Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 384

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Historical

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Author: Elizabeth Letts

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: General

Language: English

Street Date: December 2, 2019
TCIN: 77587650
UPC: 191907141863
Item Number (DPCI): 059-01-9382
Origin: Made in the USA

Description

"A breathtaking read that will transport you over the rainbow and into the heart of one of America's most enduring fairy tales and the hardscrabble life that inspired it. Gripping, fascinating, Finding Dorothy is a novel for anyone who ever stared in awe as Oz came to life onscreen, and wondered what other secrets lay hidden behind the curtain. A dream of a book you'll want to savor and share!"--Lisa Wingate, author of Before We Were Yours

"In some ways reminiscent of Jerry Stahl's excellent I, Fatty, Letts' Finding Dorothy combines exhaustive research with expansive imagination, blending history and speculation into a seamless tapestry. . . . It's a testament to Letts' skill that she can capture on the page, without benefit of audio, that same emotion we have all felt sometime over the last 80 years while listening to 'Over the Rainbow.'"--BookPage (starred review)

"Old Hollywood is its own kind of Oz in Finding Dorothy, complete with false dazzle and complex combinations of threat and allure. But what really satisfies here is the unlikely friendship between L. Frank Baum's unsinkable widow, Maud, and the young Judy Garland, on the vulnerable cusp of fame. It's an alliance that seems touched with magic and serendipity and something even more transformative, true understanding between women."--Paula McLain, author of Love and Ruin

"Beautifully researched and written, Finding Dorothy pulls back the curtain on a fascinating relationship behind the making of The Wizard of Oz."--Martha Hall Kelly, author of Lilac Girls

"A woman with a heart, a brain, courage to spare, and a girl's sense of wonder--this is the heroine of Elizabeth Letts's sparkling, touching novel. Maud Baum is the daughter of a suffragette and the wife of a dreamer, but she is also a force to be reckoned with in her own right."--Melanie Benjamin, author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue

"Readers looking for an inspiring true story will be delighted. . . . [Letts] again crafts a tale of fortitude and triumph over adversity. . . . Fans of the Oz novels or film will be enchanted. This is a great fit for readers of Christina Baker Kline and Lisa Wingate, and will surely be a popular choice for book clubs. . . . [A] well-researched novelization."--Library Journal

"Maud [Gage Baum] is a fascinating character, and this is a poignant, absorbing tale of the life and love story that led to the creation of a beloved classic."--Booklist

"Historical fiction fans will rejoice. With meticulous research and vivid detail, Elizabeth Letts explores both Maud's life story leading up to the writing of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, and her determination to see that the film remained true to her husband's vision as it was made in 1930's Hollywood. Letts takes readers on an unflinching journey between hardship and hope, with a catch-your-breath ending."--Pam Jenoff, author of The Orphan's Tale

"More than just a behind-the-scenes pee at the making of The Wizard of Oz, Finding Dorothy is a heartfelt look at the origins of a beloved story told, through the eyes of the woman closest to its creator. From capturing the pioneering spirit of a family settling out West to the fight for women's suffrage, and the vulnerability of a young Judy Garland on the threshold of stardom, Finding Dorothy is filled with pitch-perfect wonderment."--Ren�e Rosen, author of White Collar Girl

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Tue, Jun 29 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.19 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.64 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.