Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™

11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 4
11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 2 of 4
11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 3 of 4
11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 4 of 4
11" 12 Cube Organizer Shelf - Room Essentials™ - image 1 of 4
$60.00 when purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Compatible with 11" storage bins.
  • Comes with all hardware included.
  • Weight capacity is 15lb s per cube shelf.
  • Top shelf weight capacity is 50lbs
  • Required tools- Screwdriver, hammer

Description

Room Essentials™ ' 12 Cube Organizer has 12 convenient cube openings for storage and is compatible with Room Essentials™ 11" storage bins. Perfect for organizing any room in the house. This Room Essentials™ 12 Cube Organizer comes with all hardware included. To clean, wipe with a dry cloth.

Weight capacity is 15lbs per cube shelf.
Top shelf weight capacity is 50lbs

Required tools- Screwdriver, hammer

Overall Width: 47.56 inches
Overall Height: 35.94 inches
Overall Depth: 11.73 inches
Cube Compartment Width: 11.30 inches
Cube Compartment Height: 11.30 inches
Cube Compartment Depth: 11.65 inches
Dimensions (Overall): 35.91 Inches (H) x 47.56 Inches (W) x 11.61 Inches (D)
Weight: 49.28 Pounds
Material: Particle Board (Frame)
Surface Material: Paper Laminate
Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided
Number of Shelves: 4
Compatible With: 11 Inch Cube Storage System
Number of compartments: 12
TCIN: 52104680
UPC: 840307040909
Item Number (DPCI): 002-11-0695
Origin: Imported
WARNING: This product can expose you to formaldehyde, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov. www.p65warnings.ca.gov
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 49.5 inches length x 12 inches width x 5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 54.5 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 365 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Do you have to mount this to a wall or can it just be placed on the floor ?

submitted by GiasMommy - 5 years ago
  • A: I have many of these types of items in my home, 3 cube up to 12 cube. As long as you do not go over the weight limit you will be fine with the free standing, but, don't put all heavy on the top and light on the bottom. Evenly distribute the weight throughout the cubby and you should be fine. I normally put all really heavy on the bottom. But if you have kids that love to climb, secure this to the wall it will tip on them.

    submitted byRox33anne - 5 years ago
  • A: We have ours free standing on the floor, we have never had any stability issues on carpet whatsoever. I would not recommend it if you have children climbing it - if you do, you need to stabilize it but on carpet, it's not going anywhere unless someone decides its coming down.

    submitted byMichelle - 4 years ago
  • A: I have the 9 cube and the 6 cubes ones for years and they always were on the floor. I also bought the 12 cube one but have yet to assemble it. I plan to have it directly on the tile floor with 4 vertical and 3 horizontal.

    submitted bybrandie - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi GiasMommy - This is a great shelf for keeping organized and displaying items. We recommend securing it to a wall. Thanks! - Philip

    submitted byPhilip - 5 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Hello. This unit must be mounted to the wall with the L-bracket provided to ensure the stability and prevent tipping. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this sustain the weight of an aquarium on top of it?

submitted by ad52859 - 5 years ago
  • A: 5g max on a kallax. If your looking to hold a 10g the compact desk by room essentials holds great. you're going to need an actual stand if it's a 20g.

    submitted bypenjamin - 1 year ago
  • A: Hello. The maximum weight for the top shelf is 50 pounds evenly distributed. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hello ad52859 - The top shelf can support no more than 50 lbs. Thank you for reaching out. - Aaron

    submitted byAaron - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: When we stack, do we completely assemble the second unit and then attach the bottom shelf to the top shelf of the other one or do we leave the bottom shelf off the second unit and attach the uprights and inner cubes only?

submitted by Kathleen - 5 years ago
  • A: Kathleen, I just finished building a 12-cube unit. They come with dowels and pre-drilled holes for stacking, as well as a wall anchor (absolutely essential when stacking). You would completely assemble both units then stack so they are 4 wide by 6 high. There will be a double thickness (bottom of top unit + top of bottom unit) across the middle. The total height would be approx. 70" (6 ft.). Tomorrow, I'm going to get another 12-cube + an 8-cube. Gambling that the 8-cube can be stacked on the 12 (total 4 wide x 5 high) for a total height of 5 ft.

    submitted byColleen - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. You will want to completely assemble both units before stacking. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Kathleen - Thanks for checking out our Room Essentials™ cube organizers. We don't recommend stacking additional organizers on top of this item. I hope this helps as you hunt for the perfect storage piece for your space. - Alli

    submitted byAlli - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: Is it a must to install all the shelves? because i need a space of 16x22 inch

submitted by Jay - 5 years ago
  • A: Jay, if the object you'll be placing in the 16 x 22 inch space is not too heavy, and the items you plan to place in the other spaces aren't extremely heavy, you can omit a shelf (not so with the 1-2-3 step 6-cube unit). You get 4 long pieces, 2 shorter outside pieces, and then all the internal shelves/dividers (depending on whether you use horizontally or vertically) are individual 11" x 11" pieces attached with screws. The unit is very sturdy and I wouldn't hesitate to do it.

    submitted byColleen - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. All dividers/shelves must be installed into the organizer for stability of the unit. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Jay - Thanks for your question. This 12-cube shelf is designed to be built to assembly specifications. I hope this helps! - Michelle

    submitted byMichelle - 5 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: The 12 cube describes the dark finish as "espresso brown" while the 9 cube just says "espresso." Are they actually the same color, or is one more black than the other? Thanks!

submitted by Heather - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. Both are the same finish. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Heather - Thanks for viewing our organizational shelf! The color is the same between the 12” and the 9”. They are perfect for organizing any room in your house. Thanks for dropping by. - Anita.

    submitted byAnita - 6 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: While waiting for an answer here I did online chat with Target customer service and that individual told me that they were NOT the same color. I bought the 9 cube organizer (since it sounded like that one was the color I needed) even though I would have preferred the size of the 12 cube organizer. I haven't put it together yet, so could exchange it. Can you double check and confirm if they really are the same color? Sorry and thank you!

    submitted byHeather - 6 years ago

Q: Can I stain this product in a different color since it is only available in white and espresso?

submitted by Reese - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. No, we do not recommend painting or staining the laminate finish. It may cause the laminate finish to bubble up or peel. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi Reese - This is a great item to organize your room, but it is not intended to be stained. Hope you think it's great! - Shelly

    submitted byShelly - 6 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: I painted mine wno issue. I did research. Used DecoArt American Satin Emanel. Added wallpaper.to backsThis has been almost 3 years ago. I did 2 units. Just very lightly hand buff with a sanding pad., wipedown

    submitted byBeeMeaux - 2 months ago

Q: Can the shelf be reversed for additional height ?

submitted by GC - 6 years ago
  • A: It can be positioned either horizontally (3 shelves high x 4 shelves wide) or vertically (4 shelves high x 3 shelves wide). I bought this and a 1-2-3 stepped 6-cube unit. Positioning this unit 4 high next to the 1-2-3 stepped unit, this makes a 4th step. Looks great and our cat loves it. When 4 high, be sure to use the wall anchor that is included.

    submitted byColleen - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello. You can use the unit either horizontally, or vertically. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi GC - Thanks for browsing our cubbies & storage cubes. It's perfect for organizing a variety of spaces, and is designed to be used as pictured, without modification. I recommend checking out the "guest reviews" You may find other guests' thoughts, and opinions helpful. Happy shopping! – Julie

    submitted byJulie - 6 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: How long does it take to assemble? Can the job be done by a single person?

submitted by philly72 - 6 years ago
  • A: Can very easily be assembled by one person, but the carton indicates TEAM LIFT, indicating that you need two people to get the box in the house. My solution? Have a Target Team Member help me put it in my car, then when I got home, I opened the box in the car and carried a few pieces at a time. I've done this with a lot of heavy assemble-it-yourself furniture.

    submitted byColleen - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello philly72 - Thanks for checking. Many guests have found this 12-cube organizer easy to assemble, with only a screwdriver and hammer needed. All the hardware is included. Hope it works for you. - Andrew

    submitted byAndrew - 6 years ago
    Target staff support
  • A: Hello. This unit will take about an hour to assemble. It can be done by one person, but is much easier with two. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: are both sides finished so that it can stand in the center of a room

submitted by KEH - 6 years ago
  • A: no, the back side is not finished, it's like cork board looking

    submitted bychelsea - 6 years ago
  • A: Hello. No, both sides are not finished, and the unit needs to be secured to the wall with the L-bracket included. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Hi KEH – Thanks for asking! This is a great cabinet to hold and organize your things. It does come with anchors to secure it to the wall. - Anita

    submitted byAnita - 6 years ago
    Target staff support

Q: Can you choose which cubes have a backing and which cubes don't?

submitted by Kyorek - 7 years ago
  • A: Hello. You can. However, our product designers have them placed as shown for maximum stability. Thank you for your inquiry.

    submitted byClosetMaid - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: You’re able to choose where you’d like to place the backings.

    submitted byGeno Gurl - 6 years ago
  • A: Hi Kyorek - Thanks for asking. This handy storage unit is the perfect way to help organize a variety of items. The unit is designed for the backing to be placed as pictured. Happy organizing! - Jenny

    submitted byJenny - 7 years ago
    Target staff support
4.1 out of 5 stars with 2527 reviews
70% would recommend
891 recommendations
quality: 3.49 out of 5
value: 3.88 out of 5

Pay attention to the details.

4 out of 5 stars
Momma on a Mission - 5 days ago
Boards are not well marked so I definitely broke through the sides trying to hammer dowels when they didnt need it. Super disappointed but I can stil make it work. I was in a rush so I sisnt take the time to inspect each peice of wood for a marking in the rough wood side. I was expecting stickers that were clearly visible in the finished part of the wood. This created a inaccurate board being used. Finally able to figure it out and finished the build.
Did you find this review helpful?

Allergic to this item

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Targetshopper999 - 11 days ago, Verified purchaser
Gave me sinusitis and breathing issues. Take the formaldehyde warning this comes with seriously, especially if you have young children or asthma.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Price to high for a poor quality product.

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Kari - 14 days ago, Verified purchaser
Im so sad with this product😩 I buyed because I didn’t want to spend about 30 dollars more at IKEA store but my $70 was wasted💔 I buyed this on march 14. It’s not even the 3rd month yet this already is trash😩😭😭😭 the quality it’s bad, too weak and the screws do not fit the wood (they are loose) the color start to get out.🤦🏻♀️ As my opinion, target should stop selling this product😞
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Flimsy, Waste of Money

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Ashwells84 - 17 days ago, Verified purchaser
If I could give zero stars I would. This is the most flimsy terrible shelf I’ve ever purchased. I have assembled perfectly and do t expect this to last a month. Not suitable to hold any weight.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great buy. Easy assembly

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Neen - 17 days ago, Verified purchaser
This was so easy to assemble by myself. The directions are easy. Took me a little over an hour to do alone. Came with extra hardware, which was nice. I used it vertically but it will sit horizontally too.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy set up

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
CS - 17 days ago, Verified purchaser
Really easy to set up. Looks great in my room
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good for price point.

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
TANNERSMOM - 18 days ago, Verified purchaser
Easy to put together and has been sturdy. It was easy to put together I had not issues with parts, or misalignment. I actually stacked it sideways onto another one had from a moving sale and I have had no problems.
Did you find this review helpful?

No quality material

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
AJ - 21 days ago, Verified purchaser
It was horrible experience to assemble it. The long plastic connector snapped and collapsed to each other while putting it together. Thank god that my kids weren’t around. I ended up throwing it into trash. Never buying this brand from target in future.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good storage option

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Clc95 - 26 days ago, Verified purchaser
Easy to put together and multi-functional.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Waste of $ better to just purchase from ikea

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Erika - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Purchased 4 months ago. Shelf is already leaning and falling over. For $70 this is not durable at all.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great shelf

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Lagi37 - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
It was easy to put together and the shelf is sturdy. It holds a good amount in each cubby which I like. We’re hiding our internet boxes in one of the bottom baskets which is the whole reason we bought this for the house.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Too flimsy

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Leelee2377 - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Extremely flimsy, not worth the money.
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Cheap Materials, Good storage

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Poor Materials Quality - 2 months ago
Wood is constructed from cheap particle board. I bought one of these with dinged up cardboard packaging, and after opening it at home found that the pieces were damaged. More though- you can see the wood sections pretty clearly, its cheap construction.
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Easy build and quality storage unit

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Pandadaisy666 - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Easy to put together and sturdy
Did you find this review helpful?

Too flimsy for its own good

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Lauren - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I’m no stranger to cheap furniture items like this but this one was extremely poor quality. It basically collapsed on itself mid assembly and all the areas that were screwed together just split and the screws pulled out. I’ve got multiple pieces of furniture that are put together similarly to this that I’ve assembled by myself in the past including the target bookcases, but this is by far the worst one I’ve dealt with. I wouldn’t recommend it at any point
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Not sturdy for price

3 out of 5 stars
Christiana - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
These things are so flimsy!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Pretty nice

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Reviewer - 3 months ago
Assembly took a while
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Do not waste time.

1 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
LGroves - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
I know I shouldn’t expect much from an item like this but I expected more than it delivered. First off the “short” dowels get completely lost in the piece before even attaching it to the other board. Dont try to get these out with pliers. They are plastic and you will disintegrate anything left that resembled a dowel. Second NONE of the screws fully tighten down. Not a single one. So therefore the whole piece is left wobbly and the aesthetic screw caps stick out away from the piece. The only positive thing to come out of this was a box for my dog to play with. Horribly executed design. Do not purchase.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Cubical storage

3 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Shfd - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Good for the price! It’s pretty small and not that stable
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Wanted to like it but no

2 out of 5 stars
Thumbs down graphic, would not recommend
Donna - 3 months ago
Not very sturdy, peeling laminate and a hole was drilled incorrectly
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy