Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Whole Beast Butchery - by Ryan Farr & Brigit Binns (Hardcover)

Whole Beast Butchery - by  Ryan Farr & Brigit Binns (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Whole Beast Butchery - by  Ryan Farr & Brigit Binns (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$29.99 sale price when purchased online
$40.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • Dubbed a rock star butcher by the New York Times, San Francisco chef and self-taught meat expert Ryan Farr demystifies the butchery process with 500 step-by-step photographs, master recipes for key cuts, and a primer on tools, techniques, and meat handling.
  • About the Author: Ryan Farr is the owner and founder of 4505 Meats, where he makes artisanal sausages and his patented chicharrones, and teaches sell-out butchery classes for home and professional cooks.
  • 240 Pages
  • Cooking + Food + Wine, Specific Ingredients

Description



Book Synopsis



Dubbed a rock star butcher by the New York Times, San Francisco chef and self-taught meat expert Ryan Farr demystifies the butchery process with 500 step-by-step photographs, master recipes for key cuts, and a primer on tools, techniques, and meat handling.

"Good luck getting through the book without having serious meat envy."--Eater

DIY fever + quality meat mania = old-school butchery revival!

Home cooks and people interested in the future of food sustainability are now buying small farm-raised meat in butcher-sized portions. Whole Beast Butchery is the first butchery book to teach by explaining, and showing, exactly what butchers know. Through 500 color photos, butcher and chef Ryan Farr demonstrates how to break down beef, lamb, and pork into manageable cuts of meat.

Whether readers want to learn how to turn a primal cut into familiar and special cuts or to simply identify and evaluate what they find at the market, this visual manual is the ultimate guide to home butchering and enjoying quality meats handled with care. A culinary guide that is instructive and unique, it also includes recipes, tips, and tools for handling meat from the founder of 4505 Meats himself.

ULTIMATE GUIDE FOR MEAT LOVERS: Step-by-step photos and clear, instructive text make this meat book a must-have for learning all about mastering the art of whole animal butchery.

MEAT CUTS BOOK FOR HANDY REFERENCE: For those who purchase, prepare, and cook meat, Whole Beast Butchery offers an indispensable visual guide to understanding different cuts of meat and how best to use them.

EXPERT AUTHOR: Classically trained chef Ryan Farr developed his artisan butchery techniques during his time heading a Michelin Star restaurant. He went on to found San Francisco-based 4505 Meats in 2009 with his wife, Cesalee, and continues to run the business with a dedication to supporting the Bay Area community and food movement.

Perfect for:

  • Home chefs, foodies, and artisan cooking enthusiasts
  • Anyone interested in butchery techniques and the art of meat cutting
  • Birthday, housewarming, or host/hostess gift for adventurous home cooks
  • For fans of The MeatEater Fish and Game Cookbook, Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto, and Pat LaFrieda's book Meat: Everything You Need to Know



Review Quotes




Both in restaurants and at home, interest in eating well-raised animals is resurgent for reasons of quality and health. In hundreds of pictures and clear, easy-to-understand text, Ryan Farr demystifies the lost art of whole animal butchery. Whole Beast will be an essential reference for a generation of young cooks.
-Daniel Patterson, chef-owner of Coi

Having trained under a great butcher, I don't hand out praise lightly but Ryan Farr has blown me away with his passion for his craft. This book will be an indispensable resource for aspiring chefs and butchers and a valued book in my library as well.
-Michael Tusk, chef-owner of Quince and Cotogna

In an era when more cooks want to take control of their food, eat humanely raised meat more responsibly, and enjoy it more, Ryan Farr's book is essential for its superb photography and clear, concise information on the craft of butchery. It's an invaluable resource for chefs and home cooks who want to make use of all parts of the animals we eat.
-Michael Ruhlman, author of Ruhlman's Twenty and Charcuterie

Ryan has given us a thorough master class in how to choose, prepare, and utilize whole animals in this practical and instructive exploration into the craft of the butcher. Start with sourcing local, sustainably raised meat beyond the supermarket; this book shows you how to make the most of it.
-Chad Robertson, chef-owner of Tartine and Bar Tartine and author of Tartine Bread

Ryan's butchery techniques and recipes are spot on.
-David Chang, chef/owner of Momofuku



About the Author



Ryan Farr is the owner and founder of 4505 Meats, where he makes artisanal sausages and his patented chicharrones, and teaches sell-out butchery classes for home and professional cooks. He lives in San Francisco.

Brigit Binns is the author or co-author of 23 cookbooks.

Ed Anderson is a photographer specializing in food and the people who make it. He lives in Petaluma, California.

Dimensions (Overall): 10.1 Inches (H) x 8.2 Inches (W) x .9 Inches (D)
Weight: 2.05 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 240
Genre: Cooking + Food + Wine
Sub-Genre: Specific Ingredients
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Theme: Meat
Format: Hardcover
Author: Ryan Farr & Brigit Binns
Language: English
Street Date: November 2, 2011
TCIN: 13714524
UPC: 9781452100593
Item Number (DPCI): 247-06-6218
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.9 inches length x 8.2 inches width x 10.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 2.05 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy