EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleLunar New YearCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

We All Fall Down - (River City Duology) by Rose Szabo (Hardcover)

We All Fall Down - (River City Duology) by Rose Szabo (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
We All Fall Down - (River City Duology) by Rose Szabo (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$11.29 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



In River City, where magic used to thrive and is now fading, four young queer people, unaware they have been selected to play in an age-old drama reviving the flow of magic through their world, are brought into each other's orbits as they uncover a deeper magical conspiracy.



Book Synopsis



The first book in a dark fantasy YA duology by the author of What Big Teeth, about the power and danger of stories and the untold costs of keeping magic alive, perfect for fans of Aiden Thomas and Marie Rutkoski.

In River City, where magic used to thrive and is now fading, the witches who once ruled the city along with their powerful King have become all but obsolete. The city's crumbling government is now controlled primarily by the new university and teaching hospital, which has grown to take over half of the city.

Moving between the decaying Old City and the ruthless New, four young queer people struggle with the daily hazards of life--work, school, dodging ruthless cops and unscrupulous scientists--not realizing that they have been selected to play in an age-old drama that revives the flow of magic through their world. When a mysterious death rocks their fragile peace, the four are brought into each other's orbits as they uncover a deeper magical conspiracy.

Devastating, gorgeous, and utterly unique, We All Fall Down examines the complex network of pain created by power differentials, even between people who love each other--and how it is possible to be queer and turn out just fine.



Review Quotes




Praise for What Big Teeth:

A Strand YA Book of the Month

With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading. --Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike. --School Library Journal

A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out. --Tor.com

Gazes into [the] darkness to face the monster that dwells within. --NPR Books

A complete ghostly chill that deserves ten stars. --The Nerd Daily

Has bite--and will leave you feeling dazed. -- Forever YA

A hauntingly thrilling read. --The Lineup

A fascinating debut. --PopSugar

[An] inventive concept. --Den of Geek

Not your typical YA fantasy. --Culturess




About the Author



Rose Szabo is the author of What Big Teeth and We All Fall Down (River City duology #1). A nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, they live with an assortment of people and animals. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. roseszabo.com Twitter @Rose_Szabo_
Suggested Age: 13-19 Years
Series Title: River City Duology
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Number of Pages: 400
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)
Format: Hardcover
Author: Rose Szabo
Language: English
Street Date: June 7, 2022
TCIN: 84104225
UPC: 9780374314323
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-9166
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.31 inches length x 5.38 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
2.0 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews
0% would recommend
2 recommendations

Creative, but problematic

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
lurkykitty - 1 year ago
We All Fall Down held my interest despite its flaws. This book demonstrates imagination, originality, creativity, and talented writing. It is not a classic high fantasy as one might assume from looking at the cover. It is a mash up of urban fantasy and fairy-tale. The plot was convoluted; it meandered, stalled and then exploded in a rapid denouement which occurred in the last twenty pages. The magic system and prophecy were not explained well. The author attempted to take on the topic of police violence against Black people, but didn't handle it sensitively, or in a way that was relevant to the plot. In the story a white woman, Jack, falsely accuses a Black man of a murder, resulting in the man being mistreated by the police. Jack does not face consequences for her behavior and seems to shrug it off. LBGTQ+ readers have identified harmful themes such as misgendering. Other reviewers address these issues in far more depth and with far more eloquence. This book is a case for the employment of sensitivity readers during the editorial process. It was promoted as a YA novel but is really New Adult since most of the main characters seem to be in their twenties. Overall, We All Fall Down had an interesting premise, but faced problems with pacing, plot and the insensitive handling of racial issues.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

dnf'ed

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
bookish_78bookieluvr - 2 years ago
When I read the summary and saw the book cover I was so excited. I couldn't wait to read and enjoy that promising read that the book looked to give. The reason for why I dnf'ed the book was becuase there were negative issues of which affected the BIPOC community excruciatingly bad, those details being; racism, homophobia, police brutality, white fragility, discrediting the black characters in the book, ect. The writing style was easy to follow, but the context of the book had made me easily stop in my tracks. The characters could have easily been written well and without all the problematic and oppressive issues. The cover art is gorgeous and I loved the diversity of it, but alas, I'll can't be ignorant and my reasons up above, stay firm as to reasons of my strong; dissatisfaction, disappointment, disapproval, of this book. I do not recommend. For more details, you can go to goodreads and read the BIPOC reviews that were left on there, because they were the ones who were the most negatively affected by how this book was written.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads