Ryan comes a gripping story about familial love, loyalty, and identity. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Schneider Family Book Award Winner

Pura Belpré Honor Book

"Engrossing." -- New York Times

Naomi Soledad León Outlaw has had a lot to contend with in her young life, her name for one. Then there are her clothes (sewn in polyester by Gram), her difficulty speaking up, and her status at school as "nobody special." But according to Gram's self-prophecies, most problems can be overcome with positive thinking. Luckily, Naomi also has her carving to strengthen her spirit. And life with Gram and her little brother, Owen, is happy and peaceful. That is, until their mother reappears for the first time in seven years, stirring up all sorts of questions and challenging Naomi to discover who she really is.



Review Quotes




Awards and Praise for Becoming Naomi León: A Pura Belpré Honor BookAmericas Award, CommendedSchneider Family Book Award WinnerTomás Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award WinnerBook Sense Book of the Year Award Honor Book"Engrossing." -- The New York Times"Ryan's sure-handed storytelling and affection for her characters convey a clear sense of Naomi's triumph, as she becomes "who I was meant to be." Kirkus Reviews, starred review"Once again, Ryan crystallizes the essence of settings and characters through potent, economic prose... a tender tale about family love and loyalty." Publishers Weekly, starred review"Exciting...heartbreaking." -- Booklist"[Becoming Naomi León] has its own uniquely affecting emotional core." -- The Horn Book "Ryan has written a moving book about family dynamics. While she explores the youngsters' Mexican heritage and gives a vivid picture of life in and the art of Oaxaca, her story is universal, showing the strong bonds and love that make up an extended family. All of the characters are well drawn, and readers will share Naomi's fear until the judge makes the final decision about her future." -- School Library Journal "Symbols abound, and readers of all ages will enjoy reading of Naomi's transformation and triumph." -- VOYA



About the Author



Pam Muñoz Ryan is the recipient of the Newbery Honor Medal and the Kirkus Prize for her New York Times bestselling novel, Echo, as well as the NEA's Human and Civil Rights Award and the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award for multicultural literature for her body of work. She is the 2018 U.S. nominee for the international Hans Christian Andersen Award. Her celebrated novels, Mañanaland, Echo, Esperanza Rising, The Dreamer, Riding Freedom, Becoming Naomi Léon, and Paint the Wind, have received countless accolades, among them two Pura Belpré Awards, a NAPPA Gold Award, a Jane Addams Children's Book Award, and two Américas Awards. Her acclaimed picture books include Amelia and Eleanor Go for a Ride and When Marian Sang, both illustrated by Brian Selznick, and Tony Baloney, illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham, as well as a beginning reader series featuring Tony Baloney. Ryan lives near San Diego, California, with her family.
Dimensions (Overall): 7.56 Inches (H) x 5.28 Inches (W) x .69 Inches (D)
Weight: .39 Pounds
Suggested Age: 9-12 Years
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks
Format: Paperback
Author: Pam Muñoz Ryan
Language: English
Street Date: October 1, 2005
TCIN: 11824679
UPC: 9780439269971
Item Number (DPCI): 248-25-4547
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.69 inches length x 5.28 inches width x 7.56 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.39 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads