Loading, please wait...
Caterpillar Summer - by Gillian McDunn - image 1 of 1
Caterpillar Summer - by Gillian McDunn - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inch (W) x 1.3 Inch (D)

Weight: .9 Pounds

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Family, Social Themes

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books

Author: Gillian McDunn

Age Range: 4-8 Years

Book theme: Friendship, Siblings

Language: English

Street Date: April 2, 2019
TCIN: 54449528
UPC: 9781681197432
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-1727
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



Since her father's death, Cat has taken care of her brother for their hardworking mother. While spending time with grandparents they never knew, Cat can be a kid again, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another's shoes.



Book Synopsis



This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story of a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget.

An engaging, honest book. --Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life

A beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up."--Kate Messner, author of Breakout and The Seventh Wish

Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond--Cat is one of the few people who can keep Chicken happy. When he has a meltdown she's the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She's the one who knows what Chicken needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat has been the glue holding her family together.

But even the strongest glue sometimes struggles to hold. When a summer trip doesn't go according to plan, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they never knew. For the first time in years, Cat has the opportunity to be a kid again, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken or strained relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another's shoes.

An Indies Introduce Pick
A Parents Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Year



Review Quotes



An engaging, honest book--I love Cat, and you will, too! - Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE

I could almost smell the ocean air as I read Gillian McDunn's Caterpillar Summer. What a beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up. - Kate Messner, author of BREAKOUT and THE SEVENTH WISH

An engrossing, heartwarming, beautifully written debut about building and rebuilding family ties. - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

McDunn's poignant, gratifying debut about friendship and family encourages both empathy and hope. - Publishers Weekly, starred review

This absorbing, heartfelt novel seamlessly blends the challenges of life with a neurodivergent child into a story of one tween's burgeoning self-awareness as she figures out how to reclaim her childhood. - New York Times Book Review

A sweet summer story that middle grade readers will appreciate. - School Library Journal

Fans of the books Rules by Cynthia Lord and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine will enjoy this well-written book about the struggles of a fractured family. - School Library Connection

Readers will find Cat to be an admirable and fully credible heroine . . . and the idyllic island setting makes for a wistful summer escape. - BCCB



About The Author



Gillian McDunn has lived in California, Missouri, and North Carolina, and is a fan of both the Pacific and the Atlantic Oceans. Like Cat, Gillian grew up as the big sister to a younger brother with special needs. She lives near Raleigh, NC, with her family. This is her first book.
gillianmcdunn.com

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.51 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), California, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.