Aphrodite Made Me Do It - by Trista Mateer (Paperback)

Aphrodite Made Me Do It - by Trista Mateer (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Aphrodite Made Me Do It - by Trista Mateer (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$9.63When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.2 Inch (W) x .6 Inch (D)

Weight: .7 Pounds

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 224

Format: Paperback

Genre: Poetry

Sub-Genre: Subjects & Themes

Publisher: Central Avenue Publishing

Author: Trista Mateer

Book theme: Love & Erotica

Language: English

Street Date: October 1, 2019
TCIN: 77506877
UPC: 9781771681742
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-9885
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Bestselling and award-winning author Mateer takes an imaginative approach to self-care in this new poetry and prose collection. In this empowering retelling, she uses the mythology of the goddess to weave a common thread through the past and present.



Book Synopsis



Voted one of the best poetry collections of 2019 by readers on Goodreads! Bestselling and Goodreads Choice Award winning poet Trista Mateer takes a magical approach to self-care with her new collection, Aphrodite Made Me Do It.

In this empowering and feminist retelling, Mateer transforms the mythology of the goddess into 224 pages of modern poetry and full-color artwork. Broken into sections alternating between the perspective of The Poet and Aphrodite herself, the work within tackles the timeless topic of love--romantic, platonic, and self-love. The collection addresses issues like heartbreak, sexuality, womanhood, trauma, and the restorative power in taking control of your own lore, speaking your truths, and rewriting your origin story. If you let her, by the end of this book, Aphrodite will make you believe in the possibility of your own healing.

"If you were only made to be beautiful, we wouldn't have put you down here in the dirt."Perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace, Nikita Gill, Rupi Kaur, Elizabeth Acevedo, Rick Riordan, and Madeline Miller; or anyone interested in Greek myths, tarot, and Instagram poetry.



Review Quotes



"Aphrodite Made Me Do It is a dazzling portal of a collection. Trista Mateer erupts with spells of thunder and then gifts you with a careful platter of language to cast them yourself." --Blythe Baird, Author of If My Body Could Speak

"Aphrodite Made Me Do It is a gentle scream from outside of your window. You will find grace between these pages and a little sadness, too--the kind that makes flowers grow in all of the places you need them most." --Wilder, author of Nocturnal



About The Author



Trista Mateer is a visual artist, poet, writer and freelance editor who began putting words on paper at twelve and never found a good enough reason to stop. Known for her eponymous blog, she is now the author of multiple poetry collections, including When The Stars Wrote Back (2020), Aphrodite Made Me Do It (2019), Honeybee (2018), and The Dogs I Have Kissed (2015) which won a Goodreads Choice Award the year of its release.

She currently lives in a house by the sea in New Jersey; and when she's not wrangling her cat, Honeybun, she stares out at the water and waits for the words to wash ashore.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.25 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads