EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleLunar New YearCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Maxi's Secrets : Or What You Can Learn from a Dog (Reprint) (Paperback) (Lynn Plourde)

Maxi's Secrets : Or What You Can Learn from a Dog (Reprint) (Paperback) (Lynn Plourde) - image 1 of 1
Maxi's Secrets : Or What You Can Learn from a Dog (Reprint) (Paperback) (Lynn Plourde) - image 1 of 1
$8.99 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



When a big, lovable, does-it-her-way dog wiggles her way into the heart of a loudmouth pip-squeak of a boy, wonderful things happen that help him become a bigger, better person. This powerful debut is relatable, funny, bittersweet, and full of heart.



Book Synopsis



When a BIG, lovable, does-it-her-way dog wiggles her way into the heart of a loudmouth pipsqueak of a boy, wonderful things happen that help him become a bigger, better person. Perfect for fans of Wonder and Because of Winn-Dixie.

Timminy knows that moving to a new town just in time to start middle school when you are perfect bully bait is less than ideal. But he gets a great consolation prize in Maxi--a gentle giant of a dog who the family quickly discovers is deaf. Timminy is determined to do all he can to help Maxi--after all, his parents didn't return him because he was a runt. But when the going gets rough for Timminy, who spends a little too much time getting shoved into lockers at school, Maxi ends up being the one to help him--along with their neighbor, Abby, who doesn't let her blindness define her and bristles at Timminy's "poor-me" attitude. It turns out there's more to everyone than what's on the surface, whether it comes to Abby, Maxi, or even Timminy himself.



Review Quotes



"The secrets are little gems, providing food for thought . . . The characters are fully developed, and the delicate subjects of bullying and disabilities are dealt with deftly and with humor. The story would make a great read-aloud, as Plourde has created humorous and believable characters that readers will be cheering for . . . Will have wide appeal to dog lovers and those looking for a feel-good tale of overcoming adversity."--School Library Journal

"Plourde's skillful blend of humor, pathos, and wisdom creates a story that begs to be shared with middle-grade students, who will fall in love with a deaf dog, her steadfast owner, and the rest of the characters who populate the novel . . . A story of love and friendship that deserves to join the ranks of other unforgettable canines and their owners."--Booklist

"Timminy is a funny, personable narrator . . . A hopeful, satisfying conclusion. Bullying and disabilities are handled honestly . . . Perfect for reading aloud, any middle-level or younger student, especially dog lovers, will adore this humorous, heartwarming story of overcoming adversity."--Voice of Youth Advocates

"Timminy's coping strategies could help readers dealing with the loss of a pet . . . This earnest boy-and-his-dog tale makes a strong case for Secret No. 11: 'There's nothing so bad in the world that dog kisses won't make it better.'"--Kirkus Reviews

"Plourde clearly shows Maxi's remarkable influence on the lives of Timminy, his family, and his friends. This story is a tender reminder that perceived shortcomings don't define us and that the power of friendship can't be underestimated."--Publishers Weekly



About The Author



Lynn Plourde (www.lynnplourde.com) is the author of 29 picture books, and Maxi's Secrets is her debut middle-grade novel. A former speech-language therapist, she worked in public schools for twenty-one years. She was born and raised in Maine, where she still lives, and she loves spending time outdoors snowshoeing, walking, kayaking, and gardening.
Dimensions (Overall): 7.7 Inches (H) x 5 Inch (W) x .8 Inch (D)
Weight: .45 Pounds
Suggested Age: 9-12 Years
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Disabilities & Special Needs
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Format: Paperback
Author: Lynn Plourde
Language: English
Street Date: August 1, 2017
TCIN: 51991225
UPC: 9780399545689
Item Number (DPCI): 059-13-1258
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.1 inches length x 0.8 inches width x 7.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads