Loading, please wait...

No Ocean Too Wide - (McAlister Family) by Carrie Turansky (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Christian

Series Title: McAlister Family

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Multnomah Books

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: Historical

Author: Carrie Turansky

Language: English

Street Date: June 25, 2019
TCIN: 54425822
UPC: 9780525652939
Item Number (DPCI): 248-82-1462
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"In this historical adventure for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, the three youngest McAllister children are taken to Canada as British Home Children without their mother's knowledge or permission. The oldest McAllister sibling follows them across the Atlantic to search for them and bring them home. When Laura McAllister, a young lady's maid, learns her three siblings have been taken from their mother and emigrated to Canada without her mother's knowledge, Laura determines to search for them and reunite the family. But lack of funds and resistance from authorities push her to use a false name and take a position with a child emigration society to gain passage to Canada. Andrew Frasier, a wealthy young lawyer, is surprised to see his mother's former lady's maid on board ship escorting a group of child immigrants, especially when she uses a different name. Laura eventually convinces Andrew to help her search for her siblings and uncover the truth about the treatment of British Home Children. Romantic feelings grow between this unlikely couple, and though they have different backgrounds, they share a growing faith and desire to seek justice and relief for the children who are mistreated"--



Book Synopsis



Between the years of 1869 to 1939 more than 100,000 poor British children were sent across the ocean to Canada with the promise of a better life. Those who took them in to work as farm laborers or household servants were told they were orphans--but was that the truth?

After the tragic loss of their father, the McAlister family is living at the edge of the poorhouse in London in 1908, leaving their mother to scrape by for her three younger children, while oldest daughter, Laura, works on a large estate more than an hour away. When Edna McAlister falls gravely ill and is hospitalized, twins Katie and Garth and eight-year-old Grace are forced into an orphans' home before Laura is notified about her family's unfortunate turn of events in London. With hundreds of British children sent on ships to Canada, whether truly orphans or not, Laura knows she must act quickly. But finding her siblings and taking care of her family may cost her everything.

Andrew Fraser, a wealthy young British lawyer and heir to the estate where Laura is in service, discovers that this common practice of finding new homes for penniless children might not be all that it seems. Together Laura and Andrew form an unlikely partnership. Will they arrive in time? Will their friendship blossom into something more?

Inspired by true events, this moving novel follows Laura as she seeks to reunite her family and her siblings who, in their darkest hours, must cling to the words from Isaiah: Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God.



Review Quotes




"No Ocean Too Wide is a fine example of a historical novel performing one of its most important functions: bringing to life, honoring, and preserving a piece of history that might otherwise go forgotten. Turansky's novel is sure to capture readers with the heartache and hope entwining the McAlister family's story. Those interested in America's orphan trains will not want to miss this fresh new tale about the British Home Children."
--Jocelyn Green, award-winning author of Between Two Shores

"No Ocean Too Wide is a classic story of hope and perseverance for readers of Lisa Wingate, Cathy Gohlke, and Susan Anne Mason. Turansky excavates a little-known history to sew a tender narrative about the inherent desire for place and belonging. Beyond the well-drawn journey and the romantic connection slowly unfurling into deepest love, Turansky encourages the reader to seek the power of God's forgiveness in the hardest to reach places."
--Rachel McMillan, author of Murder in the City of Liberty

"No Ocean Too Wide is a compelling story of the McAlister family, tragically caught up in the British Home Children immigration schemes. The author, with her impressive attention to the historical facts of these programs, woven together with the trials and tribulations of Laura, Grace, Katie, and Garth, makes this book not only one of the most enjoyable BHC books I have read to date but also an important historical lesson for her readers."
--Lori Oschefski, CEO of the British Home Children Advocacy & Research Association

"If you enjoyed Christina Baker Kline's Orphan Train or Lisa Wingate's Before We Were Yours, you are sure to love Carrie Turansky's latest, No Ocean Too Wide. A treasure of a book. Not to be missed."
--Cathy Gohlke, Christy Award-winning author of The Medallion and Until We Find Home

"In this heartwarming story about the lengths to which family will go to protect one another, Turansky deftly weaves a tale that combines a sometimes shocking history with a tender romance. This beautiful story will breathe hope into readers' hearts."
--Roseanna M. White, best-selling author of the Ladies of the Manor and Shadows Over England series

"No Ocean Too Wide is Carrie Turansky at her finest, as she weaves rich historical details and engaging characters with the heart-wrenching complexities surrounding the emigration of British Home Children in the early 1900s. I thoroughly enjoyed this glimpse into English and Canadian history, with its echoes of the trials faced by orphans in books such as Anne of Green Gables, and the strong message of faith and trust in the heavenly Father who never abandons us."
--Carolyn Miller, award-winning author of the Regency Brides historical romance series



About the Author



CARRIE TURANSKY is an award-winning author of twenty novels and novellas. She has won the ACFW Carol Award, the Crystal Globe Award, and the International Digital Award, and was a finalist for the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award and the Maggie Award of Excellence. A prolific writer of contemporary and historical romance, women's fiction, short stories, articles, and devotionals, Carrie lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott. They have five adult children and six grandchildren.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.65 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars with 9 reviews
100% would recommend
8 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.