EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The 5 Choices - by Kory Kogon & Adam Merrill & Leena Rinne (Paperback)

The 5 Choices - by  Kory Kogon & Adam Merrill & Leena Rinne (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The 5 Choices - by  Kory Kogon & Adam Merrill & Leena Rinne (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$11.99 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"Time management for the 21st century"--Cover.



Book Synopsis



"The 5 Choices provides the methods to get the right things done, not try to get everything done, and to feel like you made a meaningful contribution at the end of the day." --Kevin Turner, former COO of Microsoft

For fans of Deep Work, Great at Work, and the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, The 5 Choices is an essential guide for understanding productivity and time-management in the 21st century.

Every day brings us a crushing wave of demands: a barrage of texts, emails, interruptions, meetings, phone calls, tweets, breaking news--not to mention the high-pressure demands of our jobs--which can be overwhelming and exhausting. The sheer number of distractions can threaten our ability to think clearly, make good decisions, and accomplish what matters most, leaving us worn out and frustrated.

From the business experts at FranklinCovey, The 5 Choices is an exploration of modern productivity. It offers powerful insights drawn from the latest neuroscience research and decades of experience in the time-management field to help you master your attention and energy management. The 5 Choices is time management redefined: through five fundamental choices, it increases the productivity of individuals, teams, and organizations, and empowers individuals to make selective, high-impact choices about where to invest their valuable time, attention, and energy.

The 5 Choices--like "Act on the Important, Don't React to the Urgent" and "Rule Your Technology, Don't Let It Rule You"--will not only increase your productivity, but also provide a renewed sense of engagement and accomplishment. You will quickly find yourself moving beyond thinking, "I was so busy today, what did I actually accomplish?" to confidently realizing "I did everything I needed to accomplish today--and did it meaningfully."



Review Quotes




"As a working mom I have a very full life at home and at work. Staying productive is an extraordinary feat. The 5 Choices: The Path to Extraordinary Productivity brings together some of the best principles of Dr. Stephen Covey with the best thinking of how to better use my time, my technology, and my brain in order to keep my projects, my sanity, and most importantly my most important relationships prioritized. Extraordinary indeed!"--Jill Clark, Global Vice President, Talent Management, JDA-The Supply Chain Company

"I live a hectic, high-energy and sometimes overwhelming life. As an executive for a large company, working mom and the wife of a NCAA Division I head coach, I constantly feel like I am swimming upstream--up early, getting kids to school, business travel, conference calls, meetings, after-school activities, and community events. While recovering from a serious horseback riding accident I read The 5 Choices and have applied its timeless principles, tips and techniques for managing my life, not just my work or time. I have had great results, which have allowed me to spend more time with family, coach my work team, and recover my health. If you live a hectic life or you want to be more fulfilled The 5 Choices is a must read."--Tabetha Taylor, Senior Director, Learning & Delivery, Manheim AutoTrader

"A very timely book that fits a real need in these turbulent, but opportunity-rich, times."--Steve Forbes, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, Forbes Media

"In The 5 Choices, the 'aha' for me is that busy does not mean important. So, busy is not the badge of honor, rather it is accomplishment of the important. That one paradigm shift is changing my life and the lives of those around me."--Kimo Kippen, Chief Learning Officer, Hilton Worldwide University

"No one understands time management and productivity better than the researchers and consultants of FranklinCovey. The 5 Choices provides new, exciting, and above all, practical insights that can help you cope with your overwhelming workload and realize your full potential, in and out of work."--Dr. Heidi Grant Halvorson, Ph.D., Associate Director, Motivation Science Center, Columbia Business

"Sometimes in life you happen upon a 'game changer, '....that thing you realize can radically alter perceptions and outcomes. As I digested the principles and tools shared in The 5 Choices: The Path to Extraordinary Productivity, I realized I had indeed found a game changer. The 5 Choices gave me the insights and tools that would enable me to raise my personal bar, live in greater alignment, and increase the probability of achieving those goals that mattered most personally and professionally. The genius of this book is found in its real time "do-ability." If you're wired as the type of person who wants to live an 'extraordinarily productive' life, this book is a must read."--Jeff Hill, Senior Vice President, Global Sales, Team BeachBody

"The 5 choices is a great summary of what we know about the brain and managing our attention. It puts a lot of complex research in an accessible, digestible, and practical set of steps that can help people be more productive everywhere."--Dr. David Rock, Director, NeuroLeadership Institute

"The 5 Choices book is the answer to the overwhelming and debilitating stress levels that have become part of every day. With accessibility now 24 hours a day, these choices provide the methods to get the right things done, not try to get everything done, and to feel like you made a meaningful contribution at the end of the day."--Kevin Turner, Chief Operating Officer, Microsoft Corporation

"The 5 Choices: The Path to Extraordinary Productivity is the perfect complement to the most influential book I've read, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. It provides simple and meaningful solutions to today's paradox; it's both easier and harder to achieve extraordinary productivity in today's fast-paced, interconnected world. The 5 Choices can help you and your organization become extraordinary."--Steve Randol, Vice President, Nestle Retail Operation Center

"This incredible book contains practical solutions to modern productivity challenges that are insightful, well-researched, and yet simple enough to apply each and every day. The 5 Choices: The Path to Extraordinary Productivity includes the perfect blend of time management and prioritization tips, neuroscience research application, ways to address feeling overwhelmed with technology, and guidelines on how to manage our mental and physical energy. Utilizing the tools and recommendations provided will give you greater success at work and even more importantly, greater health and balance in everyday life."--Brandon Wade Anderson, Ph.D., Director, Organization Development & Talent Management, Transamerica, Inc.



About the Author



Kory Kogon is FranklinCovey's Global Practice Leader for Productivity focusing her research and content development around time management, project management, and communication skills. In addition to coauthoring The 5 Choices: The Path to Extraordinary Productivity, Kory is one of the authors of Project Management for the Unofficial Project Manager, and Presentation Advantage. Prior to FranklinCovey, Kory spent six years as the Executive Vice President of Worldwide Operations for AlphaGraphics, Inc.

Adam Merrill is vice president of innovation for FranklinCovey, where he leads the effort for developing award-winning content that helps individuals and organizations become dramatically more productive. Adam has been researching time management and productivity topics around the globe for over twenty-five years, with particular emphasis on the impact of changing technology on how people succeed in a digital world. In addition, he is also deeply immersed in the impact physical and mental health have on one's ability to be productive and make good decisions.

Leena Rinne is a senior consultant with FranklinCovey. In her role, she works with clients to increase productivity and develop leaders in their organizations. Leena works with a wide variety of organizations, ranging from Fortune 100 companies to small, locally owned businesses.

Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .5 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: Business + Money Management
Sub-Genre: Time Management
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Format: Paperback
Author: Kory Kogon & Adam Merrill & Leena Rinne
Language: English
Street Date: April 5, 2016
TCIN: 50464251
UPC: 9781476711829
Item Number (DPCI): 248-07-1492
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.8 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.5 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads