Father's Day GiftsBack to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Orphan's Tale - by Pam Jenoff (Paperback)

Orphan's Tale -  by Pam Jenoff (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Orphan's Tale -  by Pam Jenoff (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$9.60 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



Includes an excerpt from The Kommandant's girl.



Book Synopsis



Look for Pam Jenoff's new novel, The Woman with the Blue Star, an unforgettable story of courage and friendship during wartime.

A New York Times bestseller!

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival.

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another--or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Don't Miss Pam Jenoff's new novel, The Woman with the Blue Star, a riveting tale of unfathomable sacrifice and unlikely friendship during World War II.

Read these other sweeping epics from New York Times bestselling author Pam Jenoff.

The Lost Girls of Paris

The Ambassador's Daughter

The Diplomat's Wife

The Kommandant's Girl

The Last Summer at Chelsea Beach

The Winter Guest



Review Quotes



"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

"[A] heartbreaking and breathtaking story.... Jenoff's prose is evocative and compelling." --The Globe and Mail

"Christina Baker Kline's Orphan Train has collided with the circus caravan from Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants.... Jenoff has written a tribute to the human spirit that soars in the midst of epic despair." --NPR

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel." --Library Journal

"Beautiful, ethereal, and poignant, The Orphan's Tale is a novel you won't be able to put down." --Bustle

"A compelling and beautifully told story about the power of female friendship, with all its complications." --PopSugar

"The Orphan's Tale is not one person's story of abandonment but that of a generation lost to history. With a detailed command of circus life, unexpected twists and parallel narratives, Pam Jenoff uses the circus's mystique to symbolize each character's secrets." --Shelf Awareness

"A gripping story about the power of friendship to save and redeem even in the darkest of circumstances. This is a book not to be missed." --Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator's Wife

"Jenoff expertly performs a pirouetting tale worthy of a standing ovation.... The Orphan's Tale proves that the human spirit defies hate, fear, and gravity with a triumphant ta-da!" --Sarah McCoy, New York Times bestselling author of The Mapmaker's Children

"Riveting.... With deftness and emotion, Jenoff sets in motion a compelling story of friendship and courage." --Charles Belfoure, author of The Paris Architect and House of Thieves

Dimensions (Overall): 8.9 Inches (H) x 6 Inches (W) x 1.4 Inches (D)
Weight: .85 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 363
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Circus, History
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Format: Paperback
Author: Pam Jenoff
Language: English
Street Date: February 21, 2017
TCIN: 51530083
UPC: 9780778319818
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6029
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.3 inches length x 0.8 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Amber - 7 years ago
This book is special in a field full of WW2 book. It really has everything complex female characters and friendships, love stories, circus acts, babies, pain, empathy of the human condition, and Germans of course. A rare book will have me sobbing by the end of it, and this book did it.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy