Loading, please wait...

The Girl Who Wrote in Silk - by Kelli Estes (Paperback)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Asian American

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

Age Range: Adult

Author: Kelli Estes

Language: English

Street Date: July 7, 2015
TCIN: 80507565
UPC: 9781492608332
Item Number (DPCI): 247-48-3092
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



Book Synopsis



A USA TODAY BESTSELLER

A historical novel inspired by true events, Kelli Estes's brilliant and atmospheric debut is a poignant tale of two women determined to do the right thing and the power of our own stories.

The smallest items can hold centuries of secrets...

Inara Erickson is exploring her deceased aunt's island estate when she finds an elaborately stitched piece of fabric hidden in the house. As she peels back layer upon layer of the secrets it holds, Inara's life becomes interwoven with that of Mei Lein, a young Chinese girl mysteriously driven from her home a century before. Through the stories Mei Lein tells in silk, Inara uncovers a tragic truth that will shake her family to its core--and force her to make an impossible choice.

A touching and tender book for fans of Marie Benedict, Susanna Kearsley, and Duncan Jepson.



Review Quotes




A touching and tender story about discovering the past to bring peace to the present. - Duncan Jepson, author of All the Flowers in Shanghai

Estes sheds light on a dark period in Seattle's history that is sure to interest those seeking unusual historical details long hidden from history books. 4 Stars. - RT Book Reviews

The Girl Who Wrote in Silk is a beautiful story that brought me to tears more than once, and was a testament to the endurance of the human spirit and the human heart. A powerful debut that proves the threads that interweave our lives can withstand time and any tide, and bind our hearts forever. - Susanna Kearsley, New York Times bestselling author of A Desperate Fortune and The Firebird

The Girl Who Wrote in Silk is a beautiful, elegiac novel, as finely and delicately woven as the title suggests. Kelli Estes spins a spellbinding tale that illuminates the past in all its brutality and beauty, and the humanity that binds us all together. - Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author of The Beekeeper's Ball
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Wed, Aug 4 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.