EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Every Time You Go Away - by Abigail Johnson (Hardcover)

Every Time You Go Away - by  Abigail Johnson (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Every Time You Go Away - by  Abigail Johnson (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$15.99 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



Knowing each other for eight years, when they were troublemaking kids sharing secrets and first kisses, Ethan and Rebecca, kept apart by grief and tragedy, will discover whether their hardships have torn them apart or will bring them closer than ever.



Book Synopsis



Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Abigail Johnson draws a searing and lyrical portrait of grief, forgiveness, and the kind of love that blooms in the aftermath.
Eight years ago, Ethan and Rebecca met, two troublemaking kids sharing secrets and first kisses in a tree house, until Ethan's mom returned to take him away. Each and every visit, his only goodbye was a flower on Rebecca's windowsill.
Four years ago, Ethan left for the last time to take care of his mother, who has struggled with addiction his whole life.
Two years ago, Rebecca was in a car accident that killed her father. She's been learning to navigate life as a wheelchair user ever since.
Now, they discover if their hardships have torn them apart...or will bring them closer than ever.



Review Quotes




Praise for Every Time You Go Away

"Emotionally rich and thought-provoking. Johnson's skilled storytelling drops readers directly into Ethan and Rebecca's experiences, both the painful and the beautiful, and I, for one, was changed by the journey." --Lynn Painter, New York Times bestselling author of Better Than the Movies

"A perfect blend of heartache, healing, and hope. Every Time You Go Away tackles tricky topics with candor and care while bringing to life characters that work their way into your heart and never let go." --Erin Stewart, author of The Words We Keep and Scars Like Wings

Praise for Every Other Weekend

"This is a coming-of-age story with real heart and authenticity. A must read!" --Samantha Young, New York Times bestselling author of The Fragile Ordinary and On Dublin Street

"A poignant, painful, and stirring story about two kids trying to navigate divorce, first love, and finding your dreams." --Kathleen Glasgow, author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends with the Dark

"Every Other Weekend handles sensitive family issues with honesty, amidst the fresh, emotive backdrop of Johnson's stunning prose. Adam and Jolene spark the page with their wit. And they'll slide into your heart as they discover each other's." --Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

"Johnson beautifully evokes the tender romance that eventually builds between [Adam and Jolene] after their first encounters, offering readers access to the two teens' inner thoughts and fragile psyches. Jolene's loneliness, especially, will break hearts... The positive, not overly simplistic resolution to the complicated story will touch readers." --Booklist

"A complex and emotionally charged character-driven story that explores a variety of painfully human themes, including loss and emotional abuse. Adam's and Jolene's struggles will draw readers in, and the slow-burning romance will touch readers' hearts... Heart-wrenching and hopeful--a reminder that we can change our stories." --Kirkus Reviews

"In addition to the tender love story, the book takes on a number of important issues for young adults including divorce, loss, grief, family dynamics, relationship control, and sexual assault... Romance fans will especially enjoy this title." --School Library Journal

Dimensions (Overall): 8.0 Inches (H) x 5.8 Inches (W) x 1.3 Inches (D)
Weight: .95 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13 Years
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Disabilities & Special Needs
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Format: Hardcover
Author: Abigail Johnson
Language: English
Street Date: December 5, 2023
TCIN: 86492004
UPC: 9781335429155
Item Number (DPCI): 247-38-2060
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.3 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.95 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads