Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Book of Night - by Holly Black

Book of Night - by Holly Black - image 1 of 1
Book of Night - by Holly Black - image 1 of 1
$14.94 sale price when purchased online
$27.99 list price

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

In Charlie Hall's world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and cosmetic preferences--but also to increase power and influence. You can alter someone's feelings--and memories--but manipulating shadows has a cost, with the potential to take hours or days from your life. Your shadow holds all the parts of you that you want to keep hidden--a second self, standing just to your left, walking behind you into lit rooms.

And sometimes, it has a life of its own.

Charlie is a low-level con artist, working as a bartender while trying to distance herself from the powerful and dangerous underground world of shadow trading. She gets by doing odd jobs for her patrons and the naive new money in her town at the edge of the Berkshires.

But when a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie's present life is thrown into chaos, and her future seems at best, unclear--and at worst, non-existent. Determined to survive, Charlie throws herself into a maelstrom of secrets and murder, setting her against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, shadow thieves, and her own sister--all desperate to control the magic of the shadows.

With sharp angles and prose, and a sinister bent, Holly Black is a master of shadow and story stitching. Remember while you read, light isn't playing tricks in Book of Night, the people are.

Praise for Holly Black:

"Black is a master at world-building." --The New York Times Book Review

"No one writes like Holly Black." --John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author



Review Quotes




Praise for Holly Black:

"No one writes like Holly Black--eerie and vivid." --John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"I will never forget my first time reading Holly Black...Such a beautiful writer." --Daisy Johnson, Man Booker Prize finalist and author of Sisters

"Black is a master at world-building" --The New York Times Book Review

Praise for The Cruel Prince:

"Lush, dangerous, a dark jewel of a book.... This delicious story will seduce you and leave you desperate for just one more page." --Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows and the Shadow and Bone trilogy

"I require book two immediately. Holly is the Faerie Queen." --Victoria Aveyard, #1 bestselling author of the Red Queen series




About the Author



Holly Black is the #1 New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of speculative and fantasy novels, short stories, and comics. She has sold over 26 million books worldwide, and her work has been translated into over 30 languages and adapted for film. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret library. Book of Night is her adult fiction debut.

You can read more about her on https: //BlackHolly.com/

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 368
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Tor Books
Format: Hardcover
Author: Holly Black
Book theme: Contemporary
Language: English
Street Date: May 3, 2022
TCIN: 83787230
UPC: 9781250812193
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-8557
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.38 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
4.3 out of 5 stars with 9 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Hoping for a follow up story!

4 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
AmberMc922 - 5 months ago, Verified purchaser
I enjoyed this story. It takes me a long time to decide on which book to read and I’m happy I settled on this one. The story based on shadows was interesting and the main character was well developed. I was leery because the author usually writes YA and this was her first actual adult book. You do have to pay attention as she explains the different types of shadow magic throughout, but that’s what makes it good. I hope she follows it up! There’s definitely potential for more world building and stories.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy