Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

You Know What You Did - by K T Nguyen (Hardcover)

You Know What You Did - by  K T Nguyen (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
You Know What You Did - by  K T Nguyen (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$22.49 sale price when purchased online
$28.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • In this heart-pounding debut thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and Celeste Ng, a first-generation Vietnamese American artist must confront nightmares past and present. . . .
  • About the Author: K. T. Nguyen is a former magazine editor.
  • 384 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Thrillers

Description



About the Book



"Is someone out to get Annie? Or is she her own worst enemy?"--



Book Synopsis



In this heart-pounding debut thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and Celeste Ng, a first-generation Vietnamese American artist must confront nightmares past and present. . . .

Annie "Anh Le" Shaw grew up poor, but seems to have it all now: a dream career, a stunning home, and a devoted husband and daughter. When Annie's mother, a Vietnam War refugee, dies suddenly one night, Annie's carefully curated life begins to unravel. Her obsessive-compulsive disorder, which she thought she'd vanquished years ago, comes roaring back--but this time, the disturbing fixations swirling around in Annie's brain might actually be coming true.

A prominent art patron disappears, and the investigation zeroes in on Annie. Spiraling with self-doubt, she distances herself from her family and friends, only to wake up in a hotel room--naked, next to a lifeless body. The police have more questions, but with her mind increasingly fractured, Annie doesn't have answers. All she knows is this: She will do anything to protect her daughter--even if it means losing herself.

With dizzying twists, You Know What You Did is both a harrowing thriller and a heartfelt exploration of the refugee experience, the legacies we leave for our children, and the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters.



Review Quotes




A People Magazine Best Book of April 2024 "The Most Anticipated Crime Fiction of 2024" CrimeReads Spring 2024 Preview Mysteries & Thrillers Top 10 Publishers Weekly Publishers Marketplace 2024 BuzzBook "Readers' Most Anticipated Mysteries & Thrillers of 2024" Goodreads "New Debut Novels to Check Out This Season" Goodreads "The Best Mysteries and Thrillers of 2024" BookBub "Our Most Anticipated Crime Fiction Novels of 2024" Novel Suspects "18 Most Anticipated Books of 2024" BiblioLifestyle "The Best (And Most Anticipated) Mystery and Thriller Books of 2024" Elle Magazine

"A dizzying thriller that centers around mental illness, generational trauma, and how much we really know even those closest to us." --People

"With unflinching determination, Nguyen keeps readers pinned to the page in this dark, devastating psychological horror." --Elle

"[A] razor sharp debut...Here, complications from untreated mental illness drive the unreliable narrator trope for a swirly, tangled hair-raiser...As sinister as it is emotional, You Know What You Did explores mother-daughter relationships and generational trauma with taut, captivating prose and a touch of horror." --Seattle Times

"In this harrowing thriller, the main character has an increasingly fractured mind, leading to dizzying twists." --The Everygirl

"You Know What You Did is a gripping mystery for fans of Lisa Jewell and Celeste Ng that'll have you on the edge of your seat. " --Pure Wow

"This is a hot tamale of a release." --Bookriot

"[A] debut making serious waves this spring, You Know What You Did blends elements of the classic whodunit with serious explorations of mental illness and the immigrant experience." --Goodreads

"A twisty, horror-filled thriller... [an] incredibly compelling debut" --Booklist (*Starred Review*)

"[An] exhilarating debut...Braiding together hair-raising psychological suspense and poignant study of war's intergenerational trauma, Nguyen adds depth to the familiar setup of the unreliable, mentally ill heroine. Lisa Unger and Tess Gerritsen fans, take note." --Publishers Weekly

"The descriptions of Annie's OCD...and her struggles to control it are particularly visceral...[An] exploration of generational trauma and mental illness...There is healing to be had in the journey and the ending." --Kirkus Reviews

"Although this is Nguyen's debut, her voice is already self-assured and powerful, and I can't wait to see what she does next." --CrimeReads

"This book knocked the wind out of me. On top of its razor sharp twists and visceral scares, You Know What You Did taps into the true horror experienced by so many refugees and war survivors, and the way that trauma lives on through generations. Don't miss this brilliant thriller from a powerful new voice." --Ana Reyes, New York Times bestselling author of The House in the Pines

"You Know What You Did is an exciting, complex thriller that takes the reader on a thoroughly disturbing journey through the mind of a protagonist who may or may not be the villain. At times harrowing and heartfelt, You Know What You Did will keep you on the edge of your seat until the final page." --S.A. Cosby, New York Times bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and All the Sinners Bleed

"K.T. Nguyen's You Know What You Did is a stunning debut, a complex and compelling thriller that grabbed me from the first page and didn't let go until the very end. Nguyen's keen eye for detail and gorgeous prose contrasts with her deeply tormented narrator to set up an escalating tension that elevates this novel far above most domestic thrillers. I loved this book!" --Karen Dionne, #1 internationally bestselling author of The Marsh King's Daughter and The Wicked Sister

"Creepy-crawly and terrifyingly brilliant, You Know What You Did heralds the arrival of the remarkably talented K.T. Nguyen. Intergenerational trauma, mental health issues, and core memories are at the heart of this gripping, raw debut. With expert care, seamlessly structured time jumps, and a propulsive plot, Nguyen has crafted a genius, powerful, emotional thriller I will never forget." --Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of A Friend in the Dark

"You Know What You Did is a masterful puzzle begging to be solved. With an unreliable narrator you can't help but root for, plus twists and turns galore, I tore through this captivating debut with my breath held. I can't wait to read whatever K.T. Nguyen writes next." --Stephanie Wrobel, USA Today bestselling author of Darling Rose Gold and This Might Hurt

"A stunning debut that will stay with you. You Know What You Did is not only a twisty psychological thriller, it's a gripping story about the wars we wage from within, the fallacy of the American Dream, and, most of all, the love, dreams, and fears mothers hold for their daughters." --Alex Finlay, author of The Night Shift

"I got totally drawn in by this unusual, mysterious, atmospheric story and its complex protagonist. With themes of identity, guilt, mental illness, and fragmenting reality, you never quite know who or what to believe. Right until the end, I kept changing my mind about how all the intriguing pieces of this disturbing puzzle might resolve. It's definitely worth reading it to find out!" --Helen Cooper, author of The Downstairs Neighbor and The Couple in the Photo

"Eerie and unexpectedly emotional, You Know What You Did is a deceptive roller coaster ride. Nguyen's expertly crafted thriller layers in the intricate experience of being a first-gen immigrant daughter to create a story that stays with you long after its shocking conclusion." --Erin E. Adams, the Edgar, Bram Stoker, and Shirley Jackson Award-nominated author of Jackal

"I raced through this utterly suspenseful book. K.T. Nguyen kept me guessing with each new reveal, all while exploring generational trauma and mental illness compassionately and compellingly. You Know What You Did is dark, insightful, and absorbing." -- Tracy Sierra, author of Nightwatching




About the Author



K. T. Nguyen is a former magazine editor. Her features have appeared in Glamour, Shape, and Fitness. After graduating from Brown University, she spent her twenties and thirties hopping from New York City to Taipei, Beijing, Shanghai, and San Francisco. She's now settled just outside Washington, D.C. with her family and their adopted terrier Alice.
Dimensions (Overall): 9.1 Inches (H) x 6.2 Inches (W) x 1.6 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.25 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 384
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Dutton
Theme: Psychological
Format: Hardcover
Author: K T Nguyen
Language: English
Street Date: April 16, 2024
TCIN: 89745328
UPC: 9780593473856
Item Number (DPCI): 247-05-7168
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.6 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.25 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy