Loading, please wait...

We All Fall Down - (River City Duology) by Rose Szabo (Hardcover)

We All Fall Down - (River City Duology) by Rose Szabo (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
We All Fall Down - (River City Duology) by Rose Szabo (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
new at target

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Series Title: River City Duology

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

Author: Rose Szabo

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Dark Fantasy

Language: English

Street Date: June 7, 2022
TCIN: 84104225
UPC: 9780374314323
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-9166
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



In River City, where magic used to thrive and is now fading, four young queer people, unaware they have been selected to play in an age-old drama reviving the flow of magic through their world, are brought into each other's orbits as they uncover a deeper magical conspiracy.



Book Synopsis



The first book in a dark fantasy YA duology by the author of What Big Teeth, about the power and danger of stories and the untold costs of keeping magic alive, perfect for fans of Aiden Thomas and Marie Rutkoski.

In River City, where magic used to thrive and is now fading, the witches who once ruled the city along with their powerful King have become all but obsolete. The city's crumbling government is now controlled primarily by the new university and teaching hospital, which has grown to take over half of the city.

Moving between the decaying Old City and the ruthless New, four young queer people struggle with the daily hazards of life--work, school, dodging ruthless cops and unscrupulous scientists--not realizing that they have been selected to play in an age-old drama that revives the flow of magic through their world. When a mysterious death rocks their fragile peace, the four are brought into each other's orbits as they uncover a deeper magical conspiracy.

Devastating, gorgeous, and utterly unique, We All Fall Down examines the complex network of pain created by power differentials, even between people who love each other--and how it is possible to be queer and turn out just fine.



Review Quotes




Praise for What Big Teeth:

A Strand YA Book of the Month

With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading. --Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike. --School Library Journal

A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out. --Tor.com

Gazes into [the] darkness to face the monster that dwells within. --NPR Books

A complete ghostly chill that deserves ten stars. --The Nerd Daily

Has bite--and will leave you feeling dazed. -- Forever YA

A hauntingly thrilling read. --The Lineup

A fascinating debut. --PopSugar

[An] inventive concept. --Den of Geek

Not your typical YA fantasy. --Culturess




About the Author



Rose Szabo is the author of What Big Teeth and We All Fall Down (River City duology #1). A nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, they live with an assortment of people and animals. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. roseszabo.com Twitter @Rose_Szabo_
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.31 inches length x 5.38 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.