Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Essex Dogs - (Essex Dogs Trilogy) by Dan Jones (Paperback)

Essex Dogs - (Essex Dogs Trilogy) by  Dan Jones (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Essex Dogs - (Essex Dogs Trilogy) by  Dan Jones (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$13.89 sale price when purchased online
$18.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2023 The New York Times bestselling historian makes his historical fiction debut with an explosive novel set during the Hundred Years' War.
  • About the Author: Dan Jones is the New York Times bestselling author of Powers and Thrones, Crusaders, The Templars, The Plantagenets, Wars of the Roses, and Magna Carta, as well as the novel Essex Dogs.
  • 464 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Historical
  • Series Name: Essex Dogs Trilogy

Description



Book Synopsis



A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2023

The New York Times bestselling historian makes his historical fiction debut with an explosive novel set during the Hundred Years' War.

July 1346. Ten men land on the beaches of Normandy. They call themselves the Essex Dogs: an unruly platoon of archers and men-at-arms led by a battle-scarred captain whose best days are behind him. The fight for the throne of the largest kingdom in Western Europe has begun.

Heading ever deeper into enemy territory toward Crécy, this band of brothers knows they are off to fight a battle that will forge nations, and shape the very fabric of human lives. But first they must survive a bloody war in which rules are abandoned and chivalry itself is slaughtered.

Rooted in historical accuracy and told through an unforgettable cast, Essex Dogs delivers the stark reality of medieval war on the ground - and shines a light on the fighters and ordinary people caught in the storm.



Review Quotes




"On the whole a violent and bloody affair . . . [Reconceives] medieval military history as a swashbuckling Hollywood movie."--The New York Times Book Review

"An impeccably researched 'you are there' novel with a real-time approach, Jones' entertaining fiction debut moves episodically from encounter to life-threatening encounter . . . the book hums with black humor. . . An enjoyable romp through the darkest of ages."--Kirkus Reviews *starred review*

"Historian Jones makes his fiction debut with a rousing story of the Hundred Years War, the first in a projected trilogy . . . Vivid characterizations and a strain of black humor add to the pointed drama . . . Brutal, graphic, and gory, the battle scenes viscerally hurl the reader into the heat of 14th-century combat. It's good to know these Dogs will howl again."--Publishers Weekly *starred review*

"A high-stakes, immersive war story. . . Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell or Ken Follett."--Library Journal *starred review*

"Historian Jones's first foray into fiction is battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched. . . . Meticulously researched and vibrantly told. . . It's a slaughterous, sweary, swaggering debut."--The Daily Mail

"Swashbuckling, blood-spattered, awash with the sex, filth and violence of the Middle Ages, with a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve and historical accuracy, Dan Jones delivers a compelling novel that thrums with sword swinging energy."--Simon Sebag Montefiore, author of Jerusalem

"Dan Jones is a brilliant storyteller. I've loved reading his history for years and now he's proven to be just as adept at fiction. Few books manage to be as compelling on every level as Essex Dogs it's adventure, history, and heart."--Dana Schwartz, author of Anatomy: A Love Story

"Visceral, thrilling, gripping, this is a wild ride into the hearts and minds of men fighting to the death--and each other. The battles that shaped Europe are seen from the point of view of the soldiers and the lives of ordinary people. Searing."--Kate Williams, author of The Pleasures of Men and Becoming Queen Victoria

"A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell. Dan Jones's debut novel Essex Dogs is a full-throated charge onto the medieval battlefield, a rip-roaring adventure full of blood and guts, camaraderie and inventive curses, all based on a satisfying bedrock of historical research."--Jane Johnson, author of The Tenth Gift



About the Author



Dan Jones is the New York Times bestselling author of Powers and Thrones, Crusaders, The Templars, The Plantagenets, Wars of the Roses, and Magna Carta, as well as the novel Essex Dogs. He is the host of the podcast This is History: A Dynasty to Die For and has produced, written, and presented dozens of TV shows, including the popular Netflix series Secrets of Great British Castles.
Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.1 Inches (W) x 1.1 Inches (D)
Weight: .7 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 464
Series Title: Essex Dogs Trilogy
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Historical
Publisher: Penguin Books
Theme: Medieval
Format: Paperback
Author: Dan Jones
Language: English
Street Date: December 12, 2023
TCIN: 89926069
UPC: 9780143137634
Item Number (DPCI): 247-45-4539
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.1 inches length x 5.1 inches width x 7.9 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.7 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy