Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Ocean's Godori - by Elaine U Cho (Hardcover)

Ocean's Godori - by  Elaine U Cho (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Ocean's Godori - by  Elaine U Cho (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$19.19 sale price when purchased online
$28.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • An Indie Next Pick - An Amazon Editors' Pick - Most Anticipated by Barnes & Noble, Lit Hub, Debutiful, and Gizmodo Becky Chambers meets Firefly in this big-hearted Korean space opera debut about a disgraced space pilot struggling to find her place while fighting to protect the people she loves.
  • About the Author: Elaine U. Cho is a writer who lives in Seattle.
  • 352 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Science Fiction

Description



About the Book



"Ocean Yoon has never felt very Korean, even if she is descended from a long line of haenyeo, Jeju Island's beloved female divers. She doesn't like soju, constantly misses cultural references, and despite her love of the game, people still say that she doesn't play Hwatu like a Korean. Ocean's also persona non grata at the Alliance, Korea's solar system-dominating space agency, since a mission went awry and she earned a reputation for being a little too quick with her gun. When her best friend, Teo, second son of the Anand Tech empire, is framed for murdering his family, Ocean and her misfit crewmates are pushed to the forefront of a high-stakes ideological conflict. But dodging bullets and winning space chases may be the easiest part of what comes next"--



Book Synopsis



An Indie Next Pick - An Amazon Editors' Pick - Most Anticipated by Barnes & Noble, Lit Hub, Debutiful, and Gizmodo

Becky Chambers meets Firefly in this big-hearted Korean space opera debut about a disgraced space pilot struggling to find her place while fighting to protect the people she loves.

"A thrilling, transportive ride from a powerful and evocative new voice." --Lena Waithe, Rishi Rajani, and Naomi Funabashi, Hillman Grad Books

Ocean Yoon has never felt very Korean, even if she is descended from a long line of haenyeo, Jeju Island's beloved female divers. She doesn't like soju, constantly misses cultural references, and despite her love of the game, people still say that she doesn't play Hwatu like a Korean. Ocean's also persona non grata at the Alliance, Korea's solar system-dominating space agency, since a mission went awry and she earned a reputation for being a little too quick with her gun.

When her best friend, Teo, second son of the Anand Tech empire, is framed for murdering his family, Ocean and her misfit crewmates are pushed to the forefront of a high-stakes ideological conflict. But dodging bullets and winning space chases may be the easiest part of what comes next.

A thrilling adventure across the solar that delivers hyperkinetic action sequences and irresistible will-they-won't-they romance alongside its nuanced exploration of colonialism and capitalism, Ocean's Godori ultimately asks: What do we owe our past? How do we navigate our present while honoring the complicated facets of our identity? What can our future hold?



Review Quotes




An Indie Next Pick
An Amazon Editors' Pick
Most Anticipated by Barnes & Noble, Lit Hub, Debutiful, and Gizmodo

"Ocean's Godori navigates the space lane blazed by Becky Chambers and James S.A. Corey, but it manages to arrive at some exciting new destinations." --Charlie Jane Anders, Washington Post

"Space. Murder. Romance. Tradition and technology collide in this impressive debut, perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth." --B&N Reads, "Our Most Anticipated Books April 2024"

"Buckle up because this sci-fi will take you to places you never expected. Its plot moves with keen precision. The page-turner will bring readers to the edges of space while tackling the age of questions of who we are and what we are here for." --Debutiful

"Ocean's Godori is dark and dreamy and thrilling in a Blade Runner kind of way, but with an expansive love that thrums underneath the surface in the tradition of Becky Chambers. More, please." --Yume Kitasei, author of The Deep Sky

"The real strength of the book, however, is in the relationships between family and friends, the living and the dead, and the ways these threads of connection motivate and inform characters. This is an entertaining debut with satisfying cultural-background details for the characters and the world and plenty of room for development." --Booklist

"Full of slow-burn romance, tense negotiation, and close shaves. Every scene builds suspense and illuminates fascinating themes of exploitation, privilege, and identity, all held together by a sweet found family narrative. Ambitious and heartwarming, this is a treat." --Publishers Weekly

"Fun, full of both heart and plot." --Kirkus

"With its quirky band of spacefarers, this will appeal to fans of high-concept, high-appeal space opera." --Library Journal




About the Author



Elaine U. Cho is a writer who lives in Seattle. She has an MFA in flute performance from CalArts and has worked for several arts nonprofits (including ArtsWest and Seattle Music Partners). She's also a film critic for Mediaversity and former bookseller at Elliott Bay.
Dimensions (Overall): 9.0 Inches (H) x 6.0 Inches (W) x 1.5 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.35 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 352
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Science Fiction
Publisher: Zando - Hillman Grad Books
Theme: Space Opera
Format: Hardcover
Author: Elaine U Cho
Language: English
Street Date: April 23, 2024
TCIN: 89745540
UPC: 9781638930594
Item Number (DPCI): 247-11-0144
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.5 inches length x 6 inches width x 9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.35 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy