Day Zero - (Day Zero Duology) by Kelly Devos (Hardcover)

Day Zero - (Day Zero Duology) by  Kelly Devos (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Day Zero - (Day Zero Duology) by  Kelly Devos (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$17.29When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 13 Years

Number of Pages: 432

Format: Hardcover

Series Title: Day Zero Duology

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Science Fiction

Publisher: Inkyard Press

Author: Kelly Devos

Language: English

Street Date: November 12, 2019
TCIN: 76944092
UPC: 9781335008480
Item Number (DPCI): 247-03-1196
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she's sure will never come. She's an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she's ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favourite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby. But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx's dad stands accused of triggering the chaos. In a desperate attempt to evade paramilitary forces and vigilantes, Jinx and her siblings find Toby and make a break for Mexico. With seemingly the whole world working against them, they've got to get along and search for the truth about the attacks - and about each other. But if they can survive, will there be anything left worth surviving for?



Book Synopsis



Don't miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane, featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer's Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.

If you're going through hell...keep going.

Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she's sure will never come. She's an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she's ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.

But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx's dad stands accused of triggering the chaos.

In a desperate attempt to evade paramilitary forces and vigilantes, Jinx and her siblings find Toby and make a break for Mexico. With seemingly the whole world working against them, they've got to get along and search for the truth about the attacks--and about each other. But if they can survive, will there be anything left worth surviving for?



Review Quotes




Day Zero is a fascinating, fast-paced thriller set in an all-too-believable near future. A riveting story full of twists and turns, a relatable, realistic heroine, and complex political action that leaves the reader thinking. Don't miss this memorable, refreshing book. -Adrianne Finlay, Author of Your One and Only

Gripping, bold, and infused with real heart, once again deVos delivers the kind of norm-bending, badass heroine teens need now more than ever. -Jessie Hilb, author of The Calculus of Change

A high-octane thrill ride through Jinx's evolution from a passive high schooler to a kick-ass political revolutionary bent on revenge and social change.-Laurie Forest, author of the Black Witch Chronicles

Day Zero is an ambitious, caffeine-infused buzz-ride! Jinx is an endearing heroine and her journey from passive teen to political revolutionary in a dangerous time is poignant and powerful.-Nancy Richardson Fischer, author of The Speed of Falling Objects

In this gripping tale of heart and adventure, deVos propels her characters into a breathless quest edged by thoughtful commentary on the nature of humanity. Day Zero is a book placed in a dystopian future, with true relevance to today.-Laura Taylor Namey, author of The Library of Lost Things

A compelling, action-packed story about family ties, politics, and revolution.-Kirkus Reviews

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.44 inches length x 5.81 inches width x 8.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads