Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueLGBTQIA+ ShopWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Curses and Other Buried Things - by Caroline George (Hardcover)

Curses and Other Buried Things - by  Caroline George (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Curses and Other Buried Things - by  Caroline George (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$19.49 sale price when purchased online
$19.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Blood holds all kinds of curses.Seven generations of women in Susana Prather's family have been lost to the Georgia swamp behind her house.
  • 384 Pages
  • Young Adult Fiction, Social Themes

Description



About the Book



Susana Prather wants one thing: to avoid becoming like the mother who abandoned her, no matter the cost. But when her eighteenth birthday triggers a generational curse, prompting Susana to sleepwalk into the Okefenokee Swamp behind her grandparents' house, she realizes the roots of her family tree run deeper than she believed . . .



Book Synopsis



Blood holds all kinds of curses.

Seven generations of women in Susana Prather's family have been lost to the Georgia swamp behind her house. The morning after her eighteenth birthday, she awakens soaked with water, with no memory of sleepwalking. No matter how she tries to stop it, she's pulled from her safe bed night after night, haunted by her own family history and legacy. Now, the truth feels unavoidable: it's only a matter of time before she loses her mind and the swamp becomes her grave.

Unless she can figure out how to break the curse.

When she isn't sleepwalking, she's dreaming of her great-great-great-great-grandmother, Suzanna Yawn, who set the curse in motion in 1855. Her ancestor's life bears such similarity to her own that it might hold the key she seeks. Or it might only foretell tragedy.

As Susana seeks solutions in the past and the present, family members hold secrets tighter to their chests, friends grow distant, and old flames threaten to sputter and die. But Susana has something no one else has been able to seize: the unflagging belief that all curses can be broken and that love can help a new future begin.

Based on her own family history, award-winning novelist Caroline George's latest novel is a staggeringly beautiful work of hope.

  • Stand-alone young adult contemporary Southern gothic
  • Perfect for fans of Wilder Girls, Dark and Shallow Lies, and Swamplandia!
  • Book length: 97,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs



Review Quotes




'A teenager strives to break a generations-old curse in which the firstborn daughter always meets a tragic end in this propulsive story by George (The Summer We Forgot) . . . Sumptuous, dark details increase the creeping atmosphere of this judiciously rendered psychological exploration of blame, healing, and trauma.'--Publisher's Weekly

'This story shows the power of both forgiveness and hatred . . . If you are looking for a tale with more depth, this is the book for you.'--Seattle Book Review
Dimensions (Overall): 8.4 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inches (W) x 1.3 Inches (D)
Weight: .9 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13-17 Years
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Number of Pages: 384
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Theme: Emotions & Feelings
Format: Hardcover
Author: Caroline George
Language: English
Street Date: October 10, 2023
TCIN: 88113843
UPC: 9780785236245
Item Number (DPCI): 247-45-2821
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.3 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy