Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek - by Rhett McLaughlin (Paperback)

The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek - by Rhett McLaughlin (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek - by Rhett McLaughlin (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$14.76 sale price when purchased online
$18.00 list price

About this item

Description



About the Book



From the authors of the #1 New York Times-bestseller Rhett & Link's Book of Mythicality and creators of Good Mythical Morning, a thrilling and darkly funny novel about two best friends fighting the sinister forces at the heart of their Southern town.



Book Synopsis



NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - "Stranger Things meets the South. Chilling, hilarious, and suspenseful--I loved it!"--Felicia Day

From the authors of Rhett & Link's Book of Mythicality and creators of Good Mythical Morning . . .

It's 1992 in Bleak Creek, North Carolina--a sleepy little place with all the trappings of an ordinary Southern town: two Baptist churches, friendly smiles coupled with silent judgments, and an unquenchable appetite for pork products. Beneath the town's cheerful façade, however, Bleak Creek teens live in constant fear of being sent to the Whitewood School, a local reformatory with a history of putting unruly youths back on the straight and narrow--a record so impeccable that almost everyone is willing to ignore the suspicious deaths that have occurred there over the past decade.

At first, high school freshmen Rex McClendon and Leif Nelson believe what they've been told: that the students' strange demises were all just tragic accidents, the unfortunate consequence of succumbing to vices like Marlboro Lights and Nirvana. But when the shoot for their low-budget horror masterpiece, PolterDog, goes horribly awry--and their best friend, Alicia Boykins, is sent to Whitewood as punishment--Rex and Leif are forced to question everything they know about their unassuming hometown and its cherished school for delinquents.

Eager to rescue their friend, Rex and Leif pair up with recent NYU film school graduate Janine Blitstein to begin piecing together the unsettling truth of the school and its mysterious founder, Wayne Whitewood. What they find will leave them battling an evil beyond their wildest imaginations--one that will shake Bleak Creek to its core.

Praise for The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek

"The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek is like your best friend from high school--kind of weird and a little twisted, but no matter how much trouble they caused, they always made you laugh. You don't have to be a GMM fan to realize . . . The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek, Will It Awesome Book? F@*# yeah!"--Kurt Sutter, creator of Sons of Anarchy

"Most people don't read books, let alone write them. That puts Rhett and Link in the top 1% of smart people in the world. Read this book."--Rachel Bloom, co-creator of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

"It's scary, it's fun, and it's one hell of a carnival ride."--Kirkus Reviews



Review Quotes



"Rhett McLaughlin and Link Neal conjure up a heady brew of hilarity, friendship, and dark forces in the small-town South, where being the funny, smart kids might just end up as the fight of your life. Fans of John Green and Stranger Things take note."--Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

"I cannot think of a more exciting novel to read--and share with my sons--than The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek! Thank you, Rhett and Link, for this gem about friendship, courage, and adventure, which is touched by your humor, wit, and intelligence with each twist and turn!"--Mayim Bialik, New York Times bestselling author of Boying Up

"I tore through all 324 pages of this book in one sitting--and I still didn't want it to end! I would have been willing to read as many as 325 pages, or possibly even 326. Though if I'm being totally honest, they probably could have stopped at 323. Either way, I loved this creative book."--Jimmy Fallon, host of The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

"The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek reminded me, lovingly and longingly, of films like The Goonies or The Lost Boys--those kind of throwback narratives that make you recall what it was like to be a kid: the close friendships, that strange and needful breed of fear you only feel at that age, and the looming threat of adulthood lurking at the periphery. If, like me, you believe there's a power vested in books that can take you back in time, then this book is its own little power plant."--Craig Davidson, author of The Saturday Night Ghost Club

"An entertaining narrative . . . Brimming with 1990s cultural references ranging from New Kids on the Block to Hypercolor t-shirts, the story is funny, spooky, and at times terrifying."-Booklist



About The Author



Rhett McLaughlin and Link Neal, raised in North Carolina and best friends since the first grade, are a comedy duo known for creating the Internet's most-watched daily talk show, Good Mythical Morning; their award-winning weekly podcast Ear Biscuits; and the instant #1 New York Times bestseller Rhett & Link's Book of Mythicality. They share an office at Mythical Entertainment, the company they cofounded, but live separately with their respective wives, children, and dogs in Los Angeles.
Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.1 Inch (W) x .9 Inch (D)
Weight: .6 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 352
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Humorous
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Format: Paperback
Author: Rhett McLaughlin
Language: English
Street Date: June 30, 2020
TCIN: 79663422
UPC: 9781984822147
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-1141
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.1 inches length x 0.9 inches width x 7.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

It was enthralling, cover to cover!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Alec - 2 months ago
I bought this book, in hardcover, back in late 2020. I only just got around to wanting to sit down and read again, so this was the first book on my list. I love Rhett and Link anyway, so bought the book to support them. But I was genuinely interested in the plot, boy was it a good one! There are so many twists and turns, it made me snicker to myself and made me gasp out loud in shock. Several times I was taken aback, it had me in its clutches from start to finish. I managed to read it all in just over 6 hours, I couldn’t put it down. Some have said the first 90ish pages are a bit slow, but for me I enjoyed it cover to cover! I could see others finding the first pages a bit slow, but it’s a build up to a gripping sequence of events to follow. If you find it slow, please just stick with it. I promise you, it gets interesting quick. It has a very nicely paced plot, that doesn’t ever feel like it drags. It doesn’t feel rushed either, but it’s just fast enough to keep you enthralled without fussing too much over random details. The epilogue made me wide-eyed, and hopeful that there will be a sequel! Rhett and Link, you both knocked it out of the park. Even as a long time fan, if I hadn’t enjoyed this book I assure you I would’ve been honest about that!
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy