Loading, please wait...

The Assignment - by Liza Wiemer (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 336

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: School & Education

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: General

Author: Liza Wiemer

Language: English

Street Date: August 25, 2020
TCIN: 79455203
UPC: 9780593123164
Item Number (DPCI): 247-36-9594
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Standing in opposition to a class assignment to debate Hitler's Final Solution, seniors Cade and Logan become embroiled in turmoil involving their teacher, principal, Commissioner of Education, white supremacists, and their entire community.



Book Synopsis



A SYDNEY TAYLOR NOTABLE BOOK

Inspired by a real-life incident, this riveting novel explores discrimination and antisemitism and reveals their dangerous impact.

Would you defend the indefensible?

That's what seniors Logan March and Cade Crawford are asked to do when a favorite teacher instructs a group of students to argue for the Final Solution--the Nazi plan for the genocide of the Jewish people.

Logan and Cade decide they must take a stand, and soon their actions draw the attention of the student body, the administration, and the community at large. But not everyone feels as Logan and Cade do--after all, isn't a school debate just a school debate? It's not long before the situation explodes, and acrimony and anger result.

Based on true events, The Assignment asks: What does it take for tolerance, justice, and love to prevail?

An important look at a critical moment in history through a modern lens showcasing the power of student activism. -SLJ



Review Quotes




"A good choice for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and Nic Stone's Dear Martin." --School Library Journal

"This wise and nuanced novel has loving arms that, while hugging two teens who must confront a popular teacher, also can reach all those who are belittled and unheard." --Thanhhà Lại, New York Times bestselling author of Inside Out & Back Again and Butterfly Yellow

"A riveting, important, and thought-provoking read. Unputdownable and unforgettable." --Leah Cypess, author of The Death Sworn series

"This fast-paced, compelling story will inspire readers to stick to their principles and fight for what's right. A timely and necessary read." --Kip Wilson, author of White Rose

"Brave, breath-stealing and bold. A compelling and necessary read." --Gae Polisner, author of The Memory of Things and Jack Kerouac Is Dead to Me

"Readers won't be able to resist putting themselves in the students' shoes and thinking about when and where they themselves would draw the line, or if they would dare confront power at all." --Nancy Werlin, author of The Rules of Survival

"This fast-paced novel will keep readers thoroughly engaged. An important plot-driven story about two teens who stand up for what's right in the face of adversity." --Kirkus Reviews




About the Author



Liza Wiemer is an award-winning educator with over twenty years of experience. She is the author of two adult nonfiction books, as well as a young adult novel. She lives in Milwaukee with her family. Visit her at LizaWiemer.com and follow @lizawiemer on Twitter and @lizamwiemer on Instagram.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Fri, May 14 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.