Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

In the Shadow Garden - by Liz Parker (Paperback)

In the Shadow Garden - by  Liz Parker (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
In the Shadow Garden - by  Liz Parker (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$9.92 sale price when purchased online
$15.99 list price

About this item

Description



About the Book



"There's something magical about Yarrow, Kentucky. The three empathic witches of the Haywood family are known for their shadow garden-from strawberries that taste like chocolate to cherry tomatoes imbued with the flavors of basil and oregano. Their magic can cure any heartache, and the fruits of their garden bring a special quality to the local bourbon distillery. On one day every year, a shot of Bonner bourbon will make your worst memory disappear. But the Haywoods will never forget the Bonners' bitter betrayal. Twenty years ago, the town gave up more than one memory; they forgot an entire summer. One person died. One person disappeared. And no one has any recollection of either. As events from that fateful summer start to come to light, there must be a reckoning between the rival Haywood and Bonner families. But untangling the deep roots of this town's terrible secrets will expose more than they could ever anticipate about love, treachery, and the true nature of their power"--



Book Synopsis



The richly atmospheric and luminous debut about three generations of women whose magic is as much a part of life as love, death, and the rich, dark earth beneath their feet--perfect for fans of Practical Magic and Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe.

There's something magical about Yarrow, Kentucky. The three empathic witches of the Haywood family are known for their shadow garden--from strawberries that taste like chocolate to cherry tomatoes imbued with the flavors of basil and oregano. Their magic can cure any heartache, and the fruits of their garden bring a special quality to the local bourbon distillery. On one day every year, a shot of Bonner bourbon will make your worst memory disappear. But the Haywoods will never forget the Bonners' bitter betrayal.

Twenty years ago, the town gave up more than one memory; they forgot an entire summer. One person died. One person disappeared. And no one has any recollection of either.

As events from that fateful summer start to come to light, there must be a reckoning between the rival Haywood and Bonner families. But untangling the deep roots of this town's terrible secrets will expose more than they could ever imagine about love, treachery, and the true nature of their power.



Review Quotes




"The perfect blend of magic and mystery."--Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author



About the Author



Liz Parker loves gardening, a good cup of tea, and the kind of story that sinks it hooks into you and refuses to let go. She grew up with her time split between Tennessee and Nevada, giving her a love for the kind of magic you can only find on a hot summer night when the fireflies float drunk on humidity or beneath a cloudless desert sky lit by stars and possibility. Today, Liz lives in California with her husband, dog, and too many houseplants to name (though she could if you asked).

You can find her online, at:

LizParkerwrites.com
Instagram: @LizParkerWrites
Twitter: @LizParkerWrites
Pinterest: @LizParkerWrites
TikTok: @LizParkerWrites

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 320
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Magical Realism
Publisher: Forever
Format: Paperback
Author: Liz Parker
Language: English
Street Date: September 13, 2022
TCIN: 85767826
UPC: 9781538708798
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-4137
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.25 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews
100% would recommend
2 recommendations

Amazing read!!!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Mandie - 2 years ago
This book was such a fun and entertaining read. The plot twists and turns kept you guessing. The audio book was great to listen to.
Did you find this review helpful?

A wonderful magical book

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Dailyegg - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
In Yarrow, Kentucky it is known as a bourbon town. The Bonner family owns it. Also in the town lives another family The Haywood's. They have always lived in the town. They are known as healers. They can take away pain, anxiety and grief and then they place it into the garden. The garden feeds from it. Kaden Bonner returns to town to attend his father's funeral and no one remembers him. This story was captivating. I loved it so much. I loved that there was lots of romance especially with an older couple in their 40's. The families and the grudges between families and of course the magic. Liz Parker does an amazing job weaving such a magical tale. I hope she continues to write.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy