Loading, please wait...

Irishman's Daughter - by V. S. Alexander (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.1 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inch (W) x 1.3 Inch (D)

Weight: .85 Pounds

Number of Pages: 406

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Women, Historical, Sagas

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Kensington Pub Corp

Author: V. S. Alexander

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: General

Language: English

Street Date: February 26, 2019
TCIN: 54337322
UPC: 9781496712295
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-8156
Origin: Made in the USA

Description

From the acclaimed author of The Magdalen Girls and The Taster comes a powerful, unforgettable novel of strength and resilience, set against the backdrop of the Irish famine.

Ireland, 1845. To Briana Walsh, no place on earth is more beautiful than Carrowteige, County Mayo, with its sloping fields and rocky cliffs perched above the wild Atlantic. The small farms that surround the centuries-old Lear House are managed by her father, agent to the wealthy, reckless Sir Thomas Blakely. Tenant farmers sell the oats and rye they grow to pay rent to Sir Thomas, surviving on the potatoes that flourish in the remaining scraps of land. But when the potato crop falls prey to a devastating blight, families Briana has known all her life are left with no food, no resources, and no mercy from the English landowner, who seems indifferent to everything except profit.

Rory Caulfield, the hard-working young farmer Briana hopes to marry, shares the locals' despair--and their anger. There's talk of violent reprisals against the callous gentry and their agents. Briana's studious older sister, Lucinda, dreams of a future far beyond Mayo. But even as hunger and disease settle over the country, killing and displacing millions, Briana knows she must find a way to guide her family through one of Ireland's darkest
hours--toward hope, love, and a new beginning.


Praise for V.S. Alexander's The Taster

"This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah."
--Booklist

"The 'taster's' story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein's Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander."
--Library Journal

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, California, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.