Violet Made of Thorns - by Gina Chen

Violet Made of Thorns - by Gina Chen - image 1 of 1
Violet Made of Thorns - by Gina Chen - image 1 of 1
$14.49When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 14 Years

Number of Pages: 368

Format: Hardcover

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Book theme: Dark Fantasy

Author: Gina Chen

Language: English

Street Date: July 26, 2022
TCIN: 84991839
UPC: 9780593427538
Item Number (DPCI): 247-40-1053
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased--and not always true--divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so- not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he's crowned at the end of the summer--unless Violet does something about it. But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus's love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom--all depending on the prince's choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that's growing between her and Cyrus. Violet's wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can't change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom--or doom them all"--



Book Synopsis



NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - A darkly enchanting fantasy about a lying witch, a cursed prince, and a sinister prophecy that ignites their doomed destinies--perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince.

"Everything you want from an enemies-to-lovers fantasy starring morally gray characters."--BuzzFeed

Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased--and not always true--divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he's crowned at the end of the summer--unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus's love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom--all depending on the prince's choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that's growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet's wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can't change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom--or doom them all.



Review Quotes




"Everything you want from an enemies-to-lovers fantasy starring morally gray characters."--BuzzFeed

"Gina Chen delivers a biting fantastical twist on fairy tales."--POPSUGAR

"A rare YA fantasy with a difficult, prickly and nigh-on unlikeable heroine, Violet Made of Thorns feels like a breath of fresh air from its first pages."--Paste Magazine

"Curses, magic, fate, and forbidden romance combine into an unputdownable YA novel that fantasy lovers will obsess over."--Brightly

Beautifully vicious. Perfect for the fairytale reader who has always wanted the heroine to grow sharp teeth and bite Prince Charming.--Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

An enchanting dark fantasy.--Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Ember in the Ashes series

Fantasy fans--rejoice! Violet Made of Thorns introduces us to a lush land where dark curses and magic reign."--Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

Violet has everything: court intrigue, cruel witches, aloof but hot princes, ambitious girls who will do anything to win.--Victoria Lee, author of A Lesson in Vengeance and The Fever King

A sharp, witty story told in an unforgettable voice.--Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

Entrancing from start to finish.--Joan He, New York Times bestselling author of The Ones We're Meant to Find

Chen weaves a delightful, sparkling tale of a sharp-tongued antiheroine who will have readers rooting for her from page one.--June CL Tan, author of Jade Fire Gold

Searing... Employing evocative prose, passionately antagonistic romance, and a snarky first-person narration, Chen borrows familiar fairy tale elements and crafts them into a uniquely dark fantasy.--Publishers Weekly

A refreshing change from typical high-fantasy settings... Diverting and atmospheric.--Kirkus Reviews

"Chen's world is imbued with classic fairy tale elements... but she brings a fresh modernity to the story, with commentary on celebrity and imperialism that is both thoughtful and entertaining."--BCCB



About the Author



A self-taught artist with a degree in Computer Science, Gina Chen generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. She has particular fondness for fairy tales, demon tales, romantic comedies, and quiz shows. Currently, she resides in Southern California, where the sun is as plentiful as its tea shops. Violet Made of Thorns is her debut novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.3 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 9.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.06 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
loading...

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads