Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Here Comes Santa Cat - by Deborah Underwood (Paperback)

Here Comes Santa Cat - by  Deborah Underwood (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Here Comes Santa Cat - by  Deborah Underwood (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$7.39 sale price when purchased online
$9.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Just in time for the holidays--here comes Santa Cat!
  • 3-5 Years
  • 6.9" x 7.9" Paperback
  • 88 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Holidays & Celebrations

Description



Book Synopsis



Just in time for the holidays--here comes Santa Cat! From the New York Times bestselling author of Interstellar Cinderalla, The Quiet Book, and Here Comes the Easter Cat comes a hilarious holiday adventure that's perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Elephant and Piggie, and holiday gift-giving.

Christmas is coming, and Cat has a hunch he's not on Santa's "nice" list. But Cat knows what to do--dress up as Santa! What better way to be sure he gets a present? "Instead of being Santa," the narrator gently suggests, "why don't you just try to be nice?" Doubtful at first, Cat quickly warms to the holiday spirit, but his attempts at gift-giving, caroling, and tree-decorating go hilariously awry. There are wonders still in store, though, and this holiday, Cat might surprise even himself with his capacity for generosity. He may also get a visit from the man in the red suit and an extraordinary surprise of his own. Readers of all ages will delight in this unsentimental holiday treat with a surprisingly sweet center.

"There is a sweetness to this story that illustrates the joy of sharing in a manner that is refreshingly free of goody-goody or didactic sentiment. . . . Get yourself--and all the little ones in your life--a copy of Here Comes Santa Cat, and you will all treasure it for years to come."--Katrina Fleming for OurHenHouse.org

"Excellent . . . An ideal holiday pick for the naughty and nice alike." --Publishers Weekly, starred review



Review Quotes




Praise for Here Comes Santa Cat

"Will keep kids giggling. Underwood and Rueda's spot-on use of comedic timing, page turns, white space, and layout creates another holiday winner." --Horn Book

"Loads of clever fun . . . Cat, boldly standing out on white pages, eventually makes for an excellent holiday hero." --Booklist

"Readers will enjoy the playful exchange between the narrator and Cat, the expressive full-color ink and colored-pencil cartoonlike illustrations, and the nicely resolved ending. Great for reading one-on-one." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Excellent . . . An ideal holiday pick for the naughty and nice alike." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Cat's expressive wordless communications and the narrator's voice--by turns kindly, jovial, and exasperated--are as diverting as they were in the first tale. . . . Kids will easily relate to Cat's childlike demeanor and his grumpiness at the thought of going presentless on Christmas. . . . An excellent selection for holiday gift-giving." --BCCB

"Quite a charming character, that Cat." --Kirkus

There is a sweetness to this story that illustrates the joy of sharing in a manner that is refreshingly free of goody-goody or didactic sentiment. . . . Get yourself--and all the little ones in your life--a copy of Here Comes Santa Cat, and you will all treasure it for years to come." --Katrina Fleming for OurHenHouse.org


Praise for Here Comes the Easter Cat

"Underwood uses a clever narrative technique to tell her light-as-air story." --The New York Times

"Will be enjoyed in storytimes as well as one-on-one. The combination of witty text, plentiful white space, and brilliant images make this a truly winning book." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Utterly endearing." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Cat's signs and facial expressions are cheekily amusing, sometimes contradicting the narrator (he holds up a poster of hearts while sticking out his tongue in disgust as the narrator states, "Well, of course everyone loves the Easter Bunny"). Add it to an Easter or cat storytime lineup, or tuck it into a cat-lover's Easter basket." --BCCB, starred review




About the Author



Deborah Underwood (www.deborahunderwoodbooks.com) is the author of Here Comes the Easter Cat and the New York Times bestseller The Quiet Book. She lives in San Francisco, CA.

Claudia Rueda (www.claudiarueda.com) is a full-time illustrator and lives in Colombia.

Dimensions (Overall): 6.9 Inches (H) x 7.9 Inches (W) x .5 Inches (D)
Weight: .45 Pounds
Suggested Age: 3-5 Years
Sub-Genre: Holidays & Celebrations
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Number of Pages: 88
Publisher: Puffin Books
Theme: Christmas & Advent
Format: Paperback
Author: Deborah Underwood
Language: English
Street Date: October 4, 2016
TCIN: 51750480
UPC: 9780425287958
Item Number (DPCI): 248-32-2388
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.5 inches length x 7.9 inches width x 6.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.45 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
5.0 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews
100% would recommend
2 recommendations

Love the whole series of Here Comes

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
mneilso - 1 year ago
Cutest series. Great illustrations and story line. Kids enjoy reading them year round.
Did you find this review helpful?

Whitty and adorable

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Ninni - 3 years ago
If you enjoy silent cartoons/movies, you’ll love this book. Santa Cat is one funny little guy. He communicates via signs and body language. A guaranteed smile.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy