Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Wish I Were Here - by Melissa Wiesner (Paperback)

Wish I Were Here - by  Melissa Wiesner (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Wish I Were Here - by  Melissa Wiesner (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$17.99 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Opposites attract when a buttoned-up professor and carefree doorman must restore a magically missing identity in this sparkling romance, perfect for fans of Sophie Cousens and Ashley Poston.
  • About the Author: Melissa Wiesner's mother didn't allow her to watch much TV as a child and instead, made her play with paint, colorful pipe cleaners, random bits of fabric, and all manner of other crafty things.
  • 368 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Romance

Description



About the Book



"For type-A mathematician Catherine Lipton, growing up with a free-spirited single dad was more than a little stressful. So as an adult, everything in her life is ordered, from her lists to her lesson plans at her new job as a college professor. Catherine's carefully calculated life goes awry, though, when the university's human resources system rejects her employment paperwork. Soon after, her credit card is declined. At the social security office, Catherine makes a shocking discovery-she's disappeared from all government records, and there's no evidence she exists at all. Catherine can't seem to convince anyone she's a real person, even though she's standing right there in the flesh. The only person who offers to help is Luca Morelli, her attractive but aggravating doorman who spends more time flirting with Catherine's elderly neighbors than he does enforcing the building rules. But left with no other options, Catherine reluctantly agrees to enlist the help of Luca's well-connected Italian family. Soon, Catherine finds herself following Luca into the back room of a smoky bar to meet a man named Vito, breaking into the records room of a local hospital, and having a surprising amount of fun. She also finds herself growing closer to Luca, who makes her laugh and challenges her in ways she never expected. As Catherine begins to unravel the mystery behind her missing identity, she may discover that the "real" Catherine is someone she never expected"--



Book Synopsis



Opposites attract when a buttoned-up professor and carefree doorman must restore a magically missing identity in this sparkling romance, perfect for fans of Sophie Cousens and Ashley Poston.

For type-A mathematician Catherine Lipton, growing up with a free-spirited single dad who worked part-time as a clown was more than a little stressful. So as an adult, the only place she'll allow for variability is in her data sets. Everything in Catherine's life is ordered, from her lists to her lesson plans at her new job as a college professor. Catherine's carefully calculated life goes awry, though, when the university's human resources system rejects her employment paperwork. Soon after, her credit card is declined. At the Social Security office, Catherine makes a shocking discovery--she's disappeared from the government's records, and there's no evidence she exists at all. Catherine can't seem to convince anyone she's a real person, even though she's standing right there in the flesh.

Catherine knows she can't count on her dad, and the university is only concerned with who will teach her classes. The one person who offers to help is Luca Morelli, her attractive but aggravating doorman who spends more time flirting with Catherine's neighbors than he does enforcing the building rules. The older residents might fall for Luca's charm, but if he can't keep bikes out of the lobby or put packages in their designated area, how can he help Catherine get her life back?

Left with no other options, Catherine reluctantly agrees to enlist the help of Luca's well-connected Italian family. Soon, Catherine finds herself following Luca into a smoky bar to meet the Mafia, breaking into the records room of a local hospital, doing a little light stalking, and having a surprising amount of fun. She also finds herself growing closer to Luca, who makes her laugh and challenges her well-ordered ways. As Catherine begins to unravel the mystery behind her missing identity, she may discover that the "real" Catherine is someone she never expected.



Review Quotes




"The Second Chance Year is a charmingly sweet time-loop romance about a hard yet hope-filled journey to discovering what truly matters in life, embracing your voice, and standing up for what you believe in."--Chloe Liese, author of Two Wrongs Make a Right, on The Second Chance Year

"The Second Chance Year is an adorable, swoony, beautifully written romance that I devoured in a day. Full of warmth, heart (and food), I was completely charmed by Sadie and Jacob and cried all the happy tears. I didn't want it to end!"--Catherine Walsh, author of Holiday Romance, on The Second Chance Year

"The Second Chance Year's hooky premise drew me in right from the start, and kept me turning pages with its hints of magic, found family, and slow-burn yearning for the nerdy dreamboat of a hero. With equal measures sweet and bitter, Wiesner delivers an ultimately empowering journey that's as satisfying as the protagonist's mouthwatering pastries."--Anna E. Collins, author of Love at First Spite, on The Second Chance Year

"*The* book you need to read before setting your resolutions. "--The Knot, on The Second Chance Year

"A delightful story filled with empowered characters, lovable found family, delicious desserts, and a sweet romance, all sprinkled with a dash of magic. This book warmed my heart like a fresh-out-of-the-oven brownie!"
--Lauren Kung Jessen, author of Lunar Love, on The Second Chance Year

"A sweet, smart, & satisfying romcom that addresses important issues with grace even as the characters make us laugh and fall in love right along with them."--Sophie Sullivan, author of Ten Rules for Faking It, on The Second Chance Year

"A swoony romance with a subplot about harassment and sexism in the workplace, Wiesner's latest will resonate with every reader who's wondered, 'What if?'"--Booklist, Starred review, on The Second Chance Year

"A thoughtful exploration of Sadie's growth as well as the ingrained unfairness of being a woman in a man's world. Sadie is spunky and her outspoken sense of justice is wonderful. Tough themes with a light touch and many winning characters."--Kirkus on The Second Chance Year

"A touch of magic and a heap of self-growth animate this sparkling and sophisticated rom-com."--Publishers Weekly, Starred review, on The Second Chance Year

"An ambitious woman finding her way in the world and the heart-meltingly caring man who loves her for who she is combine to make this a charming romance."--Library Journal, on The Second Chance Year

"Wiesner, a top-notch storyteller, puts a fresh, fun spin on a classic set-up. A self-aware, flawed, quirky heroine--with a strong supporting cast; a slow-burning, opposites-attract romance; and well-drawn scenes that tackle issues of feminism and workplace microaggressions--makes for a delightful seriocomic read that dynamically explores the what-ifs of life."--Shelf Awareness, on The Second Chance Year



About the Author



Melissa Wiesner's mother didn't allow her to watch much TV as a child and instead, made her play with paint, colorful pipe cleaners, random bits of fabric, and all manner of other crafty things. This set Melissa up for a lifetime of creative pursuits, and it was only a matter of time before things took a bookish turn.

A night-owl, Melissa began writing novels when her early-to-bed family retired for the evening. She is the award-winning author of contemporary romantic comedies and emotional women's fiction. Her work has earned praise from Kirkus, Booklist, Library Journal, and Publisher's Weekly and has been featured in Women's World, First for Women, and The Knot. Melissa's romantic comedy, The Second Chance Year was a Book of the Month add-on pick. Her novels will soon be translated into a dozen languages.

Along with her charming husband and two adorable children, Melissa splits her time between the big city of Pittsburgh, PA and rural West Virginia.

You can learn more at:
MelissaWiesner.com
Instagram @MelissaWiesnerAuthor
Facebook.com/MelissaWiesnerAuthor

Dimensions (Overall): 8.0 Inches (H) x 5.25 Inches (W) x .88 Inches (D)
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 368
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Romance
Publisher: Forever
Theme: Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Author: Melissa Wiesner
Language: English
Street Date: October 15, 2024
TCIN: 91161649
UPC: 9781538741948
Item Number (DPCI): 247-39-7636
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.88 inches length x 5.25 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy