Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Hollow City (Hardcover) by Ransom Riggs

Hollow City (Hardcover) by Ransom Riggs - image 1 of 1
Hollow City (Hardcover) by Ransom Riggs - image 1 of 1
$11.86 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



Having escaped Miss Peregrine's island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London (circa 1940), the "peculiar" capital of the world.



Book Synopsis



The #1 New York Times best-selling series.

Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them--but she's trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.



Review Quotes



"I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic."--USAToday.com

"A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first."--Hypable

"Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow "peculiars" as they travel through time to war-torn London."--Dan Kois, Slate

"A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness."--PopMatters

"A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children."--Boston Globe

"What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions."--Virginian-Pilot

"Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more."--Shelf Awareness for Readers

"A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar."--Kirkus Reviews

"New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends."--School Library Journal

"Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style."--Library Journal Xpress Review

Praise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

"A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story."--John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns

"Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children."--CNN

"Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story."--Associated Press

"I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them."--Florence of Florence + The Machine

"[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs."--USA Today Pop Candy

"With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+"--Entertainment Weekly

"Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. Riggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies."--People

"You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself."--Seventeen

"This peculiar parable is pure perfection."--Justine magazine

"One of the coolest, creepiest YA books."--PopSugar



About The Author



Ransom Riggs is the author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Quirk, 2011), a New York Times best seller, as well as its best-selling sequels Hollow City (Quirk, 2013) and Library of Souls (Quirk, 2015). He lives in Santa Monica, CA, with his wife.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.5 Inches (W) x 1.2 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.25 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13-19 Years
Number of Pages: 396
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres, Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Science Fiction + Fantasy + Magic, General, Horror + Ghost Stories
Publisher: Quirk Books
Format: Hardcover
Author: Ransom Riggs
Language: English
Street Date: January 14, 2014
TCIN: 14898815
UPC: 9781594746123
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-0781
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 1 inches width x 1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

The best!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Anna - 9 years ago
It really ties in to the first book! And it always keeps me on my toes.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy