Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Forget-Me-Not Summer - (Silver Sisters) by Leila Howland (Paperback)

The Forget-Me-Not Summer - (Silver Sisters) by  Leila Howland (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Forget-Me-Not Summer - (Silver Sisters) by  Leila Howland (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$6.59 sale price when purchased online
$7.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • This charming story about three California sisters spending the summer on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks--as a starred ALA Booklist review raved--and The Mother-Daughter Book Club.Though Marigold, Zinnia, and Lily Silver couldn't be more different, they're all excited about summer vacation.
  • 8-12 Years
  • 7.6" x 5.1" Paperback
  • 368 Pages
  • Juvenile Fiction, Family
  • Series Name: Silver Sisters

Description



Book Synopsis



This charming story about three California sisters spending the summer on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks--as a starred ALA Booklist review raved--and The Mother-Daughter Book Club.

Though Marigold, Zinnia, and Lily Silver couldn't be more different, they're all excited about summer vacation. Twelve-year-old Marigold is hoping to get her first kiss from her big crush, while Zinnia, eleven, will most likely spend her time in Marigold's shadow. And five-year-old Lily, though angelic, has a knack for stirring up mischief wherever she goes.

But all of their plans come crashing down when the sisters' parents send them to Cape Cod to visit their Aunt Sunny. Small-town life is not what these LA girls had in mind. They must adjust, however, to things like sharing a room and living without a TV. With the help of Aunt Sunny's cheery disposition and her yummy brownies, though, the girls are quickly won over, and before Marigold, Zinnie, and Lily know it, they're cracking lobster shells at clambakes, making new friends, and even organizing a local talent show.

Full of moments both humorous and reflective, The Forget-Me-Not Summer is a story about three girls facing their fears, adjusting to change, and learning how to band together as the strongest version of themselves: sisters. Be sure to catch the sequel, The Brightest Stars of Summer, for more fun on Cape Cod!



Review Quotes




"THE FORGET-ME-NOT SUMMER brims with hilarity and sisterly hijinks." -- Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Award-winning author

"Howland gives more nuance than is often seen in middle-grade fiction. Reminiscent of the Penderwicks series. Readers will be drawn in, and once inside, they will find a book that might well become a favorite." -- Booklist (starred review)

"Perfect for middle grades and a clean read for all ages, this summer-vacation novel is a breath of realistic fresh air and a welcome addition to any school or public library." -- 5Q, 4P review, Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"The real-life dynamics between the sisters [are] humorous and touching. This heartwarming story is hard to put down. -- School Library Journal

"Well-told with engaging characters." -- Kirkus Reviews


Dimensions (Overall): 7.6 Inches (H) x 5.1 Inches (W) x .9 Inches (D)
Weight: .55 Pounds
Suggested Age: 8-12 Years
Number of Pages: 368
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Family
Series Title: Silver Sisters
Publisher: HarperCollins
Theme: Siblings
Format: Paperback
Author: Leila Howland
Language: English
Street Date: May 17, 2016
TCIN: 50775202
UPC: 9780062318701
Item Number (DPCI): 248-10-8096
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.9 inches length x 5.1 inches width x 7.6 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.55 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy