Loading, please wait...

Tumbling Turner Sisters (Reprint) (Paperback) (Juliette Fay)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8 Inches (H) x 5.2 Inches (W) x 1.2 Inches (D)

Weight: .6 Pounds

Number of Pages: 339

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Historical

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Author: Juliette Fay

Age Range: Adult

Language: English

Street Date: January 3, 2017
TCIN: 51562403
UPC: 9781501145346
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6018
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



"In 1919, the four Turner sisters and their parents are barely scraping along. Their father is a low-paid boot stitcher in Johnson City, NY, and the Turners are always one paycheck away from eviction. When their father's hand is crushed and he's forced to quit, their domineering mother decides that the vaudeville stage is their best--and only--chance for salvation. With everything at stake, the Tumbling Turners take to the road and the four young women, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and Nell, a 22-year-old new mother and recent widow of the Great War, are soon immersed in the tumultuous world of American Vaudeville on a nine-city tour that will make or break them. Swindlers and ne'er-do-wells await in abundance, but so does kindness, and just maybe a chance at love. Equal parts heartwarming, charming, and reflective, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is the story of the sacrifices we make in the name of family, and how the most unlikely choice can ultimately be the one to lead us toward our truest selves"--



Book Synopsis



For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

It's 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent--and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening--to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, May 13 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.3 inches length x 0.6 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), APO/FPO, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.