11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 411" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 2 of 411" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 3 of 411" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 4 of 4
11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 4
$70When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Compatible with 11" storage bins.
  • Comes with all hardware included.
  • Weight capacity is 15lb s per cube shelf.
  • Top shelf weight capacity is 50lbs
  • Required tools- Screwdriver, hammer

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 35.91 Inches (H) x 47.56 Inches (W) x 11.61 Inches (D)

Weight: 49.28 Pounds

Material: Particle Board (Frame)

Surface Material: Paper Laminate

Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided

Number of Shelves: 4

Compatible With: 11 Inch Cube Storage System

Number of compartments: 12

TCIN: 52104680
UPC: 840307040909
Item Number (DPCI): 002-11-0695
Origin: Imported
WARNING: This product can expose you to formaldehyde, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov. www.p65warnings.ca.gov

Description

Room Essentials™ ' 12 Cube Organizer has 12 convenient cube openings for storage and is compatible with Room Essentials™ 11" storage bins. Perfect for organizing any room in the house. This Room Essentials™ 12 Cube Organizer comes with all hardware included. To clean, wipe with a dry cloth.

Weight capacity is 15lbs per cube shelf.
Top shelf weight capacity is 50lbs

Required tools- Screwdriver, hammer

Overall Width: 47.56 inches
Overall Height: 35.94 inches
Overall Depth: 11.73 inches
Cube Compartment Width: 11.30 inches
Cube Compartment Height: 11.30 inches
Cube Compartment Depth: 11.65 inches
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 49.5 inches length x 12 inches width x 5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 54.5 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 365 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Do you have to mount this to a wall or can it just be placed on the floor ?

submitted by GiasMommy - 4 years ago
  • A: I have many of these types of items in my home, 3 cube up to 12 cube. As long as you do not go over the weight limit you will be fine with the free standing, but, don't put all heavy on the top and light on the bottom. Evenly distribute the weight throughout the cubby and you should be fine. I normally put all really heavy on the bottom. But if you have kids that love to climb, secure this to the wall it will tip on them.

    submitted byRox33anne - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello. This unit must be mounted to the wall with the L-bracket provided to ensure the stability and prevent tipping. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: I have the 9 cube and the 6 cubes ones for years and they always were on the floor. I also bought the 12 cube one but have yet to assemble it. I plan to have it directly on the tile floor with 4 vertical and 3 horizontal.

    submitted bybrandie - 10 months ago
  • A: We have ours free standing on the floor, we have never had any stability issues on carpet whatsoever. I would not recommend it if you have children climbing it - if you do, you need to stabilize it but on carpet, it's not going anywhere unless someone decides its coming down.

    submitted byMichelle - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi GiasMommy - This is a great shelf for keeping organized and displaying items. We recommend securing it to a wall. Thanks! - Philip

    submitted byPhilip - 4 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: When we stack, do we completely assemble the second unit and then attach the bottom shelf to the top shelf of the other one or do we leave the bottom shelf off the second unit and attach the uprights and inner cubes only?

submitted by Kathleen - 4 years ago
  • A: Kathleen, I just finished building a 12-cube unit. They come with dowels and pre-drilled holes for stacking, as well as a wall anchor (absolutely essential when stacking). You would completely assemble both units then stack so they are 4 wide by 6 high. There will be a double thickness (bottom of top unit + top of bottom unit) across the middle. The total height would be approx. 70" (6 ft.). Tomorrow, I'm going to get another 12-cube + an 8-cube. Gambling that the 8-cube can be stacked on the 12 (total 4 wide x 5 high) for a total height of 5 ft.

    submitted byColleen - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. You will want to completely assemble both units before stacking. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Kathleen - Thanks for checking out our Room Essentials™ cube organizers. We don't recommend stacking additional organizers on top of this item. I hope this helps as you hunt for the perfect storage piece for your space. - Alli

    submitted byAlli - 4 years ago

Q: Is it a must to install all the shelves? because i need a space of 16x22 inch

submitted by Jay - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. All dividers/shelves must be installed into the organizer for stability of the unit. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Jay, if the object you'll be placing in the 16 x 22 inch space is not too heavy, and the items you plan to place in the other spaces aren't extremely heavy, you can omit a shelf (not so with the 1-2-3 step 6-cube unit). You get 4 long pieces, 2 shorter outside pieces, and then all the internal shelves/dividers (depending on whether you use horizontally or vertically) are individual 11" x 11" pieces attached with screws. The unit is very sturdy and I wouldn't hesitate to do it.

    submitted byColleen - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Jay - Thanks for your question. This 12-cube shelf is designed to be built to assembly specifications. I hope this helps! - Michelle

    submitted byMichelle - 4 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: The 12 cube describes the dark finish as "espresso brown" while the 9 cube just says "espresso." Are they actually the same color, or is one more black than the other? Thanks!

submitted by Heather - 4 years ago
  • A: While waiting for an answer here I did online chat with Target customer service and that individual told me that they were NOT the same color. I bought the 9 cube organizer (since it sounded like that one was the color I needed) even though I would have preferred the size of the 12 cube organizer. I haven't put it together yet, so could exchange it. Can you double check and confirm if they really are the same color? Sorry and thank you!

    submitted byHeather - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Heather - Thanks for viewing our organizational shelf! The color is the same between the 12” and the 9”. They are perfect for organizing any room in your house. Thanks for dropping by. - Anita.

    submitted byAnita - 4 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Hello. Both are the same finish. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can the shelf be reversed for additional height ?

submitted by GC - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello. You can use the unit either horizontally, or vertically. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: It can be positioned either horizontally (3 shelves high x 4 shelves wide) or vertically (4 shelves high x 3 shelves wide). I bought this and a 1-2-3 stepped 6-cube unit. Positioning this unit 4 high next to the 1-2-3 stepped unit, this makes a 4th step. Looks great and our cat loves it. When 4 high, be sure to use the wall anchor that is included.

    submitted byColleen - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi GC - Thanks for browsing our cubbies & storage cubes. It's perfect for organizing a variety of spaces, and is designed to be used as pictured, without modification. I recommend checking out the "guest reviews" You may find other guests' thoughts, and opinions helpful. Happy shopping! – Julie

    submitted byJulie - 4 years ago

Q: How long does it take to assemble? Can the job be done by a single person?

submitted by philly72 - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. This unit will take about an hour to assemble. It can be done by one person, but is much easier with two. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Can very easily be assembled by one person, but the carton indicates TEAM LIFT, indicating that you need two people to get the box in the house. My solution? Have a Target Team Member help me put it in my car, then when I got home, I opened the box in the car and carried a few pieces at a time. I've done this with a lot of heavy assemble-it-yourself furniture.

    submitted byColleen - 4 years ago
  • A: Hello philly72 - Thanks for checking. Many guests have found this 12-cube organizer easy to assemble, with only a screwdriver and hammer needed. All the hardware is included. Hope it works for you. - Andrew

    submitted byAndrew - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: are both sides finished so that it can stand in the center of a room

submitted by KEH - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. No, both sides are not finished, and the unit needs to be secured to the wall with the L-bracket included. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: no, the back side is not finished, it's like cork board looking

    submitted bychelsea - 5 years ago
  • A: Hi KEH – Thanks for asking! This is a great cabinet to hold and organize your things. It does come with anchors to secure it to the wall. - Anita

    submitted byAnita - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: Can you choose which cubes have a backing and which cubes don't?

submitted by Kyorek - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. You can. However, our product designers have them placed as shown for maximum stability. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: You’re able to choose where you’d like to place the backings.

    submitted byGeno Gurl - 5 years ago
  • A: Hi Kyorek - Thanks for asking. This handy storage unit is the perfect way to help organize a variety of items. The unit is designed for the backing to be placed as pictured. Happy organizing! - Jenny

    submitted byJenny - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: Can I use this vertically, so that it is taller than wide? I am thinking of using this as a room divider.

submitted by OnlineShopper - 5 years ago
  • A: the back side is not finished tho! it's not white, it's like cork board looking

    submitted bychelsea - 5 years ago
  • A: Hi OnlineShopper - Great question! This cube organizer can be used either vertically or horizontally. Thanks for checking in on it! -Michelle

    submitted byMichelle - 5 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Hello. Yes, you can set this up vertically or horizontally. Please be sure to attach it to the wall with the included L-bracket. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can you skip the backings? I'd prefer a more uniform look (either all with a back or none at all)? Thanks!

submitted by - 2 years ago
  • A: More backings = more sturdy. It comes with 6 backings but I want all 12 cubes to have backings. I called their customer service hotline (844) 755-7278 over a dozen times but they never answer :(

    submitted byRyan - 8 months ago
  • A: Hi callie - Thanks for browsing our cube organizer shelves. We do not recommend that you modify this piece and assemble it as is. I hope this helps! - Katrina

    submitted byKatrina - 2 years ago
    Target staff support
4.0 out of 5 stars with 1305 reviews
74% would recommend
733 recommendations
value: 4.04 out of 5
quality: 3.62 out of 5

Would recommend

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Natalie - 9 days ago
I would recommend this cube organizer if you’re looking for convenience! I was able to build it alone, I’m sure it’d be easier/ faster with some help. I only give it 4 stars because it is a little wobbly, not extremely sturdy. You get what you pay for! Overall it’s a steal for the price and size.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Lmvm - 9 days ago, Verified purchaser
Fits everything. Make things very organized
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Love it

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
My son loves it - 16 days ago, Verified purchaser
Great quality for the price
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Decent for the price

5 out of 5 stars
Kevdog - 17 days ago, Verified purchaser
So yeah, it's nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. Instructions are great and everything is included for putting together. I assembled it all by myself and screwdriver, grown man status.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Kids Storage

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
NikiM - 21 days ago, Verified purchaser
Great storage option for kids toys. It’s not the most supportive though so keep that in mind when choosing what to store in it.
value: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Affordable but not very durable or ideal

3 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Holly - 24 days ago, Verified purchaser
Stand is very flimsy and not meant to hold a lot of weight. Fragile so be careful when moving. The cube slots are not big enough for textbooks. I prefer bright room brand
quality: 3 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Got it in sale would recommend

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Vipol - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Good design and useful, cannot move once set
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Cheap

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Nanc - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Cheap! The material is starting to fall apart & you cannot get it wet at all or it will start to bulge up & basically make the wood rise up.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Dont waste your money

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Mad customer - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
This product is awful very poor quality absolutely do not recommend the nails break the wood
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Cubical

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Melissa - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Easiest item I have ever had to put together. Great price!
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Porc - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Pretty straightforward installation and looks nice
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Cube

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Organizer - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Great quality and deliver was fast
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Bad buy.

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Rocky - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Difficult to put together. After reading instructions I returned it.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Go with another brand

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Suki - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Works as it should. Sturdy enough. Came with some scratched pieces. The screws don’t sink in so when you put the “caps” on to cover the heads, it still sticks out and looks kinda crappy. Wouldn’t buy this brand again.
value: 3 out of 5
quality: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Perfect!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
DK - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I needed to organize my storage room and this, along with the storage bins is perfect for the small loose items. I love it.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great toy organizer

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
SH - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
The cube organizer was very easy to put together and works well to hold me sons toys in his play room!!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Damaged

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
secret - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Damaged on the corners and delivered to my home with Damaged packaging (box) and corners of the wood Damaged
Did you find this review helpful?

poor construction

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
sofia - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
The holes in the sides of the boards didn't line up and the shelf is not very sturdy
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Exactly What We Needed

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Meg - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
It's a cube organizer - so really, what I wanted from this was something reasonably sturdy, easy to assemble, and capable of holding fabric bins for organization. This one fits the bill at a great price point, especially on sale. It came together quickly with two people working, and it's light enough to move into place easily while still being strong enough to not fall apart while we moved it. We're using it to store extra clothes in fabric bins, and it's perfect for that. Is it an heriloom-quality piece that I'll carry through multiple moves and eventually leave to my children? No. But it keeps the clothes off the floor and didn't cost an arm and a leg, which is all I wanted from it.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Cheaply made

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Lianna - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
When trying to put it together it was cracked, returned right away.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads