Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

A Sharp Solitude - (Glacier Mystery) by Christine Carbo (Paperback)

A Sharp Solitude - (Glacier Mystery) by  Christine Carbo (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
A Sharp Solitude - (Glacier Mystery) by  Christine Carbo (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$10.99 sale price when purchased online
$17.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • A gripping new mystery from the "fresh new voice in the thriller genre" (Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author) and author of The Wild Inside, set in the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park--for fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr.
  • Author(s): Christine Carbo
  • 368 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Thrillers
  • Series Name: Glacier Mystery

Description



About the Book



"In the darkening days of autumn, a murdered journalist's body is discovered in a remote region near the Canadian border. Before she was found, Anne Marie Johnson had been writing an article about a canine research program that uses trained dogs to track scientific data. She was last seen with a man named Reeve Landon, whose chocolate Lab was one of the subjects of the piece. Now he's the prime suspect. Back in the FBI's regional office in Montana, investigator Ali Paige is not officially assigned to the case since the crime was committed outside federal land. But Landon happens to be an ex-boyfriend and the father of her child. He calls Ali for help while he is being questioning but soon he goads her to find out what really happened to Anne Marie. Intensely private and paranoid, Landon ventures deep into in the woods to avoid being arrested. But even as he evades the detectives, Landon secretly feels the whole thing is somehow deserved, a karmic punishment for the horrifying crime he committed as a young boy. As for Ali, she has only one objective in mind: to save her daughter from the pain of abandonment she endured as a child. As the clock ticks and the noose tightens around Landon's neck, Ali isn't sure how far she will go to find out the truth. And what if truth is not something she wants to know? Set against the breathtaking terrain of Glacier National Park, this page-turning and suspenseful novel demonstrates that no one can ever really outrun their demons, even in the vast terrain of Northwest Montana"--



Book Synopsis



A gripping new mystery from the "fresh new voice in the thriller genre" (Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author) and author of The Wild Inside, set in the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park--for fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr.

In the darkening days of autumn, in a remote region near the Canadian border, a journalist has been murdered. Anne Marie Johnson was last seen with Reeve Landon, whose chocolate Labrador was part of an article she had been writing about a scientific canine research program. Now Landon is the prime suspect. Intensely private and paranoid, in a panic that he'll be wrongfully arrested, he ventures deep into in the woods. Even as he evades the detective, Landon secretly feels the whole thing is somehow deserved, a karmic punishment for a horrifying crime he committed as a young boy.

While Montana FBI investigator Ali Paige is not officially assigned to the case, Landon--an ex-boyfriend and the father of her child--needs help. Ali has only one objective for snooping around the edges of an investigation she's not authorized to pursue: to save her daughter the shame of having a father in jail and the pain of abandonment she endured as a child. As the clock ticks and the noose tightens around Landon's neck, Ali isn't sure how far she will go to find out the truth. And what if the truth is not something she wants to know?

A Sharp Solitude is a study of two flawed characters, bonded by a child, trying to make their way in an extraordinary place where escape seems possible. But no one can ever really outrun their demons, even in the vast terrain of Glacier, the ultimate backdrop for a journey of the soul.



Review Quotes




"Carbo skillfully combines the tension and starkness of the wilderness with complex and layered characters."
--RT Book Review

"The stark and menacing atmosphere, combined with crisp writing and complex characters, make this a rewarding read."
--Booklist

"Gripping...a thrilling new mystery perfect for nature lovers."

-Bustle

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.3 Inches (W) x 1.0 Inches (D)
Weight: .6 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 368
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Series Title: Glacier Mystery
Publisher: Atria Books
Theme: Suspense
Format: Paperback
Author: Christine Carbo
Language: English
Street Date: May 29, 2018
TCIN: 53476311
UPC: 9781501156335
Item Number (DPCI): 248-72-4413
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.3 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.6 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy