Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Orphan's Tale - by Pam Jenoff (Paperback)

Orphan's Tale -  by Pam Jenoff (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Look out for Pam's new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II—coming soon!A New York Times bestseller!"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush." —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
Number of Pages: 363
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Circus, History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Author: Pam Jenoff
Language: English
Street Date: February 21, 2017
TCIN: 51530083
UPC: 9780778319818
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6029
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.79
MSRPReg: $15.99 Save $3.20 (20% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Out of stock in stores near you
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

1
overall: 5 out of 5 stars, see all reviews

Most recent reviews

(would recommend)
5 out of 5 stars
Amber 1 year ago
This book is special in a field full of WW2 book. It really has everything complex female characters and friendships, love stories, circus acts, babies, pain, empathy of the human condition, and Germans of course. A rare book will have me sobbing by the end of it, and this book did it.
Do you find this helpful?
yes (0)no (0)report

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.