Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Tumbling Turner Sisters (Reprint) (Paperback) (Juliette Fay)

Tumbling Turner Sisters (Reprint) (Paperback) (Juliette Fay) - image 1 of 1
Tumbling Turner Sisters (Reprint) (Paperback) (Juliette Fay) - image 1 of 1
$9.39 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



"In 1919, the four Turner sisters and their parents are barely scraping along. Their father is a low-paid boot stitcher in Johnson City, NY, and the Turners are always one paycheck away from eviction. When their father's hand is crushed and he's forced to quit, their domineering mother decides that the vaudeville stage is their best--and only--chance for salvation. With everything at stake, the Tumbling Turners take to the road and the four young women, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and Nell, a 22-year-old new mother and recent widow of the Great War, are soon immersed in the tumultuous world of American Vaudeville on a nine-city tour that will make or break them. Swindlers and ne'er-do-wells await in abundance, but so does kindness, and just maybe a chance at love. Equal parts heartwarming, charming, and reflective, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is the story of the sacrifices we make in the name of family, and how the most unlikely choice can ultimately be the one to lead us toward our truest selves"--



Book Synopsis



For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

It's 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent--and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening--to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.

Dimensions (Overall): 8 Inches (H) x 5.2 Inches (W) x 1.2 Inches (D)
Weight: .6 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 339
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Historical
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Format: Paperback
Author: Juliette Fay
Language: English
Street Date: January 3, 2017
TCIN: 51562403
UPC: 9781501145346
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6018
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.3 inches length x 0.6 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy