Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueLGBTQIA+ ShopWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Delilah Green Doesn't Care - by Ashley Herring Blake (Paperback)

Delilah Green Doesn't Care - by  Ashley Herring Blake (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Delilah Green Doesn't Care - by  Ashley Herring Blake (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$11.29 sale price when purchased online
$18.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • A clever and steamy queer romantic comedy about taking chances and accepting love--with all its complications--from the author of Astrid Parker Doesn't Fail.
  • About the Author: Ashley Herring Blake is the author of the young adult novels Suffer Love, How to Make a Wish, and Girl Made of Stars (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), and the middle grade novels Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James, and Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea (Little, Brown).
  • 400 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Romance

Description



About the Book



Includes an excerpt from Astrid Parker doesn't fail.



Book Synopsis



A clever and steamy queer romantic comedy about taking chances and accepting love--with all its complications--from the author of Astrid Parker Doesn't Fail.

Delilah Green swore she would never go back to Bright Falls--nothing is there for her but memories of a lonely childhood where she was little more than a burden to her cold and distant stepfamily. Her life is in New York, with her photography career finally gaining steam and her bed never empty. Sure, it's a different woman every night, but that's just fine with her.

When Delilah's estranged stepsister, Astrid, pressures her into photographing her wedding with a guilt trip and a five-figure check, Delilah finds herself back in the godforsaken town that she used to call home. She plans to breeze in and out, but then she sees Claire Sutherland, one of Astrid's stuck-up besties, and decides that maybe there's some fun (and a little retribution) to be had in Bright Falls, after all.

Having raised her eleven-year-old daughter mostly on her own while dealing with her unreliable ex and running a bookstore, Claire Sutherland depends upon a life without surprises. And Delilah Green is an unwelcome surprise...at first. Though they've known each other for years, they don't really know each other--so Claire is unsettled when Delilah figures out exactly what buttons to push. When they're forced together during a gauntlet of wedding preparations--including a plot to save Astrid from her horrible fiancé--Claire isn't sure she has the strength to resist Delilah's charms. Even worse, she's starting to think she doesn't want to...



Review Quotes




"Blake captures all the complications of family, friendship, and romance with humor and heart."--Kirkus

"A fun hometown romance, planned as the start of a series of Bright Falls-set queer romances."--Library Journal, starred review

"There's family drama, trauma, childhood memories, love, romance, diverse relationships between not just the main couple, but everyone in the book, that'll have you on the edge of your seat. The novel also does a great job of inputting a queer love story in the middle of an enticing read."--USA Today

"Delilah Green Doesn't Care is a hot, frothy romcom with a relatable heart beating at its centre. I loved every hilarious character, every outrageous shenanigan - and most of all, I loved Delilah Green. I can't wait for the rest of the series!"--Talia Hibbert, New York Times bestselling author of Act Your Age, Eve Brown

"A truly exquisite romance about second chances, new beginnings, and the fragile joy of letting people in. I can't even count the number of gorgeous lines I highlighted. The setting, the scheming, the spice--Ashley Herring Blake paints every scene with a lyrical, tender brush. I'm wildly in love with this book."--Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Weather Girl

"A classic in the making, Ashely's adult debut is a warm welcome home from the first page. A swoon-worthy, laugh-out-loud romp of a romance, this rom-com deserves to be amongst romantic titans like You've Got Mail, Breakfast at Tiffany's and Sleepless in Seattle."--Kosoko Jackson, author of I'm So Not Over You

"A spectacular debut brimming with yearning, swooning, and healing. Delilah Green Doesn't Care reads the way realizing your crush likes you back feels. Ashley Herring Blake is a romance star on the rise."--Rosie Danan, national bestselling author of The Roommate

"Delilah Green Doesn't Care is the dreamy, steamy, utterly satisfying answer to your craving for an outcast-and-former-mean-girl romance, with complicated step-family relationships thrown in for extra delight. Ashley Herring Blake draws her characters with such beautiful, loving depth, and infinite compassion for the many ways relatives and friends can both hurt and heal each other. And let's not forget the snappy banter and seriously scorching chemistry; you'll need a very cold shower after this read!"--Lana Harper, author of Payback's a Witch

"Charming and entertaining, Delilah Green Doesn't Care entrances the reader with the redemptive power of love. Blake's masterful blend of sexual tension and growing affection will have readers swooning."--Karelia Stetz-Waters, author of Satisfaction Guaranteed

"Blake's well-crafted adult debut Delilah Green Doesn't Care combines everything you could want in a sapphic romance--snark, steam and sweetness--with an intricate exploration of what it means to love someone and how we choose to show it, all spearheaded by its unforgettable protagonist Delilah who you'll simultaneously want to be and be with forever. Fans of Alexandria Bellefleur and Talia Hibbert won't want to miss out on this emotional extravaganza." --The Nerd Daily

"This tender story of growth and change is about becoming a person your younger self can be proud of... Blake's impressive talent is on display on every page, especially when it comes to tracking the evolution of her central couple's relationship."--BookPage, starred review

"This is a cute rom-com type story for the LGBTQ set, with two heroines that will entertain and readers will want to see end up happily ever after."--Parkersburg News and Sentinel

"Blake's smart and sexy first foray into adult after years of publishing gorgeous Sapphic middle grade and young adult."--Buzzfeed

"What an absolute joy to read! Snarky, steamy, and swoony in equal measure, I never wanted this book to end, but there's an easy momentum to Blake's writing that made it impossible to put down."--Meryl Wilsner, author of Something to Talk About

"Delilah Green Doesn't Care is a steamy romp with a warm heart at its center."--Popsugar

"Ashley Herring Blake is an extraordinary writer."--Autostraddle

"Smart and sexy."--Buzzfeed

"After you take a moment to take in this gorgeous cover, you're going to want to immediately pick up this debut."--Cosmopolitan



About the Author



Ashley Herring Blake is the author of the young adult novels Suffer Love, How to Make a Wish, and Girl Made of Stars (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), and the middle grade novels Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James, and Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea (Little, Brown). You can find her on Twitter and Instagram at @ashleyhblake and on the web at ashleyherringblake.com. She lives in Georgia.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.6 Inches (W) x 1.2 Inches (D)
Weight: .78 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Romance
Publisher: Berkley Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Ashley Herring Blake
Language: English
Street Date: February 22, 2022
TCIN: 86289273
UPC: 9780593336403
Item Number (DPCI): 247-09-7430
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.2 inches length x 5.6 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.78 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 5 reviews
100% would recommend
3 recommendations

Take Me Away Delilah Green

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Kristen - 1 year ago
A prefect adult queer romantic comedy book. I could easily see this being made into a movie. It’s an easy fun read with enough s3xual tension and s3xy scenes to keep you wanting more. It was just what I needed when I was feeling crap about the anti LGBTQ+ politics. This book transported me to another world where queer people were just living their lives.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Loved it

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Niseysopp07 - 1 year ago
I read it and enjoyed the audio book as well love it going to add the others to my shelf.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Im still thinking about this book a week later

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Rhi - 2 years ago
3/5 Steam Sapphic & Bisexual Rep; Alternating 3rd Person; Step-Sisters BFF, Childhood Enemy, & One Bed Trope I’ve heard so many amazing things about book and I am SO HAPPY to report that it’s worth the hype!!! I could probably gosh about this book all day long but I’ll sum it down into great banter, an amazing friend group, the perfect balance of comedy/depth/steam, and feminism for the win!!! I’m not a big laugher, but this one had me laughing out loud at a couple points. If you’re looking so great romcom to read, I HIGHLY recommend checking this one out!
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy