Mother's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Dory Dory Black Sheep - Reprint (Dory Fantasmagory) by Abby Hanlon (Paperback)

Dory Dory Black Sheep -  Reprint (Dory Fantasmagory) by Abby Hanlon (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Dory Dory Black Sheep -  Reprint (Dory Fantasmagory) by Abby Hanlon (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$7.98 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



In her third chapter book, rascally Dory takes reluctant reading to new heights with a hilarious adventure through the power of imagination. Illustrations.



Book Synopsis



Dory turns learning to read into a hilarious adventure through the power of imagination--perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean!

Ever since Dory met Rosabelle, a real true friend whose imagination and high spirits match her own, school has been pretty good. But now the class is learning to read, and it's proving to be a challenge for Dory. While Rosabelle can read chapter books in her head, Dory is stuck with baby books about a happy little farm. Dory wishes for a potion to turn her into a reader but things don't go as planned. Suddenly, a naughty little girl who looks an awful lot like Dory's imaginary nemesis, Mrs. Gobble Gracker, shows up. And a black sheep leaves the pages of the farm book to follow Dory to school. It really needs her help--this seems like a job for a superhero! And it would help if she knew how to read.

In her third book, Dory takes reluctant reading to new heights with a story that is as one-of-a-kind and hilarious as she is.

An especially wonderful book to share with reluctant readers...I can't imagine a book more calculated to reinforce the power of reading and becoming a reader than Dory Dory Black Sheep. It is a true triumph. --Publishers Weekly ShelfTalker

Hanlon has a winning way with the story's characters (real and imaginary) and dialogue." --Booklist



Review Quotes



Praise for Dory Dory Black Sheep

An especially wonderful book to share with reluctant readers...I can't imagine a book more calculated to reinforce the power of reading and becoming a reader than Dory Dory Black Sheep. It is a true triumph. --Publishers Weekly ShelfTalker

Hanlon has a winning way with the story's characters (real and imaginary) and dialogue.... The third entry in the Dory Fantasmagory series will satisfy the many young chapter-book readers who like their books served with a generous helping of fun. --Booklist

Dory's fans will be entertained by this further adventure. --Kirkus Reviews

If you haven't read the previous two Dory books yet, get on with it already. They're quirky and funny and capture childhood like few books can."--100 Scope Notes blog

Prasise for the Dory Fantasmagory series:

* Charming, funny, true to life. -Kirkus Reviews, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory

* Time spent with Dory is time well spent. -Publishers Weekly, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory

* "Readers will laugh at her entertaining antics." -School Library Journal, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory

* Hanlon's hilarious narration and cartooning reveal an uncanny talent for getting into the mile-a-minute mind of a one-of-a-kind girl. -Publishers Weekly, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend

* "Well written, humorous, and engaging." -School Library Journal, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend

It's genius. - Travis Jonker, 100 Scope Notes Blog review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend

Dory is as likable a kid heroine as I've encountered in a decade. - The Boston Globe review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend



About The Author



Abby Hanlon has taught creative writing and first grade in the New York City public school system. Inspired by her students' storytelling and drawings, Abby began to write her own stories for children, and taught herself to draw after not having drawn since childhood.
Dimensions (Overall): 7.6 Inches (H) x 5 Inch (W) x .5 Inch (D)
Weight: .35 Pounds
Suggested Age: 4-8 Years
Number of Pages: 14711
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Humorous Stories
Series Title: Dory Fantasmagory
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Format: Paperback
Author: Abby Hanlon
Language: English
Street Date: September 5, 2017
TCIN: 52149925
UPC: 9781101994276
Item Number (DPCI): 059-03-6893
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.1 inches length x 0.9 inches width x 7.8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy