Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Villa - by Rachel Hawkins

The Villa - by Rachel Hawkins - image 1 of 1
The Villa - by Rachel Hawkins - image 1 of 1
$19.45 sale price when purchased online
$28.99 list price

About this item

Description



About the Book



From the New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked new gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.



Book Synopsis



From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.

Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce's girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album--and ends in Pierce's brutal murder.

As Emily digs into the villa's complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce's murder wasn't just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred--and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind.

Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge--and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends.

Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle--the birthplace of Frankenstein--The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy.



Review Quotes




Hawkins casts a sharp eye throughout to the way we construct stories about female artists--and the moral ambiguity inherent in creation and fame. The effect lingers like a shadow, or a creature, that endures past the final words. Hawkins manages to achieve the seemingly impossible: A Frankenstein-inspired novel that feels both fresh and unique. --Kirkus (starred review)

This story's finely honed interplay of creative ambition and haunting sadness makes it a step above. Hawkins pokes at the darker aspects of both true crime and self-help, and it works beautifully. Hawkins' star is definitely on the rise after two bestsellers, and this one will propel her further into the stratosphere. --Booklist, starred review

In The Villa, Rachel Hawkins brilliantly stitches together past and present, deftly luring readers into a deliciously dark tale filled with twisted secrets, suspect loyalties, and deadly encounters. I tore through this haunting thrill ride at breakneck speed but hated to see it end. Everything about The Villa is pitch-perfect, again proving that Hawkins is the reigning queen of suspense. --Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Overnight Guest

Cleverly-narrated via past and present timelines...The Villa teems with sexual tension, festering tempers, and questionable friendships. Hawkins' latest thriller reminds us that no matter what truths we think we've stumbled upon, writers cannot always be trusted--and certainly not the tales they tell. --Sarah Penner, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Apothecary

Rachel Hawkins DELIVERS with The Villa. Slick, twisty, and packed full of pop culture references spanning decades, this book is a perfectly delicious read. I devoured it as fast as I could and wanted to read it again immediately. Buy one for yourself and another for your best friend because you'll want to talk about it for days. --Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author




About the Author



Rachel Hawkins is the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs and Reckless Girls, as well as multiple books for young readers. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama.
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Number of Pages: 288
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Language: English
Street Date: January 3, 2023
TCIN: 86443295
UPC: 9781250280015
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-9209
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6.12 inches width x 9.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.5 out of 5 stars with 11 reviews
100% would recommend
2 recommendations

Fun thriller

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
ReadingCaptures - 1 year ago
Rachel Hawkins always delivers on popcorn thrillers. This book is another hit. The frenemies playing nice in. An Italian villa. The villa is a notorious for a murder in the 60s. A found manuscript with a confession and two writers just dying to create a new successful book. So much to love about this book. It’s fast paced and fun.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

A Page Turner!

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Akbaird - 1 year ago
A highly entertaining dark twisty thriller/mystery that will keep you guessing until the end! Emily and Chess have been best friends since elementary school. They have both been through a lot in life, who are successful writers. Emily writes cozy mysteries, while Chess writes self-help books. Even through ups and downs of life, they remained best friends. Chess decided that even though they made it a point to get together once a year, she felt it was time to spend more time together. Chess planned a getaway to Italy for the entire summer, so they could write. Emily points out to Chess that a murder had occurred in the villa in the 1970’s. Chess isn’t bothered by the info as she justifies it by saying it’s a gorgeous villa. What will they discover? Is this house cursed? Will they be haunted by the past during their stay? Will history repeat itself? Mari is a writer and Pierce, Lori, and Noel are musicians. All wanting to escape to the villa in Italy to gain inspiration, so they can make their “big break”. Will they make the most of it or will life get in the way? This dual time period storyline alternates between present day with Emily and Chess and the 1970’s with Lara, Noel, Mari, and Pierce highlighting their vacations at the same villa in Italy. Both groups came to the villa looking for a break from their lives and inspiration for their work. Will they get the inspiration they need or will complicated relationships hinder their success? A dark twisty domestic thriller/ mystery that involves authors, musicians, murder, fame, and secrets! Are people who they seem to be? This book will keep you guessing until the end! A fast paced read that will keep you entertained as the truth is revealed!
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy