Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt - (Over and Under) by Kate Messner

Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt - (Over and Under) by Kate Messner - image 1 of 1
Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt - (Over and Under) by Kate Messner - image 1 of 1
$14.39 sale price when purchased online
$18.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • In this exuberant and lyrical addition to the award-winning Over and Under series, emerging readers will delight in discovering the wonders that lie hidden between stalks, under the shade of leaves, and down in the dirt.
  • 5-8 Years
  • 12.3" x 8.5" Hardcover
  • 52 Pages
  • Juvenile Nonfiction, Gardening
  • Series Name: Over and Under

Description



About the Book



"Up in the garden, the world is full of green--leaves and sprouts, growing vegetables, ripening fruit. But down in the dirt there is a busy world of earthworms digging, snakes hunting, skunks burrowing, and all the other animals that make a garden their home. In this exuberant book, discover the wonder and activity that lie hidden between the stalks, under the shade of leaves ... and down in the dirt."--



Book Synopsis



In this exuberant and lyrical addition to the award-winning Over and Under series, emerging readers will delight in discovering the wonders that lie hidden between stalks, under the shade of leaves, and down in the dirt.

From the author-illustrator team behind Over and Under the Snow and Over and Under the Pond.

Explore the secret realm beneath the dirt that brings the world of nature to life: Follow a young girl and her grandmother on a journey through the year planning, planting, and harvesting their garden--and learn about what's happening in the dirt to help make it all happen.

Up in the garden, the world is full of green--leaves and sprouts, growing vegetables, ripening fruit. But down in the dirt exists a busy world--earthworms dig, snakes hunt, skunks burrow--populated by all the creatures that make a garden their home.

These secrets and many others are waiting to be discovered up in the garden and down in the dirt in this sweet children's book from Kate Messner and Christopher Silas Neal, the latest in their beloved series that offers kids a peek into hidden ecosystems.

ENTERTAINING AND EDUCATIONAL: Beautiful illustrations paired with an easy-to-follow storyline make this a great read for any early elementary school student, while a glossary of animals that live in, around, and under the garden enriches the reading experience.

INSPIRES A LOVE A NATURE: Offering a look inside a hidden and bustling underground ecosystem, this gorgeously illustrated book encourages children to explore the world around them and appreciate the natural wonders they discover.

A FIVE-STAR FAVORITE OF READERS & REVIEWERS: "The harmonious relationships above and below ground, and those between the two, emphasize the complexities of the garden ecosystem, as well as the joys of sustained engagement with the land."--The Horn Book Magazine; "Offers excellent coming attractions for what youngsters can expect when they try to grow something." --Reading Today

Perfect for:

  • A great read-aloud book for home or school
  • Parents looking for enchanting bedtime reads or nature books for kids
  • Fans of books like A Different Pond, A Seed is Sleepy, An Egg Is Quiet, Because of an Acorn, and Over and Under the Rainforest and others in the Over and Under series
  • Any kid who loves picture books about science, nature, or animals



Review Quotes




"Offers excellent coming attractions for what youngsters can expect when they try to grow something."--Reading Today

"The harmonious relationships above and below ground, and those between the two, emphasize the complexities of the garden ecosystem, as well as the joys of sustained engagement with the land."--The Horn Book Magazine

"This beautifully illustrated work shines a light on life beneath the surface."--Modern Luxury: Manhattan

"This is a really sweet book that explains how nature helps make a garden, with teamwork."--This Kid Reviews Books

"Will have readers itching to get their hands dirty."--Baltimore Sun



About the Author



Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator whose work is published regularly in the New York Times and shown in galleries. He teaches illustration at Pratt Institute and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Kate Messner is the award-winning author of Over and Under the Snow, Sea Monster's First Day, Sea Monster and the Bossy Fish, and more than a dozen other books for young readers. Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family.

Dimensions (Overall): 12.3 Inches (H) x 8.5 Inches (W) x .6 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.1 Pounds
Suggested Age: 5-8 Years
Number of Pages: 52
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
Sub-Genre: Gardening
Series Title: Over and Under
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Format: Hardcover
Author: Kate Messner
Language: English
Street Date: March 3, 2015
TCIN: 16784670
UPC: 9781452119366
Item Number (DPCI): 247-39-9557
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.6 inches length x 8.5 inches width x 12.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...
5.0 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews

2 Year Old Loves This Book!

5 out of 5 stars
- 3 years ago
My 2-year-old loves this book and so do I!! We read it every night and it's wonderful. The pictures are so detailed on every page and accurate. It's pretty long for a kid's book too, but we mainly look at the pictures. My kid has learned a lot of new words and connects what's in the book to what's outside in our garden. Also, the pages are a thick paper that's held up great to a rough toddler. If you're a gardener and want to foster a love for plants, bugs, and critters, then this is the book for your family.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy