Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Hate to Fake It to You - by Amanda Sellet (Paperback)

Hate to Fake It to You - by  Amanda Sellet (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Hate to Fake It to You - by  Amanda Sellet (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$17.99 sale price when purchased online
$18.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • A waitress masquerading as an influencer and a wildlife photographer are on a collision course with romance--and chaos--in Hate to Fake It to You, a zany modern twist on a screwball comedy classic about figuring out what you really want--by pretending to be someone you're not.
  • About the Author: AMANDA SELLET is a former journalist and the author of romcoms for teens and adults, including By the Book, which Booklist described in a starred review as, "impossible to read without laughing out loud.
  • 336 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Romance

Description



About the Book



"A waitress masquerading as an influencer and a wildlife photographer are on a collision course with romance-and chaos-in Hate to Fake It to You, a zany modern twist on a screwball comedy classic about figuring out what you really want-by pretending to be someone you're not. Everyone gets a glow-up on social media, but Libby Lane's online persona is the fakest of fakes. Cooked up as a joke by Libby and her best friends, Lillibet is the affluent, healthier-than-thou opposite of her glam-free life on the side of Oahu most tourists never see. The phony fronting is all in good fun, until a real influencer stumbles onto the Love, Lillibet Instagram feed and starts making waves. When Hildy Johnson, the ambitious junior member of a media dynasty, travels to Hawaii to talk to Lillibet about parlaying her lifestyle brand into a job, Libby and her friends scramble to take the make-believe to a new level. Complicating the charade even further is Hildy's handsome companion, a wildlife photographer named Jefferson Jones, whose keen eye sees more than he lets on. Between the pretend husband, borrowed goats, a made-up holiday, and Libby's very real attraction to Jefferson, it's anyone's guess which lie will blow their cover first . . . especially since Lillibet isn't the only one with something to hide"--



Book Synopsis



A waitress masquerading as an influencer and a wildlife photographer are on a collision course with romance--and chaos--in Hate to Fake It to You, a zany modern twist on a screwball comedy classic about figuring out what you really want--by pretending to be someone you're not.

Everyone gets a glow-up on social media, but Libby Lane's online persona is the fakest of fakes. Cooked up as a joke by Libby and her best friends, Lillibet is the affluent, healthier-than-thou opposite of her glam-free life on the side of Oahu most tourists never see. The phony fronting is all in good fun, until a real influencer stumbles onto the Love, Lillibet Instagram feed and starts making waves.

When Hildy Johnson, the ambitious junior member of a media dynasty, travels to Hawaii to talk to Lillibet about parlaying her lifestyle brand into a job, Libby and her friends scramble to take the make-believe to a new level. Complicating the charade even further is Hildy's handsome companion, a wildlife photographer named Jefferson Jones, whose keen eye sees more than he lets on.

Between the pretend husband, borrowed goats, a made-up holiday, and Libby's very real attraction to Jefferson, it's anyone's guess which lie will blow their cover first . . . especially since Lillibet isn't the only one with something to hide.



Review Quotes




One of Book Riot's "Growing Up: YA Authors with Debut Adult Novels in 2024"

"In her first romance book geared to adults, Sellet (Belittled Women) captures the banter and antics of an old Hollywood screwball romantic comedy while bringing the North Shore of Oahu to life. A perfect beach read."--Library Journal (Starred Review)

"Inspired by the screwball comedies of Hollywood's golden age, this madcap rom-com offers plenty of hijinks . . . the Hawaiian setting and light-hearted tone may appeal to readers looking for a beachy romance."--Booklist

"Hate to Fake It to You has some of the funniest dialogue I've ever read, characters who are easy to fall in love with (even when they're running full-tilt into larger-than-life lies), sharp writing, and a beautiful setting. I was having so much fun laughing that I could have happily turned the page after the last chapter and kept going for another 600 pages. I absolutely LOVE this screwball romantic comedy and cannot wait to read Sellet's next books in the series!"--Sarah Hogle, author of Just Like Magic

"Amanda Sellet's adult romance debut How to Fake It to You hit every single comedic note for me. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, it begs the question: if everyone knows social media is fake anyway, what's the harm in actually faking it? Sellet delivers on the promise of the premise, from awkward self-portraits to fake Irish housekeepers to wayward goats to the complication of developing very real feelings for the person you didn't see coming. I haven't laughed out loud this much from a book in a long time."--Alicia Thompson, bestselling author of Love in the Time of Serial Killers

"A delightfully hilarious read, Hate to Fake It to You is the perfect book companion for readers seeking a rom-com with heart and wit. Libby's appeal is undeniable and will have you cheering for her (and Jefferson!) along with the rest of Sellet's gloriously madcap cast of characters."--Lily Chu, author of The Stand-In and The Comeback

"Quirky, original, and laugh out loud funny, Hate to Fake It to You is romantic comedy about making hard (sometimes bad at the time) choices to get what you want in love and life, and how found family sticks with you through all the ups and downs of adulting. To sum it up in three words: WHAT A HOOT!"--Suzanne Park, author of So We Meet Again and The Do-Over

"Amanda Sellet is a comic genius. Hate to Fake It to You is quite possibly the funniest book I have ever read. Whip-smart humor paired with hilarious hijinks reeled me in from the beginning, but it was the authentic interactions of the lovable characters that kept me glued to the page. I absolutely loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series."--Megan Bannen, author of The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy




About the Author



AMANDA SELLET is a former journalist and the author of romcoms for teens and adults, including By the Book, which Booklist described in a starred review as, "impossible to read without laughing out loud." She loves old movies, baked goods, and embarrassing her teen daughter. Hate to Fake It to You is her adult debut.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.19 Inches (H) x 5.67 Inches (W) x .94 Inches (D)
Weight: .7 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 336
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Romance
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Theme: Romantic Comedy
Format: Paperback
Author: Amanda Sellet
Language: English
Street Date: July 16, 2024
TCIN: 89725282
UPC: 9781250906243
Item Number (DPCI): 247-38-9799
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.94 inches length x 5.67 inches width x 8.19 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.7 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy